Ponyboy is 14 years old, tough and confused, yet sensitive beneath his bold front. Since his parents' deaths, his loyalties have been to his brothers and his gang, the rough boys from the wrong side of the tracks. When his best friend kills a member of a rival gang, a nightmare of violence begins and quickly envelops Ponyboy in a turbulent chain of events.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 1, 2016 by Penguin Books
ISBN-10: 0425288293
ISBN-13: 9780425288290
92 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • bluebird1044
    bluebird1044Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 3:37 pm55 stars
    We read this as a class, and will see the movie soon. This book had a few important people that were close friends of ponyboy. Pony boy's parents died 3 months before the story took place. Pony lives with his two brothers Darry and Sodapop. They are in a gang called the greasers, and their enemy are the soc's. I definitely recommend this book. I would'nt have read this if it wasn't for my english teacher,.
    • Sarah Friday, May 5, 2017 at 6:37 pm
      This book was really, really, really boring. How come it's 48,523 words long but none of those words were filled with much descriptions. I mean there were so many unexplained things. We didn't really get to see how the brothers felt about there parents death except little snippets that really didn't bring anything to the story. And some of these characters were just cliche tropes. Dally:the bad by, Darry: strong and serious type, Sodapop: The wild child, and (in my opinion the dullest) Ponyboy: the "good ol' all around nice guy". Must I go on? I know that his book was written a while ago so some of the writing might not be of the same standard, but what about Shakespeare, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ovid, and Hesoid. They wrote amazing stories (except maybe Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet, kind of dull), and they were written WAY before this book. Main Point: There's good writing and, there's bad writing. NO IN BETWEEN.
      • MarcusπŸ‘ŽπŸ’ͺπŸ˜­πŸ˜ŒπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ˜¬πŸ‘πŸ˜†β˜ΉοΈSunday, February 19, 2017 at 8:59 pm
        Really cool
        • MarcusπŸ‘ŽπŸ’ͺπŸ˜­πŸ˜ŒπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ˜¬πŸ‘πŸ˜†β˜ΉοΈSunday, February 19, 2017 at 8:55 pm
          The outsiders is a very good book.Fullod adventure
          • littleweasley
            littleweasleyMonday, February 13, 2017 at 9:59 am55 stars
            The Outsiders is a very good book.Full of adventure.
            • mmcnabb
              mmcnabbFriday, February 10, 2017 at 11:30 am
              The Outsiders is truly an incredible book. I couldn't put it down. It painted such a vivid picture of life in the 1950's-1960's. S.E. Hinton does a spectacular job in emphasizing each character's feelings about growing up, and the problems they face at home. The setting is also described well, and as the reader, I feel as if I was hanging out with Ponyboy and his friends. I would recommend The Outsiders to anyone.
              • melaniesierra
                melaniesierraFriday, February 10, 2017 at 11:13 am
                The Outsiders was a really amazing book, although it was sad because the boys didn't have any parents, overall this was a really interesting and nice book.
                • chloedomico
                  chloedomicoFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:09 am
                  It was a very good book, very well written and fun to read in class. Though some parts were sad, it was very good and i would read it again.
                  • EwingFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:09 am
                    This is the best book I have ever read. I love the unexpected story line. It had a good end that I never expected. I love this book.
                    • littleweasley
                      littleweasleyFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:08 am55 stars
                      When I first read this book,I was instantly hooked.The story is amazing,and the characters are to.To this day,I still read this book because it is one of my favorites.In my opinion,people who like adventure and suspense should read this book.Its an amazing story that I love.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      annaleigh wrote:

                      is this a good book for a high s...
                      The DUFF: (Designated Ugly Fat F...

                      krazymoose wrote:

                      I finished fnaf 5
                      Five Nights at Freddy's: The Sil...

                      fKAWA4894 wrote:

                      okaaaaaa
                      I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacie...

                      howlergirl
                      howlergirl wrote:

                      This book isn't exactly a story ...
                      My Weird But True Fact-a-Day Fun...