The Reptile Room, Movie Tie-in Edition (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 6 - 10V6.329139

Tie–in books for the feel–bad movie of the year!

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on May 8, 2007 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061146315
ISBN-13: 9780061146312
51 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ghost_dk_diemx
    ghost_dk_diemxFriday, November 8, 2019 at 9:48 pm55 stars
    This comment about this book is kind of going to be like the one from the first book "the bad beginning" Just a reminder this book does have some large words and some idioms that the guy in the book explains. (Lemony Snicket) This second book which is this book is called "the reptile room" it has the same three kids and villain as the first book. Count Olaf has comrades that work with him. The white faced ladys are twins and then there's the guy with book and the other who you can't tell is a boy or a girl. Last but not "Beast" the guy that looks like a beast. In the reptile room the three kids were able to escape the grasp of Olaf and the banker who protects there money and finds the orphans a new family (mr. Poe) got them a new place to live there uncle. There uncle collects and finds new species of snakes or any reptile when he goes on trips. The three orphans enjoyed it there till the uncle's assistant came. The kids could tell but the uncle could not. The assistant was really just Olaf but dressed up with a wig and everything. While the kids were sleeping he was sitting in the hall fiddling with an object which I'm not going to type. Once he knew they were asleep he went down stairs to where the uncle was grabbed some snake venom and poked to holes in the uncle's neck and injected the venom. (This part a bit gruesome in the book by the way sorry!) And when the kids woke up the next morning to get there uncle Mr. Poe was there and Olaf was acting sad and they saw there uncle with a pail face lying on the floor. There were some people who came to get all the snakes and other odd reptiles to bring them where no one could get to them. But the "Deadly Viper" was Sunnys best friend and so the snake rapped him self around sunny and she hugged him but they took him away anyway which I hate cause it's sad. And Olaf was trying to get them back but Mr. Poe took Klaus Sunny and Violet away again. So the next book is a new place they live. This book does have a lot of things you would not expect and a lot of mystery involved so if anyone decides to read the series or at least the first book I really hope you enjoy! Read on my friends!!!! :D
    • bananamana
      bananamanaTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 8:30 am55 stars
      This book is also amazing..... The show is a little bit frightful but i really liked it
      • wolfchildren
        wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:08 pm55 stars
        9 year old: Best book series ever, but Count Olaf is a jerk. Lemony Snicket has lots of great books, but this series is my favorite. 7 year old: I liked it, because we read it together. 12 year old: It is the best book series, Lemony Snicket is a great author. Mom: Reading this series together as a family was incredible. We paused and discussed theories so much. We did end up watching both the film and Netflix show after, neither do the series justice, but it was fun to see how film portrayed our favorite series of all time.
        • The_ KingThursday, April 4, 2019 at 1:15 am
          To me it was one of the best books I have ever read.
          • the BOSSThursday, April 4, 2019 at 1:13 am
            the book was amazing
            • gymzonia
              gymzoniaMonday, March 18, 2019 at 7:59 pm55 stars
              I like Stephano in the story. This is one of my favorite books. There are so many cool people in it. They had just started to have a happy life.
              • busybee
                busybeeSunday, August 5, 2018 at 11:43 am55 stars
                I think this book is adventurous and it brings out each characters attitude like count olaf or violet baudelaire, the three kids lose their parents in a fire but it is not true. They are trapped in Count Olaf's dungeon. SAD BOOK.
                • wiccanbat666
                  wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:19 pm55 stars
                  This series was my ENTIRE LIFE when I was a small human child. I saved any and all money I received to buy the books (my first collection of matching hardcovers) and listened to them on cassette tape (OKAY GUESS WHO JUST SOUNDS OLD RIGHT NOW) when I wasn't re-reading the physical copies.
                  • art3mis
                    art3misTuesday, June 26, 2018 at 4:13 pm55 stars
                    Dear Reader, Again more chapters in the Baudelaire orphans lives! Immediately you may be thinking what misfortune could occur now after the catastrophe in book No. 1? Regardless, I will forewarn you the next chapters will contain a story dealing with a snake, a suspicious Uncle and a rather familiar assistant as a cloud of misfortune will continue to follow the Baudelaires. However through all of the misfortunate Mr. Lemony Snicket continues to deliver us a intriguing and rather wonderful sequel to his first record of the lives of the Baudelaire children. I mean after all what could happen now? Read this splendidly written sequel to discover some more secrets. Be prepared for everything and be warned, this book may make you develop serveral theories about a certain symbol and is not for the fragile or the faint-hearted but I guarantee a good read. With all due respect, Art3mis Snicket
                    • 23unicorncat
                      23unicorncatTuesday, April 17, 2018 at 9:07 am55 stars
                      very creepy