The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V6.424130

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

Paperback, 176 pages
Published on May 8, 2007 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061146307
ISBN-13: 9780061146305
164 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • callumbarnacles
    callumbarnaclesThursday, February 15, 2018 at 12:38 pm
    great book I enjoyed it so much i actually bought the book :)
    • delbels73
      delbels73Monday, February 12, 2018 at 2:51 pm55 stars
      I love this book and the series! The kids are very unlucky and when something seems bright it is snatched away from them every time. Count Olaf is a cruel and wicked man and it was wrong of Mr. Poe to be tricked into putting Violet, Sunny, and Klaus into Count Olaf's care. The orphans gifts come in handy many times all throughout the series! I definitely recommend this book for anyone it is truly amazing!
      • suchomimus
        suchomimusMonday, January 22, 2018 at 12:59 am55 stars
        Three orphans are whisked away by the evil Count Olaf. They must think up a plan to escape from his clutches. A must read book.
        • AmazingAanyaTuesday, December 12, 2017 at 5:17 pm
          One of the best series to read!!
          • lunarstar
            lunarstarThursday, November 30, 2017 at 3:52 pm55 stars
            This is such a good book it is full of unfortunate events and has so so so so much excitement really if you had to choose a book got to this one
            • anajas1
              anajas1Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 3:04 pm55 stars
              This was a truly heartening series, great plot, amazing characters... would highly recommend it!
              • dahuman1513
                dahuman1513Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 6:28 am55 stars
                The Netflix Series is very great but not better than the book.
                • dahuman1513
                  dahuman1513Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 6:27 am55 stars
                  I read this book in 3rd grade. I didn't really like it, put it back. 4th grade, picked it up, devoured it. I read every book in A Series Of Unfortunate Events in 4 days or less. Amazing book series.
                  • papergirlsfb
                    papergirlsfbTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 8:04 am55 stars
                    AMAZING BOOK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The movie was good , but the book was better . The movie was the most entirely FALSE as story plots go.
                    • ajg15
                      ajg15Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at 10:58 am55 stars
                      OMG I absolutely LOVED this first book and I'm excited to read the rest!!! WARNING SOME SPOILERS AHEAD! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! ----- This book was about the three bouldeleir (I'm positive I spelled that wrong) Violet the eldest Klaus the middle child and Sunny the baby of the family, Violet is an inventor and you can tell when she's thinking of new inventions because she ties her hair up in a ribbon, Klaus is very smart and by the time he was twelve he read more then most people read in a life-time, and Sunny....well...she bites stuff (☺) she has four very sharp teeth. There parents die in a terrible fire and they go to live with a terrible man name Count Olaf, he is horrible to the children and tries to steal the enormous fortune the bouldeleir children's parents left behind by _____ _____ ___ ________ -------- sorry For them blank spots don't wanna spoil it TO much <3 <3 I highly recommend you read this book! ¡5 popcorn!
                      • phoenixdrama
                        phoenixdramaWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 2:57 pm55 stars
                        They are great!!! I love so much I think that you should definitely read it!!
                        • beachbreeze12
                          beachbreeze12Wednesday, October 25, 2017 at 6:32 am55 stars
                          Personally, i think the books are wayyy better than the shows
                          • ajg15
                            ajg15Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 12:25 pm55 stars
                            @beachbreeze12 + @phoenixdrama -Thanks for the help! I'll give them a try!

                        More TopicsView in 3D