Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V6.424130

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

Paperback, 176 pages
Published on May 8, 2007 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061146307
ISBN-13: 9780061146305
173 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • x_r0bby_x
    x_r0bby_xWednesday, May 23, 2018 at 6:52 am55 stars
    I'm reading this book in school its amazing!
    • candygirlTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 3:31 pm
      i liked it
      • candy_bell
        candy_bellFriday, May 4, 2018 at 5:50 pm55 stars
        This first book is a great way to start the series. I definitely recommend it.
        • fortnightfan432Friday, May 4, 2018 at 10:23 am
          I watched the show and is good so i think i mite read
          • hawiian_girl
            hawiian_girlTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 4:31 pm55 stars
            This series is so sad and AMAZING at the same time!!!!!!!!
            • huiyee
              huiyeeSaturday, April 7, 2018 at 4:22 pm55 stars
              I LOVE THIS BOOK I READ THE WHOLE SERIES AND IT WAS AWESOME AND I'M ONLY IN 4TH GRADE BUT IT IS FOR 5TH GRADE AND UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • kosho
                koshoFriday, April 6, 2018 at 5:54 pm55 stars
                My year seven librarian Offered this to me as I was reading most of the books in the library and there was barley anything left for me to read(small library tho)And I loved it up to the fifth book!Hope you guys enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Love Kosho
                • bean_boy
                  bean_boyFriday, April 6, 2018 at 6:47 am55 starsFeatured
                  The first instalment to a Series of Unfortunate Events is filled with twisting plots keeping you reading on and on and on until the book is finished making you want book #2. Funny (in a dark and light way) is one way to describe this book, but also quite sad because some orphans in the world get treated in this cruel fashion. I personally enjoyed the way the orphaned children (Violet, Daisy and Klaus) outsmart Count Olaf and stay brave throughout the entire series, it demonstrates that children can always surprise you and come up with wonderful ideas. I recommend this series/book to ages 7+ and give it 5 stars ( my favourite book in the series is The Ersatz Elevator: A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 6) Will the orphans survive the wrath of Count Olaf? Read On! Happy Readings, bean_boy12
                  • crazy7701
                    crazy7701Friday, April 6, 2018 at 6:21 am55 stars
                    I read the whole series twice!! So So Good!!!
                    • callumbarnacles
                      callumbarnaclesThursday, February 15, 2018 at 12:38 pm
                      great book I enjoyed it so much i actually bought the book :)

                      More TopicsView in 3D