The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V6.424130

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

Paperback, 176 pages
Published on May 8, 2007 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061146307
ISBN-13: 9780061146305
160 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lunarstar
    lunarstarThursday, November 30, 2017 at 3:52 pm55 stars
    This is such a good book it is full of unfortunate events and has so so so so much excitement really if you had to choose a book got to this one
    • anajas1
      anajas1Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 3:04 pm55 stars
      This was a truly heartening series, great plot, amazing characters... would highly recommend it!
      • dahuman1513
        dahuman1513Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 6:28 am55 stars
        The Netflix Series is very great but not better than the book.
        • dahuman1513
          dahuman1513Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 6:27 am55 stars
          I read this book in 3rd grade. I didn't really like it, put it back. 4th grade, picked it up, devoured it. I read every book in A Series Of Unfortunate Events in 4 days or less. Amazing book series.
          • papergirlsfb
            papergirlsfbTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 8:04 am55 stars
            AMAZING BOOK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The movie was good , but the book was better . The movie was the most entirely FALSE as story plots go.
            • ajg15
              ajg15Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at 10:58 am55 stars
              OMG I absolutely LOVED this first book and I'm excited to read the rest!!! WARNING SOME SPOILERS AHEAD! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! ----- This book was about the three bouldeleir (I'm positive I spelled that wrong) Violet the eldest Klaus the middle child and Sunny the baby of the family, Violet is an inventor and you can tell when she's thinking of new inventions because she ties her hair up in a ribbon, Klaus is very smart and by the time he was twelve he read more then most people read in a life-time, and Sunny....well...she bites stuff (☺) she has four very sharp teeth. There parents die in a terrible fire and they go to live with a terrible man name Count Olaf, he is horrible to the children and tries to steal the enormous fortune the bouldeleir children's parents left behind by _____ _____ ___ ________ -------- sorry For them blank spots don't wanna spoil it TO much <3 <3 I highly recommend you read this book! ¡5 popcorn!
              • phoenixdrama
                phoenixdramaWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 2:57 pm55 stars
                They are great!!! I love so much I think that you should definitely read it!!
                • beachbreeze12
                  beachbreeze12Wednesday, October 25, 2017 at 6:32 am55 stars
                  Personally, i think the books are wayyy better than the shows
                  • ajg15
                    ajg15Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 12:25 pm55 stars
                    @beachbreeze12 + @phoenixdrama -Thanks for the help! I'll give them a try!
                • cugitinoma
                  cugitinomaWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 7:56 am55 stars
                  One of the best books I have ever read
                  • cupcake321
                    cupcake321Monday, August 7, 2017 at 10:06 pmFeatured
                    This is a truly wonderful book! I am almost finished with the entire series, and I am so super excited to see how it ends out! This series contains many twists and turns and I hope everyone who reads this considers reading this series!
                    • albina200
                      albina200Wednesday, July 12, 2017 at 10:42 am55 stars
                      This book is so sad I read all the book and I have them too
                      • callumbarnacles
                        callumbarnaclesThursday, March 9, 2017 at 12:17 pm
                        love the movie must read the book