Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.260801
When Disney comes looking for five teenagers to serve as actors for a new technology-Daylight Hologram Images, or DHIs-there is more to it than meets the eye. Strange things have been happening inside the Florida park: parts from one ride are found mysteriously moved to another; in the Fantasmic! show, the dragon unexplainably triumphs over Mickey; little blips in story lines and "offstage" antics by characters trouble managers. Finn Whitman, a middle-schooler, goes to sleep one night and has the dream of a lifetime: he "wakes up" inside Disney World as his DHI character, a glowing hologram. He meets an old man there, Wayne, who claims to be one of the original Imagineers and explains to Finn that he "and your friends" have a mission to save the park from forces that humans can neither see nor hear. Not believing his dream, but not totally discounting it, Finn, back in real life, sets out to find the four other kids who were chosen to be DHIs and in doing so he learns an eerie fact: he is not alone in this "dream." The others have had similar experiences. What if this is for real?
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on September 1, 2005 by Disney Editions
ISBN-10: 0786854448
ISBN-13: 9780786854448
51 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jaden07
    jaden07Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:29 pm55 stars
    AMAZING first book! This is 4 fans of Disney and you get to wonder what happens at the beloved park at DARK! Super cool ! Action packed! Very detailed . And you get to learn facts about the park. Keeps you on the edge of your seat! Read this now and tell all your friends!
    • Hayley Sunday, January 6, 2019 at 5:46 am
      This is one of the best books I’ve ever read!! And highly recommend it to all ages! I just love this book so much!
      • HayleySaturday, January 5, 2019 at 3:41 pm
        I got this book for my 12th birthday from one of my friends who is a huge fan of the series. At first I wasn’t so sure I’d like it, but boy was I wrong!! After I started it I couldn’t put the book down!! It’s really good book and it’s definitely one of my favorite reads. Full of mystery, action and suspense that will keep you reading until midnight!
        • DisneylvrThursday, September 28, 2017 at 3:24 pm
          My Favorite Book in the whole world.
          • hermionechef
            hermionechefThursday, September 28, 2017 at 3:17 pm
            It Was an amazing book full of action, suspense, and you never know what might happen next.
            • book-4-life
              book-4-lifeFriday, September 15, 2017 at 11:54 am55 stars
              I just ran out of books to read and recently I just had a Disney obsession so I read this book series and it was the right choice
              • valentinaomg
                valentinaomgMonday, August 7, 2017 at 5:57 pm44 stars
                teens trapped as models for a Disney theme park find them against the Disney villains and witches who threaten them of both the future of Disney world and the stability of the world outside its walls
                • yellow43528
                  yellow43528Monday, November 7, 2016 at 5:09 am
                  This book is so good. It was a bit hard to understand at the beginning, but once I got reading it made much more sense and it was AWESOME. I can't wait to finish reading the series. It is so good. One of my favorites. If you didn't want to read it maybe this will help. 5 teens get turned into holograms. When they fall asleep they wake up in Magic Kingdom. How awesome is that?
                  • blackberry3442
                    blackberry3442Thursday, November 3, 2016 at 8:34 am55 stars
                    I have read this book soooo suspensful and amazing! wish i could have it only read it once wish i could read it again!
                    • trumpSunday, October 30, 2016 at 1:40 pm
                      When the Disney theme parks installed the holographic hosts, which are known as DHIs (Dayling Hologram Imagining) and (Disney Host Interactive), they had no idea what was in store. Finn, Maybeck, Willa, Charlene, and Philby are the five DHIs, and they are also high schoolers. Sometimes when the kids go to sleep, they wake up in one of the Disney parks, as their holograms. In book 1 they wake up in WDW. When they go on these visits, there is trouble brewing caused by the Overtakers, also known as the Disney villains. The Overtakers are trying to take over the Disney parks. With the help of an old imagineer, who personally knew Walt Disney, two powerful sisters, and the help of each other, they try to overcome the Overtakers. I highly recommend all seven books in the series.