The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring Pt. 1 (Vol 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Lord of the Rings Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grade 7n/a6.1177227
Oversized illustrated hardback edition of the first part of JRR Tolkien's epic masterpiece, The Lord of the Rings, fully reset and featuring full-page watercolour paintings by award-winning artist, Alan Lee. Sauron, the Dark Lord, has gathered to him all the Rings of Power -- the means by which he intends to rule Middle-earth. All he lacks in his plans for dominion is the One Ring -- the ring that rules them all -- which has fallen into the hands of the hobbit, Bilbo Baggins. In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose.
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on September 16, 2002 by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN-10: 0007136595
ISBN-13: 9780007136599
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • myth1c7
    myth1c7Monday, October 19, 2020 at 10:06 am55 stars
    so goood.
    • frodo_baggins
      frodo_bagginsThursday, October 15, 2020 at 2:55 pm55 stars
      BEST BOOK EVER!!! (tied with the other books in the series) FRODO BE BEST BOI!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • glitcher075
        glitcher075Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 2:46 pm55 stars
        This is INCREDIBLE! It's like Harry Potter and the hunger games!
        • texasrocks88
          texasrocks88Wednesday, April 15, 2020 at 3:48 pm55 stars
          This book is AMAZING!!!! It is super detailed and action-packed. Definitely 5-star! J.R.R. Tolkien is a great author. But before you read this book you should read The Hobbit, and after you read it you should read The Two Towers and The Return of the King, the two Lord of the Rings books that come after and conclude this epic story.
          • calebodhooray
            calebodhoorayFriday, February 21, 2020 at 11:20 am55 stars
            This book hooked me right from the start. It is so interesting, I couldn't put it down. I gave this book 5 stars because it was very descriptive and thrilling.
            • nac
              nacTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 9:39 am55 stars
              So different from the movie. I thought that since the movie was so long they wouldn't miss any details but boy was I wrong. The book is really good though, as is the movie.
              • nac
                nacTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 9:38 am55 stars
                A hobbit named Frodo inherits a mysterious ring and is told that if it isn't destroyed than the dark lord Sauron will take over middle earth. Forming the Fellowship of the Ring, the hobbits Merry, Pippin, and loyal Sam, the wizard Gandalf, the dwarf Gimli, the elf Legolas, a man, Boromir, a ranger, and Frodo, the ring bearer they embark on a dangerous Journey to destroy the ring, with danger lurking in every corner, and unexpected grief with the death of a close friend, will the Fellowship be able to save middle earth or will it be torn apart?
                • meow-meowTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 3:50 pm
                  BEST. BOOK. EVER!!!!
                  • ginnyf18
                    ginnyf18Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 6:02 pm55 stars
                    It was soooo. NICE. I have got the trilogy and it is amazing. And I cannot express how much I like it.
                    • gtaylor505
                      gtaylor505Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:56 am44 stars
                      The Lord of the Rings is a very well-known series, of course, and it's very well-written and interesting. However, it can be long and tedious, especially with all the traveling they do. It's not a quick read, and can sometimes get slightly boring, but it's balanced with occasional action (an attack from Black Riders, etc.). I recommend this book to those who like traveling, magic, fantasy worlds, and long books.