The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring Pt. 1 (Vol 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Lord of the Rings Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grade 7n/a6.1177227
Oversized illustrated hardback edition of the first part of JRR Tolkien's epic masterpiece, The Lord of the Rings, fully reset and featuring full-page watercolour paintings by award-winning artist, Alan Lee. Sauron, the Dark Lord, has gathered to him all the Rings of Power -- the means by which he intends to rule Middle-earth. All he lacks in his plans for dominion is the One Ring -- the ring that rules them all -- which has fallen into the hands of the hobbit, Bilbo Baggins. In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose.
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on September 16, 2002 by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN-10: 0007136595
ISBN-13: 9780007136599
49 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • texasrocks88
    texasrocks88Wednesday, April 15, 2020 at 3:48 pm55 stars
    This book is AMAZING!!!! It is super detailed and action-packed. Definitely 5-star! J.R.R. Tolkien is a great author. But before you read this book you should read The Hobbit, and after you read it you should read The Two Towers and The Return of the King, the two Lord of the Rings books that come after and conclude this epic story.
    • calebodhooray
      calebodhoorayFriday, February 21, 2020 at 11:20 am55 stars
      This book hooked me right from the start. It is so interesting, I couldn't put it down. I gave this book 5 stars because it was very descriptive and thrilling.
      • nac
        nacTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 9:39 am55 stars
        So different from the movie. I thought that since the movie was so long they wouldn't miss any details but boy was I wrong. The book is really good though, as is the movie.
        • nac
          nacTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 9:38 am55 stars
          A hobbit named Frodo inherits a mysterious ring and is told that if it isn't destroyed than the dark lord Sauron will take over middle earth. Forming the Fellowship of the Ring, the hobbits Merry, Pippin, and loyal Sam, the wizard Gandalf, the dwarf Gimli, the elf Legolas, a man, Boromir, a ranger, and Frodo, the ring bearer they embark on a dangerous Journey to destroy the ring, with danger lurking in every corner, and unexpected grief with the death of a close friend, will the Fellowship be able to save middle earth or will it be torn apart?
          • meow-meowTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 3:50 pm
            BEST. BOOK. EVER!!!!
            • ginnyf18
              ginnyf18Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 6:02 pm55 stars
              It was soooo. NICE. I have got the trilogy and it is amazing. And I cannot express how much I like it.
              • gtaylor505
                gtaylor505Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:56 am44 stars
                The Lord of the Rings is a very well-known series, of course, and it's very well-written and interesting. However, it can be long and tedious, especially with all the traveling they do. It's not a quick read, and can sometimes get slightly boring, but it's balanced with occasional action (an attack from Black Riders, etc.). I recommend this book to those who like traveling, magic, fantasy worlds, and long books.
                • cugitinoma
                  cugitinomaWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:03 am55 stars
                  This is my favorite book
                  • ar119
                    ar119Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 10:04 am55 stars
                    A young hobbit named Frodo has to unexpectedly embark on a dangerous journey to a faraway land. Carrying a ring whose importance was underestimated, Frodo and his companions' endeavor not only brings them to know each other better, it eventually causes them to break apart. Enjoy reading this exciting novel!
                    • swirlycool
                      swirlycoolFriday, April 28, 2017 at 6:38 am55 stars
                      The Lord of the Rings is one of the best series I have ever read. I'm surprised I hadn't read it earlier, it's kind of like a new Harry Potter for me. It is very detailed, and on the very first page I was caught into the book. I had first watched the movies, then went onto the books so I could understand a bit. I'm very impressed by how the author wrote this book! I never thought that it would be this good.