The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring Pt. 1 (Vol 1)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Lord of the Rings Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grade 7n/a6.1177227
Oversized illustrated hardback edition of the first part of JRR Tolkien's epic masterpiece, The Lord of the Rings, fully reset and featuring full-page watercolour paintings by award-winning artist, Alan Lee. Sauron, the Dark Lord, has gathered to him all the Rings of Power -- the means by which he intends to rule Middle-earth. All he lacks in his plans for dominion is the One Ring -- the ring that rules them all -- which has fallen into the hands of the hobbit, Bilbo Baggins. In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose.
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on September 16, 2002 by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN-10: 0007136595
ISBN-13: 9780007136599
45 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • meow-meowTuesday, April 16, 2019 at 3:50 pm
    BEST. BOOK. EVER!!!!
    • ginnyf18
      ginnyf18Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 6:02 pm55 stars
      It was soooo. NICE. I have got the trilogy and it is amazing. And I cannot express how much I like it.
      • gtaylor505
        gtaylor505Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:56 am44 stars
        The Lord of the Rings is a very well-known series, of course, and it's very well-written and interesting. However, it can be long and tedious, especially with all the traveling they do. It's not a quick read, and can sometimes get slightly boring, but it's balanced with occasional action (an attack from Black Riders, etc.). I recommend this book to those who like traveling, magic, fantasy worlds, and long books.
        • cugitinoma
          cugitinomaWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 8:03 am55 stars
          This is my favorite book
          • ar119
            ar119Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 10:04 am55 stars
            A young hobbit named Frodo has to unexpectedly embark on a dangerous journey to a faraway land. Carrying a ring whose importance was underestimated, Frodo and his companions' endeavor not only brings them to know each other better, it eventually causes them to break apart. Enjoy reading this exciting novel!
            • swirlycool
              swirlycoolFriday, April 28, 2017 at 6:38 am55 stars
              The Lord of the Rings is one of the best series I have ever read. I'm surprised I hadn't read it earlier, it's kind of like a new Harry Potter for me. It is very detailed, and on the very first page I was caught into the book. I had first watched the movies, then went onto the books so I could understand a bit. I'm very impressed by how the author wrote this book! I never thought that it would be this good.
              • soffles
                sofflesFriday, April 7, 2017 at 3:17 pm55 stars
                I read the Hobbit and now I'm reading this. It's really good so far!
                • happypug12
                  happypug12Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 10:45 am44 stars
                  Shortly after getting through the Hobbit movies and book, I moved on to Lord of the–movies then books. The first in a series of three, Fellowship of the Ring tops off its predecessor, The Hobbit. All Middle Earth is in dire danger when Sauron returns, searching desperately for the One Ring–the shiny trinket which Bilbo now has. But Bilbo seeks to move on and leave the Shire, so it is passed on to his adopted cousin, Frodo. Frodo soon finds himself hunted mercilessly by Ringwraiths, orcs, and Gollum, and struggles with the growing temptation to slip the ring on. I loved The Fellowship of the Ring because the descriptions popped with life and Middle Earth felt all the more alive than the Hobbit. Although the plot drags in some places, it is well-worth the read.
                  • eggcritic
                    eggcriticThursday, January 12, 2017 at 10:26 am55 stars
                    The Lord of the Rings is virtually the most advanced and complex high-fantasy story; It is incredible and absolutely magnificent. If you manage to go past the series's 1000-ish pages, then you'll be rewarded with one of the best-made stories. If you've got the guts and the time, then read it.
                    • pianist360
                      pianist360Saturday, September 10, 2016 at 8:16 pm
                      I read this after the reading the hobbit and I know for sure it can not compareable at all. i read them both when I was nine in fourth grade and it was very understandable but I don't recemend it because to me I think it was avery dry and slow. Also I don't really like the main character Frodo Baggins.