Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.664422
A humorous look at what it means to FINALLY turn twelve years old.

You can pierce your ears when you're twelve. You can go to the mall with your friends when you're twelve. You can babysit little Timmy next door when you're twelve. You can get a cell phone when you're twelve. Hey, you can even ride in the front passenger-side seat when you're twelve.
When you're twelve, when you're twelve, when you're twelve . . .
My name is Rory Swenson, and I've been waiting to turn twelve my whole life. In exactly 18 hours, 36 minutes, and 52 seconds, it will finally happen.
My life will officially begin.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on March 1, 2010 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545052424
ISBN-13: 9780545052429
101 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • auntieb
    auntiebWednesday, January 15, 2020 at 10:40 am55 stars
    Rory has been waiting for her 12th birthday forever! When she is 12 her parents said she could get a pet, babysit, go on a rollercoaster, etc! And Rory has it all planned out! But.....it doesn't turn out to be as exhilarating as thought it would be. Growing up isn't all it's cracked up to be!
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
      This is the second book in the willow falls series written by Wendy Mass. In this book Rory can't wait for birthday. She's finally 12, and she can do all the things she wants to do. But Rory starts to realized that maybe the things she wants are not the things she needs. I highly recommend this book.
      • sylvie55555
        sylvie55555Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 11:31 am55 stars
        This is the second book in the willow falls series written by Wendy Mass. In this book Rory can't wait for birthday. She's finally 12, and she can do all the things she wants to do. But Rory starts to realized that maybe the things she wants are not the things she needs. I highly recommend this book.
        • jasadyly-155904856762
          jasadyly-155904856762Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 10:05 am
          5 stars, this book was really good. Definitely my favorite Wendy Mass book. I got hooked on the 5th page.
          • lovebug101
            lovebug101Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 3:24 pm33 stars
            MY friend LOVES this book and she read all of them. This book is an amazing book!
            • guard45
              guard45Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 12:00 pm
              I am about 45 pages in and it is AMAZING!!!!!!!!
              • bananagirl2002
                bananagirl2002Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 11:09 am44 stars
                Great book! Wendy Mass did it again :0
                • doggo14yah
                  doggo14yahMonday, December 4, 2017 at 4:03 pm55 stars
                  I love all books written by Wendy Mass, but this is my favorite
                  • catslovewaffles
                    catslovewafflesFriday, December 1, 2017 at 7:34 am55 stars
                    Oh my gosh this book is amazing it has so much action and excitment. Wendy Mass has done it again!
                    • tori3ghoul
                      tori3ghoulSunday, November 26, 2017 at 6:17 pm55 stars
                      Rory has been dreaming of turning twelve for ages. When she finally is, she tries to complete her list of goals. My favorite part was when she babysits Emily and gets tricked! Although, I felt sorry for Rory's days of bad luck, this book was really good and funny.