Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel

Book 1 of 4 in the Welcome to Wonderland Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.540620
“Outrageous hijinks and nonstop hilarity—five-stars!” —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series

From the bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and co-author with James Patterson of I Funny, House of Robots, and Treasure Hunters, comes a hilarious illustrated series about all the wacky things that happen when you live in a motel!


Eleven-year-old P. T. Wilkie may be the greatest storyteller alive. But he knows one thing for a fact: the Wonderland Motel is the best place a kid could ever live! All-you-can-eat poolside ice cream! A snack machine in the living room! A frog slide! A giant rampaging alligator! (Okay, that last one may or may not be made up.) There’s only one thing the Wonderland doesn’t have, though—customers. And if the Wonderland doesn’t get them soon, P.T. and his friend Gloria may have to say goodbye to their beloved motel forever.

They need to think BIG. They need to think BOLD. They need an OUTRAGEOUS plan. Luckily for them, Gloria is a business GENIUS, and OUTRAGEOUS is practically P.T.’s middle name. With Gloria’s smarts and P.T.’s world-famous stories and schemes, there’s got to be a way to save the Wonderland!

BONUS: Includes fun extras like P. T. Wilkie’s outrageous (and sometimes useful) things you learn living in a motel. Installment 1: How to say “Help! The toilet is clogged!” in over twenty languages!

Here's What People are saying about Welcome to Wonderland!

“Outrageous hijinks and nonstop hilarity—five-stars! Kids who check into this madcap motel will want to stay forever!” —Lincoln Peirce, author of the Big Nate series

"So funny I fell off my bed!"--Izzy B., age 10

"Classic Grabenstein. The mystery should satisfy Grabenstein’s “Mr. Lemoncello” followers, and the humor and visuals will appeal to fans of his collaborations with James Patterson. This new series should be a hit."—School Library Journal

“A delight. P.T. is a hoot and a half. A funny, madcap dash. Grabenstein . . . threads in a mystery that blooms in the last act and that puts this particular read over the top."—Kirkus Reviews

“Charm galore. Easy and breezy, this well-paced novel . . . belongs in the hands of any readers wanting their bad guys bad, their good guys great, and a little of Wonderland’s promised fun in the sun.”The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on April 3, 2018 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0553536052
ISBN-13: 9780553536058
49 Book Reviews
  • hermionereader
    hermionereaderSaturday, April 10, 2021 at 9:46 pm55 stars
    This was a really fun book about a kid living in his family's old motel, and how he works hard to save it before they're left with no money (they're losing business)!
    • babyyodafan1
      babyyodafan1Wednesday, January 6, 2021 at 6:28 pm44 stars
      It's a funny book.
      • hamstergirl11
        hamstergirl11Wednesday, December 23, 2020 at 7:25 am55 stars
        Oh my goodness! This book is hilarious. It is so funny and I recommend the entire series. this book follows Pt. Wilkie and his friend Gloria Ortega as they try to save Pt's Grandfathers motel. This is the first book in the series and I really enjoyed it!
        • TannySunday, December 6, 2020 at 3:35 pm
          I love this book because it was so interesting to me so i thought this book really is awsomw so i thought keep reading and it got even more interesting
          • bsc
            bscThursday, November 26, 2020 at 7:22 am44 stars
            Welcome to Wonderland Motel! P.T. Wilkie loves Wonderland Motel. It's owned by his grandfather and P.T.'s mom. Why wouldn't P.T. like Wonderland? It has a pool, ice cream machine, and frog slide! But then P.T. learns that the motel isn't doing too good. He's kind of always known....they don't get many customers, resulted in, well, not a lot of money. They need to save the motel before they lose it for good. But how? Luckly, P.T. and his new friend, Gloria have a plan. LOTS of them, which will hopefully be enough. I really enjoyed this book! I loved this book with it's humor! My grandparents live in Florida, so it's fun to recognize some places.
            • blossomreader
              blossomreaderWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:28 pm44 starsFeatured
              Chris Grabenstein did it again with a new book called Home Sweet Motel, a humorous book that is fully worth the read! Home Sweet Motel is a book about, well, home. When P.T Wilkie discovers that his motel might go bankrupt and out of business, he springs into action. He knows someone is trying to buy his home from his mom, and with his friend Gloria's help, they might be able to save this glorious motel. After all, who wouldn't want to stay in the best motel ever? P.T was going to need a plan though., because saving the motel requires him to raise 100,000 dollars, and that means the motel was going to need LOTS of customers. While P.T's creative mind launches ideas that could help his home, Gloria manages the funding and the financial situation. Together, they make their ideas come alive, and in their attempt, they are on their way to save the motel. Until disaster strikes with one of their ideas! What will happen next? Will P.T and Gloria save P.T's motel, or will they have to say goodbye to the best motel in the world? I hope you enjoyed this book as much as I did! I think any kid will enjoy this fantastic read!
              • sjsj
                sjsjTuesday, September 22, 2020 at 9:55 am44 stars
                I really enjoyed reading this novel. I like the author's books, so I decided to give it a try. And it is really nice! P.T., not even an adult yet, is forced to raise $100, 000 for his motel in a month, or it will go into the hands of evil bankers. But he is not alone! P.T. has a friend named Gloria, who is very smart and can handle any financial situation. But will it be enough to save the motel? I know that this book is in my top twenty greatest reads. I would recommend this book to any of my friends!
                • sylvie55555
                  sylvie55555Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 9:19 am55 stars
                  PT has always loved living in his grandfather's motel with him and his mom. After all, the Wonderland is kid paradise. So when PT find out that they're motel is having trouble and they need to pay of a 100 thousand dollar loan to be able to keep the motel, he knows he needs to do something. With the help of his new friend Gloria, will he be able to save the motel? Read the book to find out! Happy Reading!
                  • sylvie55555
                    sylvie55555Monday, July 15, 2019 at 5:43 am55 stars
                    Welcome to Wonderland #1: Home Sweet Motel This is a hilarious book. Follow P.T. (Not Petey ) as he and his business partner and friend Gloria, a “business wizz” try and save P.T.’s motel and only home he has ever known. One day a banker comes in and tells P.T.’s mom (who is also the hotel manager) that a few year ago P.T. ‘S grand father took out a loan of a 100,000 dollars! Will P.T. and Gloria raise a hundred dollars and save Wonderland? Read the book to find out!
                    • sylvie55555
                      sylvie55555Saturday, July 6, 2019 at 5:08 pm55 stars
                      This is a hilarious book. Follow P.T. (Not Petey ) as he and his business partner and friend Gloria, a “business wizz” try and save P.T.’s motel and only home he has ever known. One day a banker comes in and tells P.T.’s mom (who is also the hotel manager) that a few year ago P.T. ‘S grand father took out a loan of a 100,000 dollars! Will P.T. and Gloria raise a hundred dollars and save Wonderland? Read the book to find out!