Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5Q2.04398
Graphic novel star Kazu Kibuishi creates a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, a giant robot---and two ordinary children on a life-or-death mission.

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids' mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.

Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 1, 2008 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0439846803
ISBN-13: 9780439846806
136 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bolts_stars77
    bolts_stars77Monday, July 20, 2020 at 5:29 am55 stars
    I love this book. this book is about Emily, her mom, and her brother, Navin Hayes. In the beginning of this book, their car crashed because someone was speeding, and their father dies. So they go to their grandfather's house, names Silas, and he was a stonekeeper. Emily inherits the stone, and Navin, Emily, and their mom arrive at his house just in time to see him die. Then, there's a rumbling sound in the basement, and the three of them go to see what is happening. When they are doing that, their mother, gets taken away.
    • bolts_stars77
      bolts_stars77Monday, July 20, 2020 at 5:25 am55 stars
      I love all the books. Got into it when my teacher recommended it to me.
      • animefan28
        animefan28Monday, June 29, 2020 at 2:44 pm33 stars
        it looks... interesting. Thanks to pizzagirl17 for her input! i might consider reading. Im a little skeptical about the demons and things but thats only MY opinion... thank you all for your input and special thanks to mthegod and pizzagirl17
        • mthegod
          mthegodFriday, June 26, 2020 at 4:43 am55 stars
          this book is the start of one of the best series in the world. in the book Emily and her family go to an abandoned house that used be owned by Emilys great grandfather Silas who was a stonekeeper. when they were cleaning the house Emily found the stone and put it on. later that night they herd a noice and it was a creature that put Emilys mom in there belly. soon after that she finds Silas and tears about the stone and what it is capable of doing. it is up to Emily and her crew to rescue her mother. I would recommend this book for people that like action and adventure. I would recommend this book for the ages 5 to 10.
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 10:17 am55 stars
            At the beginning for this book young Emily , her dad and her mom was driving down the street . when a car had there lights on too bright , the dad swerved over and then saw a guy on the edge of the road . He swerved again and crashed into a dead tree limb over the side of the mountain that was about to fall. The dad told the mom and Emily to get out but after they get out they realized the dad was stuck. He couldn't get out . The mom and Emily tried but the car fell of the mountain with the dad in it. A couple years later Emily's brother , mom and her move to a new house in the middle of no where to begin a fresh start. (The mom couldn't make enough money to let be in the old house . ) and the new house was there grandfather's house (there grandfather went missing ) you'll have to read the rest of the book to find out what happens next. I recommend it anyone all ages and I rate this book 5/5 stars 😁 - Pizzagirl7 πŸ˜‰
            • laurieisthebest
              laurieisthebestWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 7:57 am55 stars
              this book really hooks you in if you like magic and superpowers
              • willow123goma
                willow123gomaSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 6:23 am55 stars
                This is the first book in the Amulet series. Like all Amulet books, this book is phenomenal. With an Excellent story line, beautiful graphics, and heart-wrenching moments, this is an Must-read book.
                • glowinq_stxrs
                  glowinq_stxrsFriday, April 10, 2020 at 9:09 pm55 stars
                  Omg, back when I was in fourth grade, my friends read that book and I wanted to read it so bad and after two years of looking for what I want to read, I finally found it and I read that book and I love it! Amazing book!
                  • fortniteoop60
                    fortniteoop60Friday, January 17, 2020 at 11:27 am55 stars
                    It’s so good
                    • some alien Saturday, December 14, 2019 at 3:36 pm
                      Although the recommended age is 4-8th grade, when I was in merely 2nd grade I discovered this series in the library and was immediately hooked! I would finish 1/2 of a book in school, the rest at home, then I'd show up to the library the next day for more! I'm still following along! SO EXCITED FOR NUMBER 9!!!