Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5Q2.04398
Graphic novel star Kazu Kibuishi creates a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, a giant robot---and two ordinary children on a life-or-death mission.

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids' mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.

Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 1, 2008 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0439846803
ISBN-13: 9780439846806
140 Book Reviews
  • hgeo04
    hgeo04Monday, April 12, 2021 at 12:56 pm55 stars
    It is telling about a girl named Emily. She lost her dad in a car crash and moved with her mom and brother. They find an amulet and meet a relative. This book has 7 more books after this one. Elves, Amulet, Sonekeepers, and a brother this book has it all. This is a graphic novel. It is sooooo good I read it more than once.
    • jazmine2008
      jazmine2008Friday, March 26, 2021 at 11:15 am55 stars
      i read all the books there are 8 books and there all amazing but i read them in 5th grade and i just loved them
      • cosmokitty
        cosmokittyThursday, February 11, 2021 at 8:44 pm55 stars
        5 STARS BEST BOOK SERIES IVE EVER READ!!! It is such a good books series and I keeps you on the edge of your seat. It really captures the essence and makes you feel as if you were experiencing it! I absolutely love this series and have read it so many times, I can’t wait for book 9!!!
        • gold3nglare
          gold3nglareThursday, October 29, 2020 at 11:13 am44 stars
          I liked it this book in the series. However, the more you read in the series, the faster you get bored. They all have serious expressions, and its hard to tell whether the amulet is evil or not, and there's no comic relief. Like ever. This book gets a 4 stars, but I would advise that you only read the first 6 books.
          • mehmeh24
            mehmeh24Thursday, October 29, 2020 at 8:46 am55 stars
            i love this book
            • theoriginal1
              theoriginal1Monday, June 29, 2020 at 2:44 pm33 stars
              it looks... interesting. Thanks to pizzagirl17 for her input! i might consider reading. Im a little skeptical about the demons and things but thats only MY opinion... thank you all for your input and special thanks to mthegod and pizzagirl17
              • melody2010
                melody2010Tuesday, December 1, 2020 at 11:46 am55 stars
                Wow your thankful to so much people I mean A LOT of people I like your opinion My friend should read this she is crazy about demon stories and those legend creatures as I call them.
              • mthegod
                mthegodFriday, June 26, 2020 at 4:43 am55 stars
                this book is the start of one of the best series in the world. in the book Emily and her family go to an abandoned house that used be owned by Emilys great grandfather Silas who was a stonekeeper. when they were cleaning the house Emily found the stone and put it on. later that night they herd a noice and it was a creature that put Emilys mom in there belly. soon after that she finds Silas and tears about the stone and what it is capable of doing. it is up to Emily and her crew to rescue her mother. I would recommend this book for people that like action and adventure. I would recommend this book for the ages 5 to 10.
                • pizzagirl7
                  pizzagirl7Wednesday, June 24, 2020 at 10:17 am55 stars
                  At the beginning for this book young Emily , her dad and her mom was driving down the street . when a car had there lights on too bright , the dad swerved over and then saw a guy on the edge of the road . He swerved again and crashed into a dead tree limb over the side of the mountain that was about to fall. The dad told the mom and Emily to get out but after they get out they realized the dad was stuck. He couldn't get out . The mom and Emily tried but the car fell of the mountain with the dad in it. A couple years later Emily's brother , mom and her move to a new house in the middle of no where to begin a fresh start. (The mom couldn't make enough money to let be in the old house . ) and the new house was there grandfather's house (there grandfather went missing ) you'll have to read the rest of the book to find out what happens next. I recommend it anyone all ages and I rate this book 5/5 stars 😁 - Pizzagirl7 πŸ˜‰
                  • laurieisthebest
                    laurieisthebestWednesday, June 3, 2020 at 7:57 am55 stars
                    this book really hooks you in if you like magic and superpowers
                    • willow123goma
                      willow123gomaSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 6:23 am55 stars
                      This is the first book in the Amulet series. Like all Amulet books, this book is phenomenal. With an Excellent story line, beautiful graphics, and heart-wrenching moments, this is an Must-read book.