The Stonekeeper (Amulet, Book 1)

Book 1 of 7 in the Amulet Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 5Q2.04398
Graphic novel star Kazu Kibuishi creates a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, a giant robot---and two ordinary children on a life-or-death mission.

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids' mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.

Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 1, 2008 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0439846803
ISBN-13: 9780439846806
68 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • forenna
    forennaWednesday, August 9, 2017 at 12:51 pm55 stars
    Amulet- This is a great book if you like adventure. Emily and Navin live like normal kids, until they have to move to the creep, old house. They find a secret passage which leads them to an underground world where Miskit, a small, mechanical rabbit guides through their journey in 7 great books. AMulet is a great series!
    • albina200
      albina200Thursday, July 13, 2017 at 10:00 am55 stars
      It's so sad
      • paygelchamberla
        paygelchamberlaTuesday, May 16, 2017 at 10:58 am
        SO SAD
        • KittyKitKatFriday, May 12, 2017 at 10:08 am
          The whole series is THE BEST. It's so good.
          • 25splays
            25splaysWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 8:23 am
            This is a good book if you like adventure. i had to read this book in book club and i loved it so much. the book is about a girl named Emily and here family.
            • nomnom522522
              nomnom522522Friday, May 5, 2017 at 7:14 am55 stars
              this book is prob the best book of its kind its the first book what do you expect i would rec amend this book to any one i love this book sires more than any book sires i'v ever read this is a must read book sires and make sure to follow nomnom522522
              • nonstopreader
                nonstopreaderFriday, April 21, 2017 at 4:43 am
                This book is my school's book club book. I read it in around 30 minutes (A graphic novel-very intriguing). This book keeps you reading until you finish.
                • perfectpotion10
                  perfectpotion10Tuesday, March 28, 2017 at 11:50 am
                  The first part of the book is obviously the saddest..just saying
                  • GabbyTuesday, December 13, 2016 at 10:49 am
                    Sad
                    • waterxicew0lf
                      waterxicew0lfMonday, December 12, 2016 at 11:59 am55 stars
                      i love this book because it is a fantasy book with a girl exploring to save the world. she finds an amulet so she can use haaaaaaaaalp to save the world.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Kenny wrote:

                      i really enjoyed this book
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      stromtrooper75 wrote:

                      Calvin creates a snow goon which...
                      ATTACK OF THE DERANGED MUTANT KI...

                      klbaek26
                      klbaek26 wrote:

                      I loved the book Secret Garden!!!!!
                      The Secret Garden