The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Book 1 of 4 in the The Penderwicks Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.754550
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.
Hardcover, 262 pages
Published on June 14, 2005 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375831436
ISBN-13: 9780375831430
172 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • soccerchick03
    soccerchick03Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at 5:50 am55 stars
    This is a book about four girls who go on a vacation to a cottage with their father. This cottage shares its grounds with a wealthy estate that the kids run around in. They meet a boy and a collage student one of them falls in love with. Ages 10+
    • freewayjada5
      freewayjada5Saturday, June 1, 2019 at 7:41 am55 stars
      thee Penderwicks is about a family of five. four girls and their dad, their mom died from cancer. one year their vacation house was booked so they went to Arundel Hall and met a boy named Jeffery and his rude mother. want to know what happens next? read the book.
      • kgbradshaw
        kgbradshawSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 10:58 am44 stars
        This book is bound to be a classic that goes down in history with stories about family, like Little Women. A fun story with inspiration, laughs and moments that will infuriate you. I stumbled upon this book awhile ago, and decided to return to it when I saw it on the reading list! I hope you like it as much as I do, and always remember: Blue eyes, blue Skye.
        • reader_red
          reader_redThursday, May 16, 2019 at 4:54 pm55 stars
          The Penderwicks is a thrilling summer tale that introduces the beginning of an entertaining series. Right at the beginning it sets the picture of a delightful little family on their way to a new vacation spot. The four Penderwick girls are forced to put up with snooty Mrs. Tifton. And as the girls begin to get used to the new settings they make a few friends.
          • C.C 4EvaWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 8:45 pm
            It was an amazing book, and very interesting with so many exciting topics! If you hadn't read it yet, you definitely should! You'll love it as much as I do! In fact, I loved it so much I got the whole series!
            • smart_cat
              smart_catWednesday, March 13, 2019 at 12:44 pm55 stars
              SOOO great! I have the whole series and I love them all
              • zay1Thursday, January 10, 2019 at 7:38 am
                The cover looked boring but, it was a really AMAZING book. You should read this book. The Penderwicks is so awesome.
                • queen_luna
                  queen_lunaTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:16 pm55 stars
                  This book is simply wonderful! If you're looking for something that will have you laughing and crying with lovable and quirky characters through exciting plot twists, then you've found it!
                  • veronica drinkMonday, November 5, 2018 at 8:57 am
                    nice
                    • veronica drinkMonday, November 5, 2018 at 8:57 am
                      this book is so dum who ever made this book was a dum ditto brain
                      • girlforgreen
                        girlforgreenWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 1:10 pm55 stars
                        I mean to say this politely, veronica drink, but I absolutely do not agree with you. I think that this is a sweet book. I really enjoyed it. Why didn't you like it?