Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8X5.3101182

Book one in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built!

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround them is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying: Remember. Survive. Run.

The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. The third movie, Maze Runner: The Death Cure, will hit screens in 2018.

Also look for James Dashner’s edge-of-your-seat MORTALITY DOCTRINE series!

Praise for the Maze Runner series:
A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

“[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost.” —EW.com

“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” Seventeen.com

“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly

Heart pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews

Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

“James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred

Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.” —Deseret News

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on October 6, 2009 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 0385737947
ISBN-13: 9780385737944
473 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Gamer512Friday, October 9, 2020 at 7:30 am
    The Maze Runner My book review is on The Maze Runner by James Dashner. The story starts when the main character Thomas wakes up without memories in an elevator and is transported to the Glade, which is a safe area that is surrounded by a maze. He becomes a runner and runs through the maze looking for the exit. At night the doors in between the maze and the Glade shut, the maze shifts, and grievers come out into the maze. The grievers are a strange mix of mechanical and living parts, they are monstrosities that will sting you causing extreme pain and making you remember things. The book is about the kids trying to survive and escape the maze. What I liked about this book was that the author had a writing style that just made me want to read more of it. For example, when Thomas entered the Glade for the first time the author gave a lot of detail about the people there and what the Glade looked like. The book was interesting and it entertained me with a good plot. I especially liked it when Thomas climbed up the rocks and tied Alby up in the vines. I liked it because it was tense and had lots of suspense and I respect Thomas for doing it because he saved his friend. I also liked the characters and all of the nicknames and conflict. The nickname I liked the most was the “Rat Man”, it was funny because his face made him look like a rat. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes dystopian future books. Enjoy the book and don’t get stung by the grievers!
    • nicegirl123
      nicegirl123Monday, July 6, 2020 at 9:01 pm55 stars
      I’m glad we got a long vacation, and what I did was read. I have a list pinned in my wall of the books I must read; I mean which I WANT to read as ever. But unfortunately, all the bookshops and libraries were closed, so my only choice was read the pdf. I downloaded the pdf the same day, and read it, and I couldn’t put the book down. I couldn’t take my eyes of it. I was obsessed by the book. This book is about a boy named Thomas, who woke up in a box, and he was sent to which seems like another world. He finds some other boys in the place, which they call the glade. He thinks everything is ridiculous. Anybody will think everything is ridiculous if they wake up in a glade. The next day, another girl comes t the glade, who Thomas thought was familiar even though he could not remember who it was. He finds out that he could telepathy with the girl. However, they find a way out of the glade, and next, they get to know they are going to have another challenge the scorch trials. I recommend this book to everybody, this book can be read by anybody, and I’m sure everybody of you’ll will enjoy it as much as I did.
      • NewtFANSunday, July 5, 2020 at 1:34 pm
        I love this book. I has been my favorite series.
        • lovetoread26
          lovetoread26Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 3:25 pm55 starsFeatured
          It seems like every book I read during quarantine earns a top spot on my favorite books list, and this book is no different! I can't wait to read the next one. Estimated 16 year old Thomas wakes up in a dark box that is slowly creaking up a shaft, with no memory of who he is or how he got there. The only thing he remembers about his past life is his name, Thomas. When he gets out of the box, he learns that he is in a place called the Glade, and every other boy there arrived in the same fashion. Everything is going smoothly until the next day a girl arrives. Then everything descends into chaos; the girl falls into a coma, speaking to Thomas through her mind. She arrived clutching a note in her hand saying that she was the final person to be delivered. Thomas decides that he wants to be a Runner, who searches the mysterious maze surrounding the Glade for clues on how to escape. The next week, supplies aren't delivered, and soon after, the sky goes gray. No sun, no night or day. Many blame Thomas for all of the strange happenings, but he knows they are wrong. This book is sort of a mystery, because no one knows how the "Gladers" will survive. There are many shocking twists and turns, and this book is not for the faint-hearted. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did, and that it makes a top spot in your favorite book list as well.
          • vankem7151
            vankem7151Friday, May 1, 2020 at 10:31 am55 stars
            I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!
            • smokey7990
              smokey7990Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 8:30 am33 stars
              it had me going off the walls because i could only read for a hour
              • dogwhisper2010
                dogwhisper2010Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 starsFeatured
                I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I it is really good and I think that the author (James Dashner) has a huge imagination to think of all this. This book is very enthusiastic and addicting. I had many favorite parts and I hope you do to. I don't want to give you any spoilers but I will sum it up for you. Thomas , a teenager, arrives in a glade at the center of a giant labyrinth. Like the other youths dumped there before him, he has no memory of his previous life. Thomas quickly becomes part of the group and soon after demonstrates a unique perspective that scores him a promotion to Runner status -- those who patrol the always-changing maze to find an escape route. Together with Teresa, the only female, Thomas tries to convince his cohorts that he knows a way out. I really hope you like the book!
                • lmise7931
                  lmise7931Wednesday, October 23, 2019 at 6:53 am55 stars
                  i give this book a straight out 2 thumbs up, i have read the book and watched the movies, this book is awesome!!!!!!!!, PLEASE MAKE THIS A FREE GIVE AWAY BOOK!!!!!!!!!;)
                  • sa;lly;)Wednesday, October 9, 2019 at 4:44 am
                    i love this book, i have watched the movie and everything! i love it. its so adventurous and mysterious. i love it!
                    • ryanboi
                      ryanboiTuesday, August 27, 2019 at 8:32 am33 stars
                      Its kinda mysterious and the characters are trying to find out who they really are.