Paul Fisher sees the world from behind glasses so thick he looks like a bug-eyed alien. But he’s not so blind that he can’t see there are some very unusual things about his family’s new home in Tangerine County, Florida. Where else does a sinkhole swallow the local school, fire burn underground for years, and lightning strike at the same time every day?The chaos is compounded by constant harassment from his football–star brother, and adjusting to life in Tangerine isn’t easy for Paul—until he joins the soccer team at his middle school. With the help of his new teammates, Paul begins to discover what lies beneath the surface of his strange new hometown. And he also gains the courage to face up to some secrets his family has been keeping from him for far too long.In Tangerine, it seems, anything is possible.
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published on September 2, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544336119
ISBN-13: 9780544336117
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • money12
    money12Sunday, May 28, 2017 at 2:57 pm44 stars
    the book is so funny and it makes you think about life
    • maymaylovesroon
      maymaylovesroonWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 6:04 pm55 stars
      So good! It's about a boy named Paul Fisher who's blind and doesn't know how he became blind. He hates it, because he's afraid people will tease him and because he's blind, he's not allowed to play soccer at one of the schools in his county. Loved it!
      • spider2001
        spider2001Thursday, July 14, 2016 at 7:15 pmFeatured
        Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Tangerine is a story of Paul, who is legally blind. Even though he can't see very well, he still fights for the right to play soccer at his new school, Lake Windsor Middle School. However, the soccer coach tells Paul and his mother that Paul can not play because he was handicapped. Paul was sad, however, when his school is swallowed by a giant sinkhole, it gives him and his friend a chance to go to Tangerine Middle School. There, Paul is allowed to play Soccer, and meets new friends, as well. However, when Paul's evil brother Erik and his friend Author start to cause trouble, It's up to Paul and his friends to stand up for what they believe in. This book is spectacular! I really recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a inspirational story!
        • cameracraz
          cameracrazThursday, January 28, 2016 at 3:16 pm55 stars
          Even though he’s blind without his thick glasses that make him look like a bug-eyed alien. Paul Fisher sees a world other don’t. They don’t see that he’s up to something. Paul’s family had just moved to Tangerine County, Florida. Where his brother gets an admission to a high class football school. Already his brother is perfect in front of his parents. Tangerine was a really good book . It had suspense, drama, and laughter. It’s a New York Times Bestseller and completely deserves it. Children from grades three to fifth would enjoy this book a lot. This book get four stars in my opinion. I think that Tangerine by Edward Bloor is a really good read.
          • pandy123
            pandy123Saturday, March 28, 2015 at 2:37 pm44 stars
            I loved this book once I read it. I loved how Paul changed throughout the book and his adventures in a new school.
            • kcjkb
              kcjkbSunday, March 15, 2015 at 10:41 am
              I really liked this book! SPOILER: I hate how Luis dies :'( But I love his bravery and how it make Paul a better person! I would recommend this for ages 11+
              • mysterystar
                mysterystarSunday, December 7, 2014 at 4:24 pm33 stars
                "I exploded. "No! No sir!" I yanked off my Coke-bottle glasses and shook them at him in rage. "There are questions that need to be answered about these! Am I such a stupid idiot fool that I stared at a solar eclipse for an hour and blinded myself?"" Tangerine is a story about a boy named Paul moving to Tangerine County. Paul is almost blind, he can only see due to his glasses. He dislikes his middle school yet loves playing soccer. He joins the middle school soccer team while his brother's a football player. Speaking about his brother, for some reason unknown Paul and his brother Erik hate each other, like "Look at me and I'll kill you," hate. It's unnecessary and the only reason it's there was to make Paul blind. Paul makes tons of dumb and brave decisions too, and I end up not liking him. The plot kept dragging on too, with unnecessary side plots everywhere. I get that the author wants to make a long book, but that's not how you make it better. There are some disturbing parts for younger kids (3rd grade) but overall is pretty kid-friendly. I give it a 3/5.
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieWednesday, March 19, 2014 at 3:26 pm
                  This is a great book.Although it had some disturbing parts(for me) I enjoyed it and thought it was very interesting and very well written.Read it!:D
                  • artlover02
                    artlover02Friday, March 7, 2014 at 5:33 pm55 stars
                    I love this book so, so, so, much.Paul shows that if your brave you can do anything and I think that's really important.
                    • ssushi
                      ssushiThursday, November 14, 2013 at 2:50 pm11 star
                      This book was horrible!! It is about a boy with glasses trying to play soccer. I like soccer, but all the games were in wayyyyy to much detail. There is a lot of unrealistic violence between the main character and his brother. LOTS of it.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mirsoftball8

                      This book, Teddy Mars; Almost a ...
                      Teddy Mars Book #1: Almost a Wor...

                      Puh wrote:

                      PMG I CANT WAIT TO READ THIS BOO...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      revan_189
                      revan_189 wrote:

                      My god, it was the best book eve...
                      The Blood Of Olympus (The Heroes...

                      revan_189
                      revan_189 wrote:

                      Also, the plot was pretty hard t...
                      Harry Potter and the Cursed Chil...