I Survived the Destruction of Pompeii, AD 79

Book 10 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.112621
The beast beneath the mountain is restless...

No one in the bustling city of Pompeii worries when the ground trembles beneath their feet. The beast under the mountain Vesuvius, high above the city, wakes up angry sometimes -- and always goes back to sleep.

But Marcus is afraid. He knows something is terribly wrong -- and his father, who trusts science more than mythical beasts, agrees. When Vesuvius explodes into a cloud of fiery ash and rocks fall from the sky like rain, will they have time to escape -- and survive the epic destruction of Pompeii?
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on August 26, 2014 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545459397
ISBN-13: 9780545459396
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zzayumi
    zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 12:52 pm55 stars
    This is a great book! It is about a boy named Marcus surviving the Destruction of Pompeii. It teaches you that you should be kind, because Marcus was kind and the old woman told him something good.
    • blackwolfWednesday, October 10, 2018 at 11:50 am
      I'm not the type of girl that likes action, but i really liked this book, it was the best I SURVIVED book that was ever made. ur somebody that likes action then this is the type of book
      • angel200
        angel200Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at 11:02 am44 stars
        Im not the type of girl that likes action,but I really liked this book,it was the best I SURVIVED book that was ever made.If ur sombody that likes action then this is ur type of book
        • greenarrow793
          greenarrow793Friday, May 19, 2017 at 8:47 am55 stars
          Nice book!
          • johnWednesday, May 17, 2017 at 5:42 am
            the best series ever read in my life
            • nonstopreader
              nonstopreaderWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 11:40 am
              I love this series! I am always excited when a new one comes out. This book focuses on Pompeii. I recently just saw the movie. Wouldn't it be awesome to go there? But what a tragedy.
              • A NerdWednesday, February 17, 2016 at 1:32 pm
                I love this book!!! But I want some info
                • nflchampion36
                  nflchampion36Thursday, February 11, 2016 at 2:12 pm
                  My brother loves the series.
                  • julieThursday, December 10, 2015 at 5:59 pm
                    i love it 5 star
                    • JeffSunday, November 22, 2015 at 4:01 pm
                      This was one of my favorite books if you like historical fiction this is a book for you