Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.259540
On a foggy night in Amsterdam, a man falls from a rooftop to the wet pavement below. It's Alfie McQuinn, the notorious cat burglar, and he's dying. As sirens wail in the distance, Alfie manages to get out two last words to his young son, March: "Find jewels."

But March learns that his father is not talking about a stash of loot. He's talking about Jules, the twin sister March never knew he had. No sooner than the two find each other, they're picked up by the police and sent to the world's worst orphanage. It's not prison, but it feels like it.

March and Jules have no intention of staying put. They know their father's business inside and out, and they're tired of being pushed around. Just one good heist, and they'll live the life of riches and freedom most kids only dream about.

Watch out! There are wild kids on the loose and a crime spree coming . . .

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on June 24, 2014 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545468027
ISBN-13: 9780545468022
77 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kruzingwithk9s
    kruzingwithk9sSaturday, August 10, 2019 at 2:46 pm55 stars
    When famous cat burglar Alfie McQuin falls off a roof and dies, he tells his son March to ''Find Jewels" he has no idea what he said, also, March is left without a parent. When he tries to escape, hes caught and taken to a place with kids like him. On the way there, he finds a girl nicknamed Jules, when March finds out that his dad didn't tell him to find jewels, but to find JULES. Turns out Jules is March's sister. He also meets Darius, and Izzy, Jules and March find out that they were supposed to meet after their 13th birthday, but they met before that, and 7 magic moonstones told their father that they will die together on their 13th birthday. Will March and Jules die? This book seemed dull at first but its really good. I recommend this book a lot.
    • Isheka Friday, August 9, 2019 at 7:21 am
      Good book
      • ajg16
        ajg16Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 2:52 pm44 stars
        Alfie McQuin is dying and His last words to his son March McQuin is "Find Jewels". He isn't talking about jewelry he is talking about March's TWIN SISTER Jules. He finds her when he and her get sent to a group home. There they meet Darius & Izzy. All Four gets escape and set out on a huge heist to find 7 moonstones - a lady named Carlotta Grimstone has offered them 7 million dollars! They want.. No they need that money if there going to live the life they hope for.. No foster homes, group homes, adults or social services. Hope, betrayal, and friendship all thrown together to make one amazing book. Recommended to 12+
        • memyselfandiyay
          memyselfandiyayFriday, May 3, 2019 at 11:39 am44 stars
          This book is really cool. I mean who doesn't want to steal a fortune and get rich. In your dreams. But I recommend this to like 4 out of 5. March lost his father. From someone-I-can't-tell- you pushed him off the roof. His father tells him to "Find Jewels" March knew he was talking about Jules his long lost sister.
          • slytherinfan
            slytherinfanTuesday, September 25, 2018 at 1:12 pm44 stars
            I was reading this book, but I lost it lol
            • jack12439362820
              jack12439362820Tuesday, September 25, 2018 at 8:50 am55 stars
              I have read both books and they are both awesome the only thing I don't like is that there's only two books.
              • bookwormlilyt13
                bookwormlilyt13Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 2:56 pm55 stars
                This is a great book for kids 9-12. If you love thriller books this has your name written all over it.
                • ironmanx
                  ironmanxFriday, June 30, 2017 at 2:48 pm55 stars
                  Great Book
                  • snicker9
                    snicker9Thursday, May 11, 2017 at 8:21 am44 starsFeatured
                    Loot is the story of young March, the son of a famous criminal. March and his father Alfie have traveled the world, making some of the grandest heists known. But one night something goes terribly wrong, and Alfie falls of the roof while on a job. With his dying breath he tells he son to find "jewels". But March soon finds out that the "jewels" his father was speaking off was not a hidden treasure chest, but a twin sister he never knew he had. Both March and Jules are shipped off to an orphanage, where they must find a way to escape. They meet two new friends along the way and the new gang escape the orphanage in order to find the coveted moonstone gems, and find how to reverse the curse. For a prophecy was spoken, killing their mother, and jailing their parent's crime partner. And then it said that the twins would be killed together falling off a cliff! Will this group of rag-tag kids learn to trust each other? Will they be able to find the true enemy, and the stones in time? This book kept my heart pounding. There were so many twists and turns, and I was caught up in the drama. I recommend this book for ages 10+. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
                    • Mr.AwsomeMonday, May 1, 2017 at 9:51 am
                      This is my new fav. crime story. In fact, it is my new fav. book! I just got done reading it 4/28/17. It can be kind of scary at times, but it is also kind of sad too. But it ends happily ever after!!