Kid Presidents: True Tales of Childhood from America's Presidents (Kid Legends)

Book 1 of 6 in the Kids Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 5 - 10n/a6.518569

Hilarious childhood biographies and full-color illustrations show how George Washington, Abraham Lincoln, Teddy Roosevelt, Barack Obama, and other presidents-to-be faced kid-sized problems growing up in America.

Every president started out as a kid! Forget the legends, tall tales, and historic achievements—before they were presidents, the future leaders of the United States had regular-kid problems just like you. John F. Kennedy hated his big brother. Lyndon Johnson pulled pranks in class. Barack Obama was bothered by bullies. And Bill Clinton was crazy clumsy (he once broke his leg jumping rope). Kid Presidents tells all of their stories and more with full-color cartoon illustrations on every page. History has never been this much fun!

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on October 28, 2014 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594747318
ISBN-13: 9781594747311
91 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • angelprincess5
    angelprincess5Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 8:30 am55 stars
    I love this book. It is funny as well as intresting.
    • kruzingwithk9s
      kruzingwithk9sSaturday, July 27, 2019 at 3:15 pm55 stars
      Yes, while some presidents seem old, they were all kids at one point. And they all have a story, and some have interesting facts too! Did you know that Jimmy Carter loved arrowheads? Or that Ronald Reagan was very nearsighted, but it cleared up when he picked up a pair of his moms glasses and put them on? James K. Polk had learned to ride a horse before he could walk! Franklin D. Roosevelt had a mother that just wouldn't give him some space. And Herbert Hoover once ate nothing but PEARS for two whole days!! He got so sick that he refused to eat another pear for more then thirty years! This book is really good, it doesn't give you a chapter on every president, but it has a lot of info!
      • jikolysyri
        jikolysyriThursday, November 9, 2017 at 7:58 am
        The book id very funny, if you read it you will see what I mean. One president is near blind, he put on his mom's glasses. You should see his face, I laughed my head off. It is very funny.
        • jb_penguin12
          jb_penguin12Monday, October 24, 2016 at 12:42 pm55 stars
          I won this book from the Summer Reading Program and I really enjoyed it. I'm not really into nonfiction books, but I really enjoyed this one. I was reading this book and after every chapter I said I would take a break but I never put it down. I really enjoyed learning how similar my everyday life is to all these presidents when they were kids. I really hope I can continue reading this series because I enjoyed this book a lot.
          • dstabler
            dstablerThursday, November 19, 2015 at 9:40 am
            Great to see so many thoughtful reviews of Kid Presidents on this page. Please keep them coming. If you liked Kid Presidents, and you like sports, please check out my new book Kid Athletes as well.
            • inventor60
              inventor60Wednesday, September 23, 2015 at 5:54 am55 stars
              I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to not just kids but also adults. The book explores the childhood of few of the very famous presidents that the United states has ever had. It is expresses the idea that us children can some day be a president like them, for our childhood aren't very different.
              • catface173
                catface173Monday, September 21, 2015 at 2:48 pm33 stars
                This book is good. Could be better though. I L - I - k - e - d this book. I know I say that about every book
                • vivi10
                  vivi10Sunday, September 20, 2015 at 4:36 pm
                  Iv read this book this is kind of interisting i think you should who knows you might actually become a president and the funny part some of these kids in this books look realy wierd kind of reminds me of the book called the kid who became president
                  • caskoc
                    caskocWednesday, September 23, 2015 at 6:32 am
                    Everyone makes this sound good
                  • lulubob
                    lulubobSaturday, September 19, 2015 at 9:11 am55 stars
                    Kid presidents is a great book with hilarious stories and fun facts. Two of my favorite stories are about Franklin D. Roosevelt and his mother and another one about John F. Kennedy and his brother. If you like history or are having trouble with it this book makes it really fun. I hope you like the book as much as I did!
                    • jeffdaboss
                      jeffdabossFriday, September 11, 2015 at 4:01 pm55 stars
                      This book is amazing! We didn't know about our presidents lives as kids! This book really is a special non fiction book that will attract kids to read. Find out about Roosevelt's love for animals. Discover Grant's love for horses. And get into Nixon's hatred of boots and love for plays. Honestly, this book is the best.