Kid Presidents: True Tales of Childhood from America's Presidents

Email

The kids who grew up to be president were like a lot of other children. Some struggled with schoolwork and got into fights; others pranked their teachers and infuriated their parents. William Howard Taft was forced to take dance lessons. Gerald Ford struggled with dyslexia. Teddy Roosevelt had a bedroom “museum” full of dead animals. Kid Presidents features 20 captivating true stories from the childhoods of American presidents, complete with lively text and more than 200 cartoon illustrations. Laugh-out-loud funny and packed with cool facts, it’s the perfect read for all young future leaders of the free world.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on October 28, 2014 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594747318
ISBN-13: 9781594747311
88 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • jpenguin12
    jpenguin12Monday, October 24, 2016 at 12:42 pm55 stars
    I won this book from the Summer Reading Program and I really enjoyed it. I'm not really into nonfiction books, but I really enjoyed this one. I was reading this book and after every chapter I said I would take a break but I never put it down. I really enjoyed learning how similar my everyday life is to all these presidents when they were kids. I really hope I can continue reading this series because I enjoyed this book a lot.
    • dstabler
      dstablerThursday, November 19, 2015 at 9:40 am
      Great to see so many thoughtful reviews of Kid Presidents on this page. Please keep them coming. If you liked Kid Presidents, and you like sports, please check out my new book Kid Athletes as well.
      • inventor60
        inventor60Wednesday, September 23, 2015 at 5:54 am55 stars
        I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to not just kids but also adults. The book explores the childhood of few of the very famous presidents that the United states has ever had. It is expresses the idea that us children can some day be a president like them, for our childhood aren't very different.
        • catface173
          catface173Monday, September 21, 2015 at 2:48 pm33 stars
          This book is good. Could be better though. I L - I - k - e - d this book. I know I say that about every book
          • vivi10
            vivi10Sunday, September 20, 2015 at 4:36 pm
            Iv read this book this is kind of interisting i think you should who knows you might actually become a president and the funny part some of these kids in this books look realy wierd kind of reminds me of the book called the kid who became president
            • caskoc
              caskocWednesday, September 23, 2015 at 6:32 am
              Everyone makes this sound good
            • lulubob
              lulubobSaturday, September 19, 2015 at 9:11 am55 stars
              Kid presidents is a great book with hilarious stories and fun facts. Two of my favorite stories are about Franklin D. Roosevelt and his mother and another one about John F. Kennedy and his brother. If you like history or are having trouble with it this book makes it really fun. I hope you like the book as much as I did!
              • jeffdaboss
                jeffdabossFriday, September 11, 2015 at 4:01 pm55 stars
                This book is amazing! We didn't know about our presidents lives as kids! This book really is a special non fiction book that will attract kids to read. Find out about Roosevelt's love for animals. Discover Grant's love for horses. And get into Nixon's hatred of boots and love for plays. Honestly, this book is the best.
                • extrememsb
                  extrememsbWednesday, August 19, 2015 at 3:30 pm55 stars
                  I love this book! You should read this book
                  • turtlenicole
                    turtlenicoleThursday, August 13, 2015 at 11:54 am55 stars
                    It's a truly wonderful book about the childhood of your past and present presidents including Barack Obama and Abe Lincoln. I totally recommened the book!
                    • llpanda
                      llpandaSaturday, August 8, 2015 at 4:12 pm44 stars
                      This was a really good book about what the presidents were like when they were kids. I really enjoyed it. I totally recommend this book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      callie_is_cool

                      OK, this book is AWESOME. Fast-f...
                      Cinder: Book One in the Lunar Ch...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      This is about a boy who is a sci...
                      Frank Einstein and the Antimatte...

                      railz
                      railz wrote:

                      I like this book because it remi...
                      Smile

                      divadancer101

                      This Graphic novel is about Rain...
                      Smile