Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.4100385

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books—but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. we have lived among you without you knowing. But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four. I am next.

Hardcover, 448 pages
Published on August 3, 2010 by Harper
ISBN-10: 0061969559
ISBN-13: 9780061969553
39 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookstory13
    bookstory13Friday, November 2, 2018 at 4:52 pm55 stars
    Have you ever dreamed of becoming best friends with an alien? Well, it's hard to. John can testify. Well, he is only sometimes John. Sometimes he is Eric. Or Mark. It depends on the town. The only thing he always is is Four. There were nine. They came to Earth from the planet Lorien after it was attacked to preserve the race and avenge it. When John goes to Paradise, Ohio, it turns out to be different. John falls in love with a girl named Sarah, receives his Legacies (superpowers), and then the danger starts to creep up. I am in love with this series. It's just enough fantasy to be considered still realistic. (If you believe in aliens) I have read about four of the books in the series and just a bit ago I found out there are more, and I am exhausting my resources to find them. And there's a movie! I couldn't believe it! If there's one thing you need to know, it's that I Am Number Four can transport you where you haven't been before. --BKS
    • lains24
      lains24Tuesday, October 9, 2018 at 12:16 pm55 stars
      I just started it and it's already amazing!
      • ritlerbx
        ritlerbxMonday, November 20, 2017 at 1:28 pm55 stars
        my brother read it he said it was really good so i raid it it was awesome i love it
        • kittylover8786
          kittylover8786Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 5:30 am55 stars
          I am number 4 is one of my favorite series by far. It is an action-packed trilogy which is a bit like the hunger games, though also has it's own quirk's (ex: Aleins, powers) but i would toattly recomend it to anybody who like the hunger games. If you like this fallow me!!!
          • fKAWA4894Sunday, August 20, 2017 at 11:50 am
            okaaaaaa
            • A Big ReaderMonday, March 27, 2017 at 4:28 pm
              This is my FAVORITE series. READ IT and I have read each book a thousand million times. This series is finished, if you want to read without having to wait for the next book.
              • sugar642
                sugar642Thursday, February 2, 2017 at 7:48 am55 stars
                It's sooooooo good!!!!! This is a story full of adventure about aliens who look like us and live among us. I totally recommend this book if you're someone who's in love with action and fiction. +thers a series
                • spider2001
                  spider2001Thursday, July 14, 2016 at 8:30 amFeatured
                  "I am Number Four" is an action packed thrill ride that keeps you on the edge of you're seat at all times! I had watched the movie, so I decided that I wanted to read the book. And man, this is one of my favorite books I've ever read. It connects with the reader, and drags them into the world of Number Four and the Lorics. You begin to understand Four's situation, and why he's on Earth running from the Mogodorians. While he's on Earth, he starts to make new friends, such as Sarah and Sam. As John (Four) starts school, he comes in conflict with the school bully, Mark James. Mark gives John a hard time while he's at school, until he goes to far. John had it, so he told Mark to never cross him or his friends ever again. Near the end of the book, Mark, along with Sarah and Sam, discover John's ability. They decide to help him out, and they eventually meet number six, who helps them with their fight against the evil Mogodorians. After all, this book is amazing, and I couldn't put it down. It was absolutely Incredible in every way. I totally recommend this book to whoever's looking for a good friend.
                  • luckylilly1225Tuesday, June 28, 2016 at 6:15 pm
                    One of my favorite books and series ever
                    • Johnson338Tuesday, March 1, 2016 at 7:07 am
                      I am Number Four is an incredible book. The main character is number four, which is also known as John Smith. He was sent to Earth ten years ago because his planet was destroyed and came along with eight other individuals from their planet. Along his way, he met Sarah and Sam, which were the people who he trusted and were his friends. One of my favorite part throughout this book is during the fight against the Mogadorians. I couldn’t stop reading the events that was happening because it grabbed my attention. The part where I think it was exceedingly touching is when Henri died. Overall, I really enjoyed this book and will definitely suggest this book to readers who are interested in adventure stories.