Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10R5.742328
This award-winning contemporary classic is the survival story with which all others are compared—and a page-turning, heart-stopping adventure, recipient of the Newbery Honor.

LOST

Brian Robertson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair -- and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce -- brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.
Hardcover
Published on November 1, 1986 by MacMillan Publishing Company.
ISBN-10: 0025274031
ISBN-13: 9780025274037
419 Book Reviews
  • eviejobs764
    eviejobs764Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 3:54 pm55 stars
    This book is super awesome! Thirteen year old Brian Robeson survived a plane crash and found himself stranded in the wilderness. He does not have time the feel sad about "The secret" and he must use his wits to build a shelter, find food and water, make a fire, gather materials, and stay safe from animals to survive.
    • kittyluvscookie
      kittyluvscookieMonday, March 15, 2021 at 6:04 am55 stars
      Its all adventurous and inspiring for me. It shows perseverance too. I really would like to see a part two
      • lucky_jean
        lucky_jeanMonday, December 7, 2020 at 5:47 pm33 stars
        The charter's parents are divorced he saw her mother kissing another man.And now he is going to visit his fatherand tge plane crashes and he is now alone in an island.He would have to survive and return. Will he??
        • jkbear
          jkbearTuesday, November 10, 2020 at 2:09 pm55 stars
          this is a great book!!!!
          • SpoilerThursday, November 5, 2020 at 6:34 pm
            Brian survives and lives!!!
            • quarantined
              quarantinedWednesday, November 4, 2020 at 10:33 am55 stars
              I am in the middle of reading this book! Don't spoil it!
              • bookqueenpaige
                bookqueenpaigeWednesday, October 28, 2020 at 11:30 am55 stars
                I read this for school with my class, and honestly I will say this book is absolutely Wonderful!!!
                • gabbie1004
                  gabbie1004Monday, October 26, 2020 at 3:36 pm55 stars
                  I read this story for school already, and I am so amazed by the courage and how strong brian is. I love it.
                  • quarantined
                    quarantinedMonday, October 26, 2020 at 3:30 pm55 stars
                    I want to read this book sooo bad!
                    • dangman84
                      dangman84Sunday, October 25, 2020 at 10:53 am44 stars
                      Hatchet is about a 13 year old boy named Brian Robeson. He’s on his way to his dad’s when his plane crashes. He ends up in the Canadian forest with only the hatchet he got from his mom as a gift. Brian has to figure out a way to survive, or else he won’t make it. I found this book exciting and adventurous. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars because although it’s a great book, I don’t really like adventurous things or things that have to do with the wilderness. I’d recommend this book to middle schoolers or kids 12 and older.
                      • eviejobs764
                        eviejobs764Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 3:56 pm55 stars
                        I don't think this book is twelve and up. I think it is eight and up. I read it at age ten.