Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 309 pages
Published on September 1, 1998 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780439708180
1882 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mcgrath
    mcgrathTuesday, July 16, 2019 at 9:07 pm55 stars
    The incredible first book of a wonderful series! JK Rowlings is a creative genius; responsible for motivating hundreds of thousands if not millions of students to want to read. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has not previously read it!
    • hermione36
      hermione36Sunday, July 14, 2019 at 7:03 am
      I choose to read it because the films looked so good so I thought the book would be better
      • KrishSaturday, July 6, 2019 at 3:27 am
        The herry potter moive is lovely .
        • dogobookspanda
          dogobookspandaTuesday, July 2, 2019 at 4:33 pm55 stars
          There is going to be a new harry potter book\s
          • lotte_parker667
            lotte_parker667Monday, July 1, 2019 at 4:53 pm55 stars
            I love harry potter!! The book that started it all...
            • SamanthaSunday, June 30, 2019 at 10:34 am
              This book and move is just amazing love harry potter
              • toastcat
                toastcatSaturday, June 29, 2019 at 9:41 pm55 stars
                Years ago my friend was reading Harry Potter, I started reading it too and now i'm a huge potterhead. I just can't stop reading it :)
                • kiapaint
                  kiapaintThursday, June 27, 2019 at 3:24 pm55 stars
                  Harry Potter and the sorcerers stone was GREAT I liked the part where harry caught the snitch. when I was at the middle of the book I read to the super scary part even though it was just a book it was scary I told my mom and she said if its just a book and its scary that means the book is good . I love harry potter books!
                  • sillylily
                    sillylilyMonday, June 24, 2019 at 6:50 am55 stars
                    I have always loved the movies, so I decided to try and read the books finally! I really loved this book. It was very action-packed and watching Harry and his friends try and solve the mystery of the sorcerer's stone was fun! I recommend this book to anyone who likes magic and mysteries.
                    • noahmrich
                      noahmrichSunday, June 23, 2019 at 7:06 pm11 star
                      This is a book about a boy named Harry Potter who learns he is a wizard. I did not like this book because I was reading The Hobbit at the time and I hated Harry Potter.