Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 309 pages
Published on September 1, 1998 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780439708180
2091 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • KittycatTuesday, September 22, 2020 at 1:51 pm
    this book is so amazing it takes a while to read but i love it
    • shantzj
      shantzjThursday, September 17, 2020 at 7:33 pm55 stars
      Harry had lived with The Dursleys for as long as he could remember. They haven't ever treated him fairly in comparison to his cousin Dudley. Then he had found out that he was a wizard and that the Dursley's had been keeping it from him. Now he attended Hogwarts, the school of witchcraft and Wizardry. But deep under the school there was a stone that would make you immortal, and you know who was after it. Now Harry was prepare ( after a lot of snooping ) to stop him.
      • lovebird06
        lovebird06Thursday, September 17, 2020 at 10:57 am55 stars
        I NEVER HADE NOT READ THE BOOK BUT I HADE WACHED THE MOVIE
        • indigotheiris
          indigotheirisWednesday, September 16, 2020 at 10:45 am55 stars
          BEST BOOK EVER
          • joshWednesday, September 16, 2020 at 9:13 am
            it was great i loved it
            • beaners18
              beaners18Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:12 am55 stars
              This book was awesome it is about a boy named Harry who discovers he is a wizard he go's on so many adventures. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy and magic.
              • instagram24
                instagram24Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 12:37 pm55 stars
                so good and funny love the weasly twins ( super funny even funnier in the order of the phinex
                • instagram24
                  instagram24Wednesday, September 9, 2020 at 8:43 am55 stars
                  i love this book so much!!!
                  • amers
                    amersWednesday, September 2, 2020 at 11:24 am55 stars
                    This book is GREAT!!!!👍👍 😂 It's about Harry Potter , he finds out that he is a wizard, by Hagrid the Hogwarts gamekeeper. On the Hogwarts express he meets his two people, Hermione granger and Ron Weasly. Hermione is very smart and is ALWAYS correcting them both. Ron is sometimes smart, but not as much as Hermione. 😂 They get to Hogwarts castle and then it starts happening, well in the middle but I'm just "fast forwarding" .😂😂😂 So basically a three headed dog, fluffy, is guarding the stone,. Hermione has to play flute to keep fluffy asleep and then the three friends and up with the stone. And ya follow me if u LOVE Harry potter!!!! BTW, my fav quote from Hermione granger is: No no no! You're going to poke someone's eye out! Besides, you're saying it wrong: it's levOsia not levoisar! 😂😂 If you're wondering when I read this I was eight and I'm now eleven and I'm on the sixth book! Woo hoo!😋😋
                    • Jade Monday, August 31, 2020 at 2:24 pm
                      I love this book because it's so important that my baby sister loves it 👼