Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the Harry Potter Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Paperback, 309 pages
Published on September 1, 1998 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 0439708184
ISBN-13: 9780439708180
2196 Book Reviews
  • pro_gold
    pro_goldWednesday, April 14, 2021 at 6:38 am55 stars
    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME! I'VE READ ALL THE HARRY POTTER BOOKS AND THIS ONE IS MY SECOND FAVORITE ONE.
    • zuzu_kitty
      zuzu_kittyWednesday, April 14, 2021 at 5:19 am55 stars
      i love this book and the author you should read it
      • tay912
        tay912Tuesday, April 13, 2021 at 6:19 am55 stars
        This is a great book! Definitely read the series before watching the movies. J.K. Rowling is a great author and her choice of words will bring you to Hogwarts in your mind. I know a person who only read a few pages in the fist chapter and decided it was awful. That was a big mistake. The first chapter might seem boring, but the rest of the book is amazing. Also, don't skip the first chapter because it is crucial to understanding the rest of the book. I give this book a 5 star rating and I think everyone should read it!
        • eagle_fan555
          eagle_fan555Monday, April 12, 2021 at 2:52 pm55 stars
          This was a awesome book I guarantee that people read it and grown ups should also read it it's a amazing book plz give me editors pick. and Editor could you follow my account eagle_fan11 and eagle_fan555 thanks you!!
          • rockwell79
            rockwell79Monday, April 12, 2021 at 11:11 am55 stars
            This book is a awesome book. It is a classic I would suggest it to people that like magic mystery, and if you don't like a little love and I mean a little love ( in all books except book 1, 2, and 3 ). In truth it is an amazing book.!!!!!!!
            • foodfight
              foodfightMonday, April 12, 2021 at 6:53 am55 stars
              I have Harry Potter 1,2,4,5,6 and that is it. the series is GREAT!!
              • ami18
                ami18Sunday, April 11, 2021 at 10:41 pm55 stars
                Harry potter books are a hit! I luv all characters especially lord voldemort!
                • bunnyrabbit_ivy
                  bunnyrabbit_ivySaturday, April 3, 2021 at 2:27 pm55 stars
                  I absolutely love the Harry Potter Series! If you like mystery, fantasy, and just a tiny bit of scaryness, then I would DEFINITELY recommend those books! When baby Harry is born, his parents get killed by Voldemort, known as You-Know-Who. His mother died saving him, but Harry got a scar the shape of lightning. He lives with his aunt and uncle and cousin, Dudley. After about ten years with his horrible family and getting bullied by Dudley, a Giant named Hagrid sends him a bunch of letters. When his aunt and uncle doesn’t let Harry see it, Hagrid storms into the house and tells Harry that he is a wizard. Harry’s aunt and uncle told him that his parents died in a car crash. After Hagrid says that his parents were killed by Voldemort, Harry realizes that they lied. Later, Hagrid brings Harry to a school for witches and wizards. Harry makes friends with a boy named Ronald Weasley and a girl named Hermione Granger. They figure out a secret and goes on many adventures! I’m not going to say any more because I don’t want to spoil the story of the book to you. Again, I highly recommend the Harry Potter series! You should like it! In fact, many people do!!! :) P.s. You may follow me by just clicking my avatar and pressing the button, “Follow”.
                  • bunnyrabbit_ivy
                    bunnyrabbit_ivySaturday, April 10, 2021 at 1:08 pm55 stars
                    You should also watch the Harry Potter movies! They are just as good as the book!
                  • elmc20116
                    elmc20116Thursday, April 1, 2021 at 6:55 am11 star
                    This book is boring! Only the SAME things go on again, and again, and again! OMG!! This is sooo, boring! I don't like it, bot because of its SUPERscary parts (which is one of the reasons), but because of its SUPERboringness! I want to give it zero stars!!
                    • tay912
                      tay912Tuesday, April 13, 2021 at 6:06 am55 stars
                      Come on! It is not that bad!
                      • foodfight
                        foodfightMonday, April 12, 2021 at 6:54 am55 stars
                        I have to disagree and check out my other comment to see why!
                        • bunnyrabbit_ivy
                          bunnyrabbit_ivySaturday, April 3, 2021 at 2:13 pm55 stars
                          Come on, it’s not bad. I LOVE Harry Potter books. They are so good! At first, before I read it, I thought it was a little boring too. But after I was old enough (one year later) I read the first book and I liked it! Maybe later you can read the whole book all over again. Maybe you will like it. Who knows?
                        • hana1389
                          hana1389Friday, March 26, 2021 at 3:21 am
                          I reallyyyyyyy like harry potter and I decided to read it because I loved the movie so I decided to Read the book, too.