Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8V5.577508
This special edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has a gorgeous new cover illustration by Kazu Kibuishi. Inside is the full text of the original novel, with decorations by Mary GrandPré.

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility.

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley — a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry — and anyone who reads about him — will find unforgettable.

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him… if Harry can survive the encounter.

Hardcover, 309 pages
Published on November 1, 2003 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0439554934
ISBN-13: 9780439554930
1905 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • elle_0724
    elle_0724Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 6:28 am55 stars
    This is the best series I've ever read! The first book is amazing because it tells you about how Harry Potter becomes a wizard, and his first year at Hogwarts. It sets up the story line for the other six books and it is amazing. J.K. Rowling was very smart with her writing and I really love all the detail she put into it. That is why I love Harry potter and the Sorcerers Stone.
    • NightcoreWednesday, October 16, 2019 at 2:04 pm
      ive read almost all book except 7 and 8. there all amazing. i wish i could write a book as good as this....
      • anoppsksksksks
        anoppsksksksksTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 11:41 am55 stars
        I love this series you need to read it .It is amazing!!!!
        • Savagespy1225Monday, October 14, 2019 at 6:58 am
          this book is amazing because when I first read it I felt like I was flying and thinking about the book
          • starkk_22
            starkk_22Friday, October 4, 2019 at 8:22 am44 stars
            This is my favorite out of all the Harry Potter books. It's a great introductory to a wonderful series of books. I recommend the Harry Potter books to anyone.
            • isa90
              isa90Wednesday, October 2, 2019 at 6:47 am55 stars
              I loved harry potter it was so interesting if you like magic and wizardry should should definitely get this book there is a lot of pages but it is worth it
              • razmatazz
                razmatazzMonday, September 30, 2019 at 8:55 pm55 stars
                Was expecting something totally different! I read all the books within 3 weeks and am still amazed how the magical world of Harry Potter was so life like.
                • tobster
                  tobsterWednesday, September 25, 2019 at 3:32 pm55 stars
                  I love these books
                  • jini0710
                    jini0710Friday, September 20, 2019 at 4:52 pm55 stars
                    This is so good. I finished the series!!
                    • chupacabra
                      chupacabraFriday, September 20, 2019 at 6:13 am55 stars
                      Well i have red all main stream harry potter books and this has always been the best one beacuse well it has the most action and everyone gets a moment to shine!