Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10U6.056876
Meet Ginger Pye, the smartest dog you'll ever know. Jerry Pye and his sister, Rachel, feel pretty smart themselves for buying Ginger. It was the best dollar they ever spent. Ginger steals everybody's heart . . . until someone steals him!
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on April 4, 2017 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544927818
ISBN-13: 9780544927810
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • random personThursday, March 19, 2020 at 11:32 am
    I started it and I can put it down
    • nt1234567890
      nt1234567890Thursday, February 28, 2019 at 7:27 pm55 stars
      the book is great. when I saw the book I was like whatever but when I started to ead it i felt heartwarmed
      • meSunday, April 8, 2018 at 2:15 pm
        This book isn't the best. Some parts are really interesting, but on the whole, meh.
        • hexorevekodody
          hexorevekododyFriday, December 1, 2017 at 2:02 pm
          The main lesson that is learned in Ginger Pye is never take things to seriously. For example, Ginger saw Jerry walk out the door and wondered, where does he go everyday? Ginger strolls out the door and follows him. Taking things too seriously puts you in the wrong hat. Don't worry, like when Jerry and Rachel didn't worry when they almost didn't get to Speedy's barn on time. The character that learn not to take things to seriously is Jerry for Ginger showing up at school one day.Although, he is small he is mighty and all the Pyes would agree that Ginger is an adventuress puppy. I'd like to report this book as an "8 out of 10." I would recommend this book to people who love animals and mysterious books. An unanswered question I would really like to ask the author is,"Who's hat flew into the reservoir and would this affect the Pye family bringing Ginger home or something to do with the mysterious foot stepper?
          • artpandaThursday, September 28, 2017 at 8:46 am
            love it
            • jeff and bobThursday, September 28, 2017 at 8:45 am
              it was a pretty good book but really boring
              • artpanda
                artpandaSunday, August 6, 2017 at 8:38 am
                Jerry and Rachel are brother and sister they have a mom Mrs. Pye who is the youngest mother in Cranberry and a dad Mr. Pye who is a great bird man. They all ready have a cat but they want another pet a dog. Jerry and Rachel ask their mom if they can get a dog and that there is one over by the barn that they can get for only one dollar she says it would be ok, but Jerry and Rachel have to make the dollar by themselves .and they have to get that dollar to the barn in two days by 6 o'clock or the dog would be sold to another person. but how did he get that dollar you should read the book .
                • merbear47
                  merbear47Wednesday, June 3, 2015 at 5:40 pm55 stars
                  Hey! I had brought this amazing book from a downtown bookshop, the back didn't really WOW me but as soon as I started it had clicked. The author uses great true details in her work. I loved Uncle Bennie in the book who was so realistic and cute! I was scared it would upset me because I am a dog lover, but instead it gave me chills for who the man in the yellow hat was who kept showing up. This book would kept you on the edge of your seat and was great!
                  • fourv
                    fourvTuesday, March 17, 2015 at 10:04 am55 starsFeatured
                    Hi! I read this book for my 4th grade guided reading group book. I felt this story pulled you in from the first word to the last. This story is very heart warming. I love the mystery and the characters in this book. My favorite character was Rachel Pye she is so interested in everything not does not give up i think everyone can learn something from her. I would tell you my favorite part but i don't want to give anything away for the people who have not read this. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes dogs and mystery even if you don't give it a try.
                    • fourv
                      fourvTuesday, March 17, 2015 at 9:50 am55 stars
                      I just finished this book, and it is interesting and is full of adventure. It is filled with love, and I would definitely recommend this mysterious, loving, adventurous story!