Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.131458
"...there is..." Mrs. Tracy was saying quietly, "there is something we need to know about Jessica..."

From this moment on, life is never quite the same for Tom and his seventh-grade classmates. They learn that Jessica has been in a fire and was badly burned, and will be attending St. Catherine's while getting medical treatments. Despite her horrifying appearance and the fear she evokes in him and most of the class, Tom slowly develops a tentative friendship with Jessica that changes his life.

Tony Abbott is the author of over 35 books for young readers, including the extremely popular The Secrets of Droon series. In Firegirl he has written a powerful book that will show readers that even the smallest of gestures can have a profound impact on someone's life.
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on June 6, 2006 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316011711
ISBN-13: 9780316011716
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fardosa123Tuesday, November 8, 2016 at 3:12 pm
    i read this book lots of times it was a little sad but good and cute
    • fardosa123
      fardosa123Tuesday, November 8, 2016 at 3:10 pm
      because i like that she has fire instead of water if you want to now why write something or add me
      • bluehorse3
        bluehorse3Sunday, March 20, 2016 at 3:04 pm
        This was a good, yet sad book. I would call it bitter-sweet. It's about judging people and making friends. That sounds sketchy, but the book is pretty good. I think I cried, though! :(
        • z2112
          z2112Wednesday, May 27, 2015 at 3:08 pm55 stars
          I read this book, too. I cried a lot, picturing Jessica in the fire made me really sad. If you read Stargirl or Love, Stargirl, you'll notice how similar the books are.
          • z2112
            z2112Wednesday, May 27, 2015 at 3:02 pm55 stars
            If you like a good book about how a burned girl makes a huge impression on a boy who has a normal until she comes, you'll like this book. It's also nice to have read Stargirl and Love, Stargirl because those books are kind of like these. At some times, you may cry, because it is a sad book. A summary of this book is Tom lives a normal life. One day, a girl who was burned in a terrible fire named Jessica shows up at his school. She is deformed, and nobody wants to be near her. Tom befriends her, but is afraid to show it at school. Then, Tom's best friend, Jeff starts being mean to Tom. Tom stops talking to Jeff, and Jeff gets mad. One day Jeff and his uncle drive by in Tom's favorite car, a Cobra. Tom instead visits Jessica. One day, Jessica moves away, and life returns to normal. Or does it??? Read it to find out! I really loved this book, and I think you will too!
            • eallen1
              eallen1Sunday, October 19, 2014 at 7:14 pm
              wish all the books were free
              • jmpanda14
                jmpanda14Monday, May 26, 2014 at 7:02 am
                This book is amazing!!! It is about a boy named Tom, he goes to a catholic school but his life gets turned upside down when a girl, Jessica, comes to his school. But she isn't just an ordinary girl, she had been badly burned in a fire. Tom and Jessica have a good friendship in this story. I recommend this book for people who want to read a sad but amazing story :)
                • 19049
                  19049Wednesday, January 29, 2014 at 11:09 am55 stars
                  its my fav book. its sad and weird a little.
                  • gasinskiz
                    gasinskizMonday, April 1, 2013 at 3:42 pm33 stars
                    Really good so far
                    • dejaluvsbacon
                      dejaluvsbaconFriday, December 7, 2012 at 1:25 pmFeatured
                      I finished a book called Firegirl by Tony Abbott, I read this book last year, but I wanted to read it this year so I can reach my goal of books. I think this book is SO SAD! It is about this boy named Tom and he goes to a Catholic school and SO excited for the weekend so he can so riding with his friend in a cool vintage car. But, his life changes the this girl named Jessica Freeny and is VERY badly burned, and she is going to this school while she get treatment for the burns. I really like this book like, it almost made me cry! It is on Friendship, he and Jessica become friends (sorta) when he goes to give her the homework she needs. i also thinks this story have a lesson ‘ Don’t judge a book by it’s cover’ and I think that is very important in this story, and cause people talk about her because she has bad burns and people are saying she is ugly and they won’t even touch her! They won’t even get to know her just because of all of that, I think that is really sad and mean that people would that that to someone,I mean, how you you feel is someone did that to you? Right not good. Anyway back on topic. I also like this book because it is very meaningful, after I read the book i thought about it it and tried to picture having a girl come to MY class that looks so badly burned, it really makes you think. Also, the book is a real page turner!Once I started , I could not stop! I think its is on the girly side because of the emotions you feel in the book but I think everyone can enjoy it. I would rate this a 4.5 because of the realisticness... is that a word?And I like the plot line too.