Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V5.341905
Publication Date: 2000

Winner of the Pura Belpré Medal for outstanding children's literature that celebrates the Latino/a cultural experience.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307258327
ISBN-13: 9780307258328
130 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • addy-kaylynn
    addy-kaylynnSunday, July 21, 2019 at 5:19 am55 stars
    I read this book with my mom and my friends. I was like this book is so good. I could not stop reading it. It pulled my heartstrings but it just kept getting better. No matter how good it was, every single chapter steps up 100 percent.
    • applemango
      applemangoFriday, June 28, 2019 at 5:21 pm55 stars
      Her father has suddenly been killed by bandits....on her birthday...and now her mother has to marry their uncle, Tio Luis which they all hate. She suddenly has to escape as a peasant, to america with her mom and others. Her grandmother has to stay behind because of her cuts when they woke up to a fire. She escapes and finds out that the boys have brought the roses in relation to her father. Esperanza has trouble with accepting the peasant life. Her friends and mom help her and the story ends with Esperanza meeting her grandmother again.
      • ccswishingstar
        ccswishingstarSunday, June 16, 2019 at 3:09 pm55 stars
        Esperanza Rizing is an amazing book! It is about a rich girl in Mexico named Esperanza that loses her father the day before her birthday. Esperanza, her mother and their servants leave Mexico and into the United States of America to work in the fields..
        • applebutter
          applebutterSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 3:51 pm33 stars
          this sounds like a really good book. I love historical fiction books. they always inspire me.
          • inmemoryofcpr
            inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 5:38 pm55 stars
            When Esperanza's father abruptly dies, all of her family's money disappears. Now she and her mother must go with her father's friends's families to work in a plantation, while she struggles to adapt to the hard work. I would recommend this for ages 9+ This book was really enjoyable and it was nicely lightly sprinkled with romance. I liked how the author displayed life on the plantations really well. because while I was reading this, a picture appeared in my mind. I would definitely recommend this.
            • MORIAH Shand Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 8:57 am
              I love this book and it inspired me to read ,and write about historical fiction.
              • 3164331663
                3164331663Friday, May 17, 2019 at 7:08 pm55 stars
                Love this book, the main character Esperanza, she was have a wealthy family, her Papa own a land. But a character named Tio Luis burn down the house where Esperanza lived in, so they(Esperanza and her mom,Mama) have to flee to America, and they are start all over, because Papa was dead and Tio Luis want Mama marry him. "Esperanza Rising"this book is awesome! I Love to read this book.
                • reader_red
                  reader_redFriday, May 17, 2019 at 6:22 am55 stars
                  After a horrible tragedy Esperanza and her mother have to flee north to the United States to work. After living most of her life as a rich girl in Mexico, Esperanza has trouble adjusting to the hard-working area she now lives. After her mother gets horribly sick, Esperanza is forced to work even harder.
                  • lavoiem
                    lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:52 pm11 star
                    Maybe it was because I was forced to read this book at school but personally I did not like it. I remember just wanting to read something with more adventure and something with a lot mor fantasy and magic. :(
                    • outgirl
                      outgirlMonday, May 6, 2019 at 1:01 pm55 stars
                      I loved this book it’s so interesting and a gripping story love it!!