Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V5.341905
Publication Date: 2000

Winner of the Pura Belpré Medal for outstanding children's literature that celebrates the Latino/a cultural experience.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307258327
ISBN-13: 9780307258328
136 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • LolFriday, December 20, 2019 at 6:41 pm
    We are reading this book at school
    • chocolate168
      chocolate168Monday, November 18, 2019 at 12:58 am55 stars
      This book is inspiring. I would recommend it to those who are in a situation that to them seems impossible.
      • chocolate168
        chocolate168Monday, November 18, 2019 at 12:55 am55 stars
        This book is amazing!!! I love it!!! 😍
        • chocolate168
          chocolate168Saturday, November 16, 2019 at 4:54 pm55 stars
          An amazing and emotional book. The story shows how Esperanza grows and matures to become a strong & wonderful person.
          • casrui1
            casrui1Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 7:57 pm55 stars
            An emotional story when a girl named Esperanza life is taking turns into a dark place when she is very young. Very great book also teaches you a lesson why you should be grateful for the things you have in your life.
            • acalzoa
              acalzoaMonday, October 14, 2019 at 3:38 pm55 stars
              This book was pretty good. I like how it hard for Esperanza to do it. When her mom got very sick for 5 months I though she wouldn't make it but she did. In my head I felt bad for Esperanza but she is a strong one
              • addy-kaylynn
                addy-kaylynnSunday, July 21, 2019 at 5:19 am55 stars
                I read this book with my mom and my friends. I was like this book is so good. I could not stop reading it. It pulled my heartstrings but it just kept getting better. No matter how good it was, every single chapter steps up 100 percent.
                • applemango
                  applemangoFriday, June 28, 2019 at 5:21 pm55 stars
                  Her father has suddenly been killed by bandits....on her birthday...and now her mother has to marry their uncle, Tio Luis which they all hate. She suddenly has to escape as a peasant, to america with her mom and others. Her grandmother has to stay behind because of her cuts when they woke up to a fire. She escapes and finds out that the boys have brought the roses in relation to her father. Esperanza has trouble with accepting the peasant life. Her friends and mom help her and the story ends with Esperanza meeting her grandmother again.
                  • ccswishingstar
                    ccswishingstarSunday, June 16, 2019 at 3:09 pm55 stars
                    Esperanza Rizing is an amazing book! It is about a rich girl in Mexico named Esperanza that loses her father the day before her birthday. Esperanza, her mother and their servants leave Mexico and into the United States of America to work in the fields..
                    • applebutter
                      applebutterSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 3:51 pm33 stars
                      this sounds like a really good book. I love historical fiction books. they always inspire me.