Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.3101564
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.
Hardcover, 391 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023491
ISBN-13: 9780439023498
740 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolTuesday, May 26, 2020 at 1:34 pm55 stars
    “On the seventy-fifth anniversary, as a reminder to the rebels that even the strongest among them cannot overcome the power of the Capitol, the male and female tributes will be reaped from their existing pool of victors.”- The Capitol and President Snow are angry at Katniss Everdeen for outsmarting them in their games. Their actions have caused uprisings, and when they fail to show Panem that they are actually in love with each other, President Snow decides to hold another Hunger Games with the drawing from the existing pool of victors as revenge. Katniss is going back into the arena again, and this time, the goal is to keep Peeta alive. This book was action-filled, and leaves you wondering what will happen next. This book made me want to read the next Hunger Games book, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys dystopian and utopian literature. I rate this book 5/5, and recommend it for grades 4th-12th.
    • rina123aaa
      rina123aaaThursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:34 am44 stars
      Nice! This book is a long one and is also a bit creepy. I recommend it because it shows revolution and uprisings and how they take part in shaping our world.
      • amarakitty415
        amarakitty415Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 1:59 pm55 stars
        This book adds a lot more action and love to the trilogy.
        • kailyn6b
          kailyn6bSunday, February 23, 2020 at 7:04 pm44 stars
          This book is about Katniss Everdeen . She and Peeta mellark thought they were free for life from the hunger games. But for the Quell they will have all old victors go against each other. At the end of the games District 13 comes to the rescue and saves Katniss and a few others. But Peeta is captured leaving Katniss in a feeling of remorse.But she still is their Mockingjay wether or not she likes it.
          • Bethany HarrisMonday, February 10, 2020 at 1:45 pm
            The book has a much more better emotion connection compared to the book's movie.
            • Colton SmithMonday, February 10, 2020 at 1:39 pm
              The book has a movie as well, but the book felt more emotionally tied to me compared to the movie.
              • FBplayer-47Monday, February 10, 2020 at 1:33 pm
                The book was definitely better than the book, thanks to Suzanne Collins.
                • jango
                  jangoFriday, January 31, 2020 at 5:39 am55 stars
                  life is... better. now that Katniss has got back from the hunger games she live in a grand mansion with her family and friends, but when the creepy president pays her a visit warning her that he could kill everyone she loves, Katniss knows her worries aren't over, and she's correct. soon she is called back into the hunger games and this time she might not be able to save Peeta and herself.
                  • starkk_22
                    starkk_22Friday, January 10, 2020 at 11:57 am55 stars
                    When the quarter quell of the Hunger Games comes around all past victors are called to go back to the arena. Katniss is already gave the Capitol a bad reputation. Her and Peeta must survive yet another Hunger Games. When I read this book I wasn't sure how good it was going to be. But Suzanne Collins did not fail me. This book was so good I can't explain how much I loved it.
                    • hellopeople666
                      hellopeople666Friday, October 11, 2019 at 11:57 am
                      This book is really good. The first book was good but I like this book a lot better. I still like the first book too! Greatest series ever!