Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.3101564
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.
Hardcover, 391 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023491
ISBN-13: 9780439023498
737 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kailyn6b
    kailyn6bSunday, February 23, 2020 at 7:04 pm44 stars
    This book is about Katniss Everdeen . She and Peeta mellark thought they were free for life from the hunger games. But for the Quell they will have all old victors go against each other. At the end of the games District 13 comes to the rescue and saves Katniss and a few others. But Peeta is captured leaving Katniss in a feeling of remorse.But she still is their Mockingjay wether or not she likes it.
    • Bethany HarrisMonday, February 10, 2020 at 1:45 pm
      The book has a much more better emotion connection compared to the book's movie.
      • Colton SmithMonday, February 10, 2020 at 1:39 pm
        The book has a movie as well, but the book felt more emotionally tied to me compared to the movie.
        • FBplayer-47Monday, February 10, 2020 at 1:33 pm
          The book was definitely better than the book, thanks to Suzanne Collins.
          • jango
            jangoFriday, January 31, 2020 at 5:39 am55 stars
            life is... better. now that Katniss has got back from the hunger games she live in a grand mansion with her family and friends, but when the creepy president pays her a visit warning her that he could kill everyone she loves, Katniss knows her worries aren't over, and she's correct. soon she is called back into the hunger games and this time she might not be able to save Peeta and herself.
            • starkk_22
              starkk_22Friday, January 10, 2020 at 11:57 am55 stars
              When the quarter quell of the Hunger Games comes around all past victors are called to go back to the arena. Katniss is already gave the Capitol a bad reputation. Her and Peeta must survive yet another Hunger Games. When I read this book I wasn't sure how good it was going to be. But Suzanne Collins did not fail me. This book was so good I can't explain how much I loved it.
              • hellopeople666
                hellopeople666Friday, October 11, 2019 at 11:57 am
                This book is really good. The first book was good but I like this book a lot better. I still like the first book too! Greatest series ever!
                • shannoncole
                  shannoncoleTuesday, September 17, 2019 at 10:40 am55 stars
                  This book is a really good read. Quick and steady pace allows for easy follow of the story. Much better than the movie. Though the movie luckily stayed fairly true to the storyline while being adaptive where necessary thanks to Suzanne Collins working on the screen play. Recommend the whole series.
                  • soccerchick03
                    soccerchick03Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at 5:17 am55 stars
                    This book is the second book in the hunger games series. If you read the first hunger games book you need to read this to. This book has a movie and is as exciting, if not more exciting, than the first. With many plot twists that will leave you hanging.
                    • ilikebunnies
                      ilikebunniesThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:17 am
                      katness is put in the arina again and is the girl on fire. the arina is a circle and she has teamed up and they find a way to escape but not everyone makes it.