Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.3101564
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.
Hardcover, 391 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439023491
ISBN-13: 9780439023498
754 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • violingirl82
    violingirl82Tuesday, October 20, 2020 at 1:39 pm55 stars
    I am about one fifth the way through this fantastic novel. As far as i can tell, i eould probably only read for ages 11+
    • kkgautamm
      kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 2:31 pm55 stars
      this was by far my favorite hunger games book. it's perfect, and we really get to see the characters develop. its not fair that president snow is so evil and reaped the tributes from the previous years' victors. i fell in love with finnick,(esp considering annie and his love for mags) but the ending absolutely broke my heart.
      • hockey_kid77
        hockey_kid77Tuesday, August 11, 2020 at 5:38 am55 stars
        After arriving safely home from their unprecedented victory in the 74th Annual Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark discover that they must do a quick turnaround and begin a Victors Tour. As she and Peeta travel throughout the districts, Katniss thinks a rebellion is happening. However, President Snow proves that he is still very much in control when word comes of a cruel change in the rules for the upcoming 75th Hunger Games, or as you call it, the 3rd Quarter Quell which is every 25 years..
        • jojo424
          jojo424Sunday, August 9, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 stars
          This is an amazing book! You should definitely read all of them. Two have won the games. To the Capitol, it was an act of love. To the districts, it was an act of rebellion. To Katniss, it was confusing--was it love? rebellion? To Peeta it was the luck of love. As the Star-Crossed Lovers from District 12 go on their Victory Tour, it ends up being a disaster. As they return home, Gale and Katniss break their relationship with occasional mentions of Peeta. As they return home, a new Peacekeeper has come and changes 12 forever. And all Katniss can think about is the coming of the Hunger Games. How it will be a Quarter Quell (the recipe for horror). And how she and Peeta will be Mentors. And the relationship between them compared to Gale. And confusion. That would be a word to explain it all. But as they continue on in life, they find out all Peeta and Katniss have been doing was adding to the flame of rebellion But as they here what the 75th Hunger Games will be like, they find out that for this Quarter Quell, "as a reminder to the victors that even the strongest can not overcome the capitol, this year we will be pulling our Tributes from the existing pool of Victors." KATNISS IS GOING BACK INTO THE ARENA! (also we all know who's going to be the boy tribute...) It seems so perfect! For all the rebellion that is going on! A lot of things happen. Deaths of those we (as in the readers) love! Choosing Allies for the games! (The strategy for this game is to be like Career tributes.) An act of rebellion happens multiple times throughout the events before the Games, and it's clearly getting out of control. As they fight again for survival, Katniss's plan this time is to keep Peeta alive. But for this game... will anyone even survive? We all know the Capitol (President Snow especially!) want revenge. So maybe this game wasn't even supposed to have a champion of champions! Or maybe something else will happen... who knows? You read Catching Fire right now. Because along with the name, the rebellion is catching fire and adding to the flame!
          • JessieThursday, July 16, 2020 at 11:38 pm
            Omg these books are amazing i am obssed with all these book i know evry thing about them rip rue and cinna
            • glitterclaws
              glitterclawsTuesday, June 30, 2020 at 5:23 pm55 stars
              She won the hunger games, even brought Peeta with her, she thinks her troubles are over but truly the wars just started. Amazing book just as good as the first one!
              • happypig2020
                happypig2020Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 3:41 pm
                This book was the second book after The Hunger Games. It is a little shocking and frustrating but I guess that's what keeps you reading.
                • rose76
                  rose76Friday, June 26, 2020 at 3:59 pm55 stars
                  This book is one of my favorite books. I loved it.😍
                  • ellasin
                    ellasinThursday, June 25, 2020 at 11:55 am55 stars
                    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love the series of the hunger games, everyone should also consider watching the movies!!! They are also awesome!!!!!
                    • girlpower4ever
                      girlpower4everTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 8:05 am55 starsFeatured
                      In the brilliant second installment of Suzanne Collins' "The Hunger Games" trilogy, Katniss Everdeen, Peeta Mellark, and Gale Hawthorn are back with a spellbinding story to tell. Katniss senses that her end may be close. Stolen kisses, ventures in the forbidden woods, and those berries she held out in her 74th Hunger Games give President Snow every reason to execute her and her family. But ever since she saved her entire family at 11 years old by hunting in the woods, Katniss has proven herself to be a survivor. As her traumatic experiences increase and Katniss is barely holding on, readers will be fascinated by this dystopian novel featuring Katniss' groundbreaking feats.