Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V4.529815
Winner of the 2001 Newbery Honor Medal!

It was within the pages of Richard Peck's Newbery Honor-winning A Long Way from Chicago that Mary Alice and Grandma Dowdel first made their captivating debut. Now they're back for more astonishing, laugh-out-loud adventures when fifteen-year-old Mary Alice moves in with her spicy grandmother for the year. Expect moonlit schemes, romances both foiled and founded, and a whole parade of fools made to suffer in unusual (and always hilarious) ways.

Wise, exuberant, and slyly heartwarming, Mary Alice's story is a fully satisfying companion to the celebrated A Long Way from Chicago, which, in addition to receiving the Newbery Honor, was a National Book Award finalist, an ALA Notable Book, and an ALA Best Book for Young Adults.

Hardcover
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307258033
ISBN-13: 9780307258038
7 Book Reviews
  • mireeka
    mireekaThursday, February 25, 2021 at 12:33 pm44 stars
    Mary Alice, age 15, feels very sorry for herself when she is put on a train by her parents (because they need to get a smaller house where there is no room for her) during the economic slump after "The Great War" (WW1), to live with her grandma (a woman known for being very active and having a gun) in a small town where everyone knows everything. I would recommend this book to age ten and up because it has some parts that are better for older kids (A painter tries to paint the post lady while she has no clothes on, and then a snake falls on her because the painter's studio is in the attic, and the post lady runs back to the post office screaming without her clothes on, and there is also a tiny bit of romance).
    • mireeka
      mireekaSaturday, February 6, 2021 at 12:42 pm44 stars
      Mary Alice, age 15, feels very sorry for herself when she is put on a train by her parents (because they need to get a smaller house where there is no room for her) during the economic slump after "The Great War" (WW1), to live with her grandma (a woman known for being very active and having a gun) in a small town where everyone knows everything. I would recommend this book to age ten and up because it has some parts that are better for older kids (A painter tries to paint the post lady while she has not clothes on, and then a snake falls on her because the painter's studio is in the attic, and the post lady runs back to the post office screaming without her clothes on, and there is also a tiny bit of romance).
      • nac
        nacFriday, March 22, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
        I have read the first and second book and they are hilarious. The grandma is crazy, funny, and smart. Definitely worthy of the Newbery Honor Medal.
        • auntieb
          auntiebThursday, March 21, 2019 at 6:12 pm44 stars
          This sequel to A Long Way to Chicago was very pleasant! I absolutely loved reading about Grandma Dowdel and Mary Alice. So, the story of this book is that Mary Alice has to go live with her Grandma Dowdel who lives in the country for a year. Mary Alice is often surprised (to say the least!!) about Grandma Dowdel. Grandma Dowdel hunts foxes, drives tractors into pecan trees and much more! Join Grandma Dowdel and Mary Alice and you'll have a couple of laughs for sure!
          • lilypad162017Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 3:52 pm
            I love it
            • langston_p
              langston_pThursday, February 25, 2016 at 1:39 am44 stars
              I thought this book was an amazing book, and theres a good reason that it has the Newbery Honor Medal. It's about a girl who has to move from Chicago to her grandma's house in the countryside. By herself. Her grandma is also known for causing trouble, and for being very strict and having a short temper. And when she arrives there, a whole new adventure waits for her. She discovers that her grandma isn't as bad as the other people say and her life completely changes. It was a great book and I really enjoyed it. I finished it really quick and I want to read the other book.
              • bubbles821
                bubbles821Thursday, December 15, 2011 at 5:40 pm
                It's a great book and if you read it and like there's another book called Long Way From Chicago that's the first book