Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.589334
Wendy Mass turns to another magical birthday: 13!

When Tara, a self-proclaimed shrinking violet, steals the school mascot, a goat, in order to make some friends with the popular crowd and gets caught, she gets herself in a heap of trouble. In addition, her parents decide that instead of taking her on their summer trip to Madagascar to study the courtship rituals of the Bamboo Lemur, she must go stay with her aunt, uncle, and bratty cousin Emily St. Claire in Willow Falls. Tara thinks it's a good time to start over; she'll be turning 13 after all, so she might as well make the best of it and perhaps even attempt to break out of her shell (in a non-criminal manner). What Tara doesn't know is that this charmed town has something big in store for her on her 13th birthday. It's not a typical birthday. But then again, nothing is Willow Falls is exactly typical!
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 1, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545310032
ISBN-13: 9780545310031
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sylvie55555
    sylvie55555Saturday, August 10, 2019 at 12:59 pm55 stars
    This is the 3rd book in the Willow Falls series written by Wendy Mass. In this book Tara is forced to visit her mom's home town, Willow Falls, due to an incident involving a stolen goat, a can of pepper spray, and the principal. At first Tara's bummed. But after arriving at Willow Falls Tara is starting to feel a little bit better. For the first time, she's making new friends, she and her cousin are finally getting along, she might meet Jake Harrison ( a teenage movie idol) and she's even directing a play! But when Tara learns the real reason she came to Willow Falls she's not so happy anymore. What will happen? Read the book to find out!
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 11:31 am44 stars
      This book was also really good but some parts were confusing. The nice part is that in the end everything eventually fits in. It was a really good book and you should read the entire series.
      • stego_saurus132Saturday, December 8, 2018 at 3:23 pm
        it is such a wonder full book to read
        • hpw_24
          hpw_24Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 8:05 am
          I am reading thirteen gifts right now.... it is such a good book. I got it for christmas and i reccomend it to everyone.
          • bananagirl2002
            bananagirl2002Thursday, December 28, 2017 at 11:10 am44 stars
            Great book! Wendy Mass did it again :0
            • catslovewaffles
              catslovewafflesWednesday, December 6, 2017 at 11:45 am44 stars
              This book is really good so far. I'm only about a few chapters into it but it's great. The book is about a girl named Tara who gets punished for stealing a stuffed goat. Her parents decide that she will not be going to Madagascar with them. She will be staying with her aunt and uncle and cousin Emily.
              • tori3ghoul
                tori3ghoulSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 4:32 pm55 stars
                I had read Finally first and decided to read this one next. After getting suspended from school, Tara is forced to spend the summer with her aunt Bethany, uncle Roger, and cousin Emily in Willow Falls. My favorite part was when Emily and Tara explore Roger's collectibles room.
                • littlegirl800
                  littlegirl800Sunday, November 12, 2017 at 7:04 am33 stars
                  this is a good book. but i recommend reading the other willow falls books before you rad 13 gifts. because all of the characters tie back to 13 gifts.
                  • swenswen1
                    swenswen1Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 8:27 am
                    This book is amazing its 13 gifts by Wendy Mass it’s about this girl tara she gets suspended two weeks before summer for stealing a stuffed goat she thought was real so she has to go to her aunt bethany and and her uncle roger and cousin emily in willow falls the town her parents grew up in and she goes on this crazy adventure with her friends rory,leo,amanda and david to find these 11 items for this girl angelina D’angelo for 200$ in one month and then she finds all of the things but they were the wrong things but to keep the 200$ she has to put on a play but.. My favorite part is when they dress up as girl scouts just to get an item like that’s crazy and if you like suspenseful books or mystery books you will probably like this book and it’s also a series so i recommend reading the two book before it 11 birthdays and 12 presents.
                    • soccerlover1511
                      soccerlover1511Friday, September 16, 2016 at 1:00 pm55 stars
                      I have read the whole series in the process of reading this one i have faith in it