Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.359916
The New York Times Bestselling Mystery

There is trouble brewing in the Louisiana swamp -- Bowser can smell it. Bowser is a very handsome and only slightly slobbery dog, and he can smell lots of things. Like bacon. And rawhide chews! And the sweat on humans when they're lying.

Birdie Gaux, the girl Bowser lives with, also knows something is wrong. It's not just that her grammy's stuffed prize marlin has been stolen. It's the weird rumor that the marlin is linked to a missing treasure. It's the truck that seems to be following Birdie and the bad feeling on the back of her neck.

When Birdie and Bowser start digging into the mystery, not even Bowser's powerful sniffer can smell just how menacing the threat is. And when the danger comes straight for Birdie, Bowser knows it up to him to sic 'em.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on April 28, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545643317
ISBN-13: 9780545643313
48 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • KayleiFriday, April 26, 2019 at 10:52 am
    selaht1 i'm not done with the book don't spoil it :(
    • KayleiFriday, April 26, 2019 at 10:49 am
      i have this book and so far its really good
      • selaht1Wednesday, April 24, 2019 at 8:29 am
        I loved thes book so much if i do say so my self.
        • DogLoverMonday, January 7, 2019 at 4:09 pm
          I’m in 7th grade and I can say that it’s book is one of the best books I’ve ever read!!!! I’m soooo tired of all of the boring books. This was really exciting and adventurous!!! I would definitely recommend this book!!!
          • Mr krabsThursday, August 10, 2017 at 1:48 pm
            Good
            • Jb75775Saturday, April 22, 2017 at 3:15 pm
              I have this it is one of my favorites!!!!
              • blue135
                blue135Thursday, March 31, 2016 at 5:46 pm
                ive seen better
                • demosthenes
                  demosthenesThursday, March 31, 2016 at 5:30 pm55 stars
                  this book is one of the best I've read! thank you Dogobooks!!!! its about a dog who befriends an eleven year old girl, and they quickly become pals. but a crisis occurs as Birdie's, the girl, grandmothers prized merlin is stolen with a map hidden inside of it. as the plot thickens Bowser, the dog, knows it's up to him to save the day! Spencer Quinn cleverly writes from Bowser's point of view, and shows a way dogs might think and do in strange situations!
                  • dodly man\Wednesday, February 10, 2016 at 11:35 am
                    Awesome book love it
                    • omgpop90937
                      omgpop90937Tuesday, February 9, 2016 at 10:35 am
                      Awsome!!!