Wonderstruck (Schneider Family Book Award - Middle School Winner)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.426125
In this groundbreaking tour de force, Caldecott Medalist and bookmaking pioneer Brian Selznick sails into uncharted territory and takes readers on an awe-inspiring journey.

Ben and Rose secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known. Rose dreams of a mysterious actress whose life she chronicles in a scrapbook. When Ben discovers a puzzling clue in his mother's room and Rose reads an enticing headline in the newspaper, both children set out alone on desperate quests to find what they are missing.

Set fifty years apart, these two independent stories--Ben's told in words, Rose's in pictures--weave back and forth with mesmerizing symmetry. How they unfold and ultimately intertwine will surprise you, challenge you, and leave you breathless with wonder. Rich, complex, affecting, and beautiful--with over 460 pages of original artwork--Wonderstruckis a stunning achievement from a gifted artist and visionary.
Hardcover, 640 pages
Published on September 13, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545027896
ISBN-13: 9780545027892
146 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • 5blueeggs
    5blueeggsWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 12:05 pm55 stars
    This book was amazing! Along with the amazing illustrations, the story was intriguing as well. The illustrations were so good I had to show them to my art teacher.
    • lionlover1
      lionlover1Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 4:13 pm55 stars
      It is super good it's the best book ever you should toat's read it!!!
      • brain2145
        brain2145Monday, April 3, 2017 at 5:05 pm55 stars
        A fantastic book with a certain degree of charm to it. The words and pictures speak to each other beautifully in a way you can never understand until you read this book. Absolutely brilliant!
        • guy 575Sunday, March 12, 2017 at 6:31 pm
          # great book
          • dancequeen12
            dancequeen12Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 10:28 am
            I read this book becaus its mystery a boy finds clues to descover new things that he don't know about. And this girl joins him and both of them decover new things.
            • Splash brosSunday, December 18, 2016 at 3:37 pm
              I like the book because I like the pictures
              • bella898947
                bella898947Monday, August 22, 2016 at 5:10 pm44 stars
                i like wonder struck because it has a lot of adventure .i absolutely love this book because it has a lot of surprises, and you never now whats going to happen next. wonder struck is also a very sad book. on the spine of the book you will see a face and think that it won't be interesting.(this happened to me ,but my mom said it was interesting , so i opened it up started reading it and i got sucked right into the book). IT TURNS OUT IT IS A GREAT BOOK!!!!
                • siri
                  siriWednesday, March 16, 2016 at 2:18 pm
                  want to read; people keep on recommending it to me!! looks good
                  • fjenkins
                    fjenkinsWednesday, March 16, 2016 at 6:32 am
                    I just finished reading it yesterday and I was like "Wait its over ALREADY?!"
                    • JasmineTuesday, February 23, 2016 at 12:28 pm
                      This book is amazing

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      animal lover wrote:

                      I loved the puppy and I wish I h...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      gusto
                      gusto wrote:

                      This is a great story!
                      The Tapper Twins Go to War (With...

                      madimin05
                      madimin05 wrote:

                      Yes, I have read the book and th...
                      The Land of Stories: Worlds Collide

                      immaweirdo14

                      i wanted to read this book becau...
                      Tom the Turkey (Thanksgiving Boo...