Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.426125
In this groundbreaking tour de force, Caldecott Medalist and bookmaking pioneer Brian Selznick sails into uncharted territory and takes readers on an awe-inspiring journey.

Ben and Rose secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known. Rose dreams of a mysterious actress whose life she chronicles in a scrapbook. When Ben discovers a puzzling clue in his mother's room and Rose reads an enticing headline in the newspaper, both children set out alone on desperate quests to find what they are missing.

Set fifty years apart, these two independent stories--Ben's told in words, Rose's in pictures--weave back and forth with mesmerizing symmetry. How they unfold and ultimately intertwine will surprise you, challenge you, and leave you breathless with wonder. Rich, complex, affecting, and beautiful--with over 460 pages of original artwork--Wonderstruckis a stunning achievement from a gifted artist and visionary.
Hardcover, 640 pages
Published on September 13, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545027896
ISBN-13: 9780545027892
155 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • kittykatMonday, November 26, 2018 at 7:53 am
    i have to read this for battle of the books
    • paradxemidnxght
      paradxemidnxghtMonday, November 5, 2018 at 6:06 pm55 stars
      I just finished this book 20 minutes ago & I like how the artist took their time drawing and sketching & I also like how they didn't give up on the drawing. What I think can improve about the book is that they could add more details to what's happening and more dialogue. But at the same time, the story is pretty good, I've got to say.
      • rainawave
        rainawaveWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 9:16 am55 stars
        I love this book! Brian Selsnick is such an amazing writer and he really captures the reader with his writing. When I read this book, I could picture the characters and feelings of his writing. A beautiful, touching and inspiring book!
        • paradxemidnxght
          paradxemidnxghtThursday, November 15, 2018 at 4:06 pm55 stars
          Hey @rainawave, thank you for inspiring me to read this book. I've already read Wonderstruck and The Invention Of Hugo Cabret. You're a great book recommender because your taste of books is helpful for me. Hoping to see more book recommendations! <3
        • bookstory13
          bookstory13Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at 4:37 pm55 stars
          I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. This is an amazing book about a boy named Ben in the more recent days. It is also about a girl named Rose who is deaf. Rose runs away to find her mother, who is a famous actor. Her mother treats her unkindly and locks her into a room. Rose escapes and runs away. I loved this book because it had words and it also had pictures. There's that suspense when you think WHAT DO ROSE AND BEN HAVE IN COMMON!?!?!??! Then you find out and you're like OH. I have checked this out from my public and school library 10 times and watched the movie too. If there is one book that leaves you struck with wonder, its Wonderstruck.
          • wolfiethewolf
            wolfiethewolfWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 7:48 am55 stars
            This is a really great book. It has some of the stories told in words and some of the story told in pictures. One of the character's story is told in words and another character's story in all told in pictures. Spoiler Alert: Two of the characters story will meet at the end of the book.
            • Steve2357Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 4:50 am
              Is this book so sad and is it okay for 5 th grades
              • bookworm_artist
                bookworm_artistThursday, January 18, 2018 at 8:48 pm
                Wonderstruck is a story divided in two: one in words and the other in pictures. This story follows the life of Ben and Rose: but they're set fifty years apart. Ben longs for a dad he never had and Rose wishes to follow in the steps of a famous actress whose life she scrapbooks. But they will soon find out a secret that even will surprise the readers. This story by Brian Selznick is a book you won't want to put down.
                • raven4life
                  raven4lifeThursday, November 30, 2017 at 4:51 pm55 stars
                  I love it!!!!
                  • 5blueeggs
                    5blueeggsWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 12:05 pm55 stars
                    This book was amazing! Along with the amazing illustrations, the story was intriguing as well. The illustrations were so good I had to show them to my art teacher.
                    • lionlover1
                      lionlover1Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 4:13 pm55 stars
                      It is super good it's the best book ever you should toat's read it!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Ash wrote:

                      Love this whole book series
                      Divergent (Divergent Series)

                      xxmystical_lady

                      this book is so good. j.k. rowl...
                      Who is J.K. Rowling?

                      littttqueen

                      ya it hasn't came out
                      The Terrible Two Go Wild

                      xxmystical_lady

                      the book is so good. it is mayb...
                      What Was the Great Depression?

                      Our Apps and Plugins