Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.426125
In this groundbreaking tour de force, Caldecott Medalist and bookmaking pioneer Brian Selznick sails into uncharted territory and takes readers on an awe-inspiring journey.

Ben and Rose secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known. Rose dreams of a mysterious actress whose life she chronicles in a scrapbook. When Ben discovers a puzzling clue in his mother's room and Rose reads an enticing headline in the newspaper, both children set out alone on desperate quests to find what they are missing.

Set fifty years apart, these two independent stories--Ben's told in words, Rose's in pictures--weave back and forth with mesmerizing symmetry. How they unfold and ultimately intertwine will surprise you, challenge you, and leave you breathless with wonder. Rich, complex, affecting, and beautiful--with over 460 pages of original artwork--Wonderstruckis a stunning achievement from a gifted artist and visionary.
Hardcover, 640 pages
Published on September 13, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545027896
ISBN-13: 9780545027892
151 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookstory13
    bookstory13Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at 4:37 pm55 stars
    I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. This is an amazing book about a boy named Ben in the more recent days. It is also about a girl named Rose who is deaf. Rose runs away to find her mother, who is a famous actor. Her mother treats her unkindly and locks her into a room. Rose escapes and runs away. I loved this book because it had words and it also had pictures. There's that suspense when you think WHAT DO ROSE AND BEN HAVE IN COMMON!?!?!??! Then you find out and you're like OH. I have checked this out from my public and school library 10 times and watched the movie too. If there is one book that leaves you struck with wonder, its Wonderstruck.
    • wolfiethewolf
      wolfiethewolfWednesday, May 2, 2018 at 7:48 am55 stars
      This is a really great book. It has some of the stories told in words and some of the story told in pictures. One of the character's story is told in words and another character's story in all told in pictures. Spoiler Alert: Two of the characters story will meet at the end of the book.
      • Steve2357Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 4:50 am
        Is this book so sad and is it okay for 5 th grades
        • bookworm_artist
          bookworm_artistThursday, January 18, 2018 at 8:48 pm
          Wonderstruck is a story divided in two: one in words and the other in pictures. This story follows the life of Ben and Rose: but they're set fifty years apart. Ben longs for a dad he never had and Rose wishes to follow in the steps of a famous actress whose life she scrapbooks. But they will soon find out a secret that even will surprise the readers. This story by Brian Selznick is a book you won't want to put down.
          • hailey1032
            hailey1032Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 4:51 pm55 stars
            I love it!!!!
            • 5blueeggs
              5blueeggsWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 12:05 pm55 stars
              This book was amazing! Along with the amazing illustrations, the story was intriguing as well. The illustrations were so good I had to show them to my art teacher.
              • lionlover1
                lionlover1Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 4:13 pm55 stars
                It is super good it's the best book ever you should toat's read it!!!
                • brain2145
                  brain2145Monday, April 3, 2017 at 5:05 pm55 stars
                  A fantastic book with a certain degree of charm to it. The words and pictures speak to each other beautifully in a way you can never understand until you read this book. Absolutely brilliant!
                  • guy 575Sunday, March 12, 2017 at 6:31 pm
                    # great book
                    • dancequeen12
                      dancequeen12Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 10:28 am
                      I read this book becaus its mystery a boy finds clues to descover new things that he don't know about. And this girl joins him and both of them decover new things.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      danika_reader10

                      so good did it for my book report
                      Ugly

                      danika_reader10

                      this is available at a cheap pri...
                      Wonder

                      danika_reader10

                      since we all like "Wonder" you s...
                      Wonder

                      Our Apps and Plugins