Wonderstruck (Schneider Family Book Award - Middle School Winner)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.426125
In this groundbreaking tour de force, Caldecott Medalist and bookmaking pioneer Brian Selznick sails into uncharted territory and takes readers on an awe-inspiring journey.

Ben and Rose secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known. Rose dreams of a mysterious actress whose life she chronicles in a scrapbook. When Ben discovers a puzzling clue in his mother's room and Rose reads an enticing headline in the newspaper, both children set out alone on desperate quests to find what they are missing.

Set fifty years apart, these two independent stories--Ben's told in words, Rose's in pictures--weave back and forth with mesmerizing symmetry. How they unfold and ultimately intertwine will surprise you, challenge you, and leave you breathless with wonder. Rich, complex, affecting, and beautiful--with over 460 pages of original artwork--Wonderstruckis a stunning achievement from a gifted artist and visionary.
Hardcover, 640 pages
Published on September 13, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545027896
ISBN-13: 9780545027892
149 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Steve2357Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 4:50 am
    Is this book so sad and is it okay for 5 th grades
    • bookworm_artist
      bookworm_artistThursday, January 18, 2018 at 8:48 pm
      Wonderstruck is a story divided in two: one in words and the other in pictures. This story follows the life of Ben and Rose: but they're set fifty years apart. Ben longs for a dad he never had and Rose wishes to follow in the steps of a famous actress whose life she scrapbooks. But they will soon find out a secret that even will surprise the readers. This story by Brian Selznick is a book you won't want to put down.
      • posidonkid
        posidonkidThursday, November 30, 2017 at 4:51 pm55 stars
        I love it!!!!
        • 5blueeggs
          5blueeggsWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 12:05 pm55 stars
          This book was amazing! Along with the amazing illustrations, the story was intriguing as well. The illustrations were so good I had to show them to my art teacher.
          • lionlover1
            lionlover1Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 4:13 pm55 stars
            It is super good it's the best book ever you should toat's read it!!!
            • brain2145
              brain2145Monday, April 3, 2017 at 5:05 pm55 stars
              A fantastic book with a certain degree of charm to it. The words and pictures speak to each other beautifully in a way you can never understand until you read this book. Absolutely brilliant!
              • guy 575Sunday, March 12, 2017 at 6:31 pm
                # great book
                • dancequeen12
                  dancequeen12Tuesday, January 3, 2017 at 10:28 am
                  I read this book becaus its mystery a boy finds clues to descover new things that he don't know about. And this girl joins him and both of them decover new things.
                  • Splash brosSunday, December 18, 2016 at 3:37 pm
                    I like the book because I like the pictures
                    • bella898947
                      bella898947Monday, August 22, 2016 at 5:10 pm44 stars
                      i like wonder struck because it has a lot of adventure .i absolutely love this book because it has a lot of surprises, and you never now whats going to happen next. wonder struck is also a very sad book. on the spine of the book you will see a face and think that it won't be interesting.(this happened to me ,but my mom said it was interesting , so i opened it up started reading it and i got sucked right into the book). IT TURNS OUT IT IS A GREAT BOOK!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      fun fact wrote:

                      WONDER tells the incredibly insp...
                      Wonder

                      horse4us wrote:

                      I am reading it right now and i ...
                      Restart

                      horse4us wrote:

                      its so good and i read it in one...
                      Real Friends

                      gracekae
                      gracekae wrote:

                      I have all the Lemony Snicket bo...
                      The Miserable Mill (A Series of ...