Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 14, 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375969020
ISBN-13: 9780375869020
3632 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • maireMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:27 pm
    This is a good book. I enjoy the things thay done.
    • lovebook
      lovebookMonday, May 20, 2019 at 2:10 pm55 stars
      I really liked this book it was not very boring and I connected with the characters very fast, it was like I knew August personally.
      • ilikebunnies
        ilikebunniesSunday, May 19, 2019 at 8:59 pm
        This is one of my favorite books. I think that it is important to know about these things in the book and it tells the struggles that people go through when they have something different about the way that they look. I also enjoyed that it talk about how you can make a difference
        • raindrop07
          raindrop07Sunday, May 19, 2019 at 12:47 pm55 stars
          When I first read this book a couple years ago, I was blown away! But, as I keep reading it over and over again, it just keeps getting better and better! Not many books do that for me, but not only does it never get old, but this book fills me with happiness as well as sadness every time I read it…! Wonder by R. J. Palacio is a book about a boy named August Pullman, or Auggie who has a facial deformity. He has been homeschooled all his life, but when 5th grade comes along, his parents decide he should try public school. Auggie is terrified, but soon, he finds his way in school. He even makes friends! As the school year goes on, Auggie experiences the pain of bullying and the joy of making friends! This book is so inspiring and I think everyone should read it because it is so impactful!
          • jihcooky
            jihcookySunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:54 am44 stars
            Wonder is a great book that teaches kids not to bully. It is about a boy named Auggie who has difficulty making friends at school due to his facial disorder.
            • lumos
              lumosSunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:02 am55 stars
              We've read the funny books, the sad books, the bittersweet books. Well, this book is all in one. 12 year old August "Auggie" Pullman has many face impairments, with lots of surgeries to fix them. He still looked "different" from other kids, making the kids treat him differently, and lots of times, rudely. Join Auggie as he fights his way through 5th grade, the first time he's enrolled in a school instead of homeschooled. There are perspective chapters, from the perspectives of Auggie, Via his sister, Summer his friend, Jack his friend, etc. Now comes with a Julian part - the bully. This book is a 6/5 for me, it's so amazing and heartfelt.
              • The ReviewerSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 1:43 pm
                This book is amazing and moving. It is about August Pullman a child with a facial deformity. He is bullied and finds it hard to make freinds. It is very educational for kids and helps us realise how even something small like staring can seriously offend someone. Its a great book for all ages exept I think 8plus would be interested in reading it.
                • corinnethepanda
                  corinnethepandaSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 1:08 pm55 stars
                  This book is incredibly sweet. It's about a boy who was born disfigured and how he has to learn how to deal with bullies and how he learns who his friends are and how much they can support him.
                  • kgbradshaw
                    kgbradshawSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 10:46 am55 starsFeatured
                    Wow, man, Just wow. This book deserves way more than 5 stars. It is really inspirational, and it definitely changed my viewpoint on life. From Auggie's perspective, it taught me to be grateful for that I have a life that I take for granted. From Via, I learned to pay attention to everyone. From Julian I learned to hear all sides of the story before forming my opinion. I love this book, and it made me feel so many things. I recommend it for 9-999 year olds. PRO TIP: Have some tissues ready.
                    • zzayumi
                      zzayumiFriday, May 17, 2019 at 3:40 pm55 stars
                      I LOVE this book! It teaches you that you can look different from others, but the way you look doesn't matter. It really does teach an important lesson.