Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on March 1, 2012 by Bodley Head
ISBN-10: 0370332288
ISBN-13: 9780370332284
3961 Book Reviews
  • creamyblueberry
    creamyblueberryTuesday, April 6, 2021 at 1:45 am55 stars
    This book is so inspiring and you should definitely read it! It shows you the true meaning of friendship and beauty!
    • creamyblueberry
      creamyblueberryTuesday, April 6, 2021 at 1:43 am55 stars
      Wonder is a great book. It's inspiring, interesting, and unputdownable! It's about a young boy named August Pullman (nickname: Auggie) who was born with a facial deformity. He was homeschooled until 5th Grade, and that's when he started going to Beecher Prep. Because of his syndrome, kids there stared and talked behind his back which was just plain mean! But in the end, with the help of two friends, August learnt that the true power comes in your soul, it doesn't matter on the outside. This book showed me the true meaning of friendship and beauty!
      • erin-hunter-fan
        erin-hunter-fanFriday, April 2, 2021 at 6:47 am55 stars
        This is an awesome book you should definitely read it if you haven't.
        • silverstag
          silverstagMonday, March 29, 2021 at 10:50 am55 stars
          One of the best books I have ever read (Harry Potter obviously has the first spot as you can see by my username) It has so many emotions poured onto pieces of paper. This is a great book for a long car ride or airplane trip (I do a lot of traveling) It is about 300 or so pages long. There s a really sad moment that makes me cry every time. It has so much drama, friendship, and everything you could ever ask for in a novel. Overall, a great read! (I have a signed copy!!!)
          • eviejobs764
            eviejobs764Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 3:12 pm55 stars
            This is a very good book!!!! It is about August (Auggie) Pullman who has a facial difference and gets made fun of at school. He makes friends like Jack Will and Summer. It teaches kids a lot of different lessons. Mainly to be kind. There are monthly precepts in the back of the book and it is from different characters perspectives which is interesting. I really love this book!
            • kittylover111
              kittylover111Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 7:39 am55 stars
              I liked this book, along with the blockbuster movie. Auggie's face is not like any other kid, so he feels different. This is a good book, and when you are done with the book, watch the movie!
              • eggz
                eggzWednesday, March 24, 2021 at 7:14 am55 stars
                ive bought this book i still think the movie is better but i loe the book soooooooo buch :)
                • alphawolf13
                  alphawolf13Tuesday, March 23, 2021 at 7:34 am55 stars
                  "When given the choice between being right and being kind, choose kind." This book is awesome. It is a P.O.V (Point of view) book. It is about a boy named August (Auggie) who is deformed. He has been home school all his life but is now going into a real school. Read all about how he survived middle school in the book WONDER. Enjoy reading!!!
                  • flxwer
                    flxwerSunday, March 21, 2021 at 4:12 pm55 stars
                    Wonder is such an inspiration story. If you don’t want spoilers, I suggest reading the book first, before moving on this review! Anyways, this story is about Auggie. (August) Auggie is a normal kid. However, he doesn’t look normal. Many other kids were scared and still are of Auggie. Trouble falls when Auggie goes to a school with so many kids, after being homeschooled by his mom for as long as he can remember. This story is about not judging a book by its cover, even if they might look different. With bullies, real friends, fake friends, drama, and so much more, this book will take you upon new heights, and you will explore adventures like you’ve never have before. Well, that’s all! I know this was kind of like a summary instead of a review but I’m very glad I read this book, and I hope you feel the same way too!
                    • iamrobot
                      iamrobotFriday, March 19, 2021 at 7:28 pm55 stars
                      Wonder is about a boy named August. He has a facial difference, so he does not look like other people. Also, he had to be homeschooled until fifth grade. At fifth grade, he was accepted to a school named Beecher Prep. Some characters, like Julian, dislike him. How will August make new friends? I learned how to respect people who are different from me.