Wonder

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.873053
"Wonder" is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. The thing is, Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, "Wonder" follows Auggie's journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, "Wonder" is a book you'll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on March 1, 2012 by Bodley Head
ISBN-10: 0370332288
ISBN-13: 9780370332284
2222 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • levi0sa
    levi0saThursday, June 22, 2017 at 1:19 pm55 stars
    I loved this book. I wish I knew August in real life he seems like such a nice kid. It is sometimes heart breaking to read this but it is so worth the read. I liked that you got to hear the story from different characters point of views.
    • lululee
      lululeeWednesday, June 21, 2017 at 10:06 pm55 stars
      good book. It is a great heart-warming book. It nearly made me cry since there are actually real people with the actual syndrome that the main character [August {auggie} Pullman] has. I am so happy to know that there is a movie coming out soon!
      • iceravenclaw
        iceravenclawTuesday, June 20, 2017 at 6:09 pm55 stars
        Wonder is the heartwarming story of a boy named Auggie who suffers from, "Treacher Collins Syndrome" and a cranial facial deformity. Auggie is starting school for the first time at Beacher Prep. Can he show them that he IS a true, "Wonder".
        • 3009215
          3009215Monday, June 19, 2017 at 2:54 pm55 stars
          August Pullman is a great kid. He is a wonder. But with a good, there is a bad. Auggie is "deformed," and it is not easy to have a normal life that way. The author of this story tells his fantastic story from different points of views, which helps give the reader some different perspective. This book is probably one of my favorites. I would recommend this book to everyone ages 9 and up. I think this tale is fantastic, and everyone who's anyone will love it!
          • apps_06
            apps_06Monday, June 19, 2017 at 1:13 pm
            This book is in my top ten of every single book i have ever read!
            • looneylovegood1
              looneylovegood1Monday, June 19, 2017 at 1:07 pm55 stars
              This is one of my all time favorites. This book is a really good book about middle school, facing bullies, Star Wars (kinda), etc. My favorite part of the book was the part when Auggie (August), the main character of the book, wins "Henry Ward Beecher Medal", which is given to students that have been notable at school. Overall, this book teaches you not to judge a book by its cover.
              • armcginn
                armcginnMonday, June 19, 2017 at 9:40 am55 stars
                This book is simply an amazing book! A great story with great characters (lots of precepts!) i am now a huge fan of wonder, even though this book is a kids book even my mom's book club read this book!
                • e06
                  e06Sunday, June 18, 2017 at 11:22 pm55 stars
                  I Think this book was AMAZING. I think I enjoyed it more because I can relate to some characters because I am in the same grade. It honestly, is true, the way some of us treat people differently because of there appearance. This book was about a boy named August (Auggie) Pullman, he has a few problems that he was born with like, hearing disorder caused by more problems. I hope you read this book before you watch the movie!
                  • armcginn
                    armcginnMonday, June 19, 2017 at 10:10 am55 stars
                    agreed!
                  • 1waffles
                    1wafflesSaturday, June 17, 2017 at 8:17 pm
                    We read this book in class it is totally amazing! it teaches how kindness can change the world little by little. like you can say " I love your shoes!" to someone and it can brighten their day. I would definitely recommend this book to someone looking for a good read. Also i would suggest reading it's companion Auggie and Me.
                    • armcginn
                      armcginnMonday, June 19, 2017 at 10:15 am55 stars
                      right on!
                    • propingpong
                      propingpongSaturday, June 17, 2017 at 1:35 pm55 stars
                      I read this book because it has a very interesting cover and a good summary. I think this book is very detailed and an emotional book. I would recommend this book because it teaches you to not bully the ones that are weaker than you. I would recommend this to my friends and anyone who is looking for a good read this summer. This book was very detailed with a strong moral within the story. This truly is a new classic everyone even adults should read. (P.S. You still have time to read the book before it comes out as a movie in November!!!)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Ndog8 wrote:

                      This was the first book I read b...
                      Ghosts

                      rainkit309
                      rainkit309 wrote:

                      I love this book. This about Cam...
                      Id Tell You I Love You but Then ...

                      pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7 wrote:

                      Great book this is one of my fav...
                      Guinness World Records 2014