Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on March 1, 2012 by Bodley Head
ISBN-10: 0370332288
ISBN-13: 9780370332284
3701 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girraffe10goofy
    girraffe10goofySunday, August 11, 2019 at 7:03 am55 stars
    Wonder is about a kid with deformations on his face and we see his first school year. In the end, it teaches you to be kind and not to bully
    • BeaSaturday, August 10, 2019 at 8:11 am
      I think it teachis a good leson
      • mermer
        mermerFriday, August 9, 2019 at 7:00 pm55 stars
        I would recommend this book. I think instead of judging people by how they look, we should judge people by what they do.
        • cupcakeq
          cupcakeqWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 9:54 pm55 stars
          I recommend this book. Reading it has made me wonder about how others feel when they think they're not normal. The main character in the book gets made fun many times, but that doesn't stop him from making friends Reading this book in school also changed the community because others are starting to be nice. This is an amazing book. Keep CALM and BE KIND! :D
          • sylvie55555
            sylvie55555Monday, July 15, 2019 at 6:29 am44 stars
            This is a wonderful book, read it to follow Auggie as he copes to deal with his birth defect when finally attending school for the first time. I love this book and highly recommend it.
            • skylar_slay_34
              skylar_slay_34Saturday, July 13, 2019 at 2:26 pm55 stars
              The book has a meaning to not judge what's in front of you but whats Important to you , i just love this book
              • rina123aaa
                rina123aaaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 10:44 am55 stars
                This book is great! I recommend it because it shows what some people have to go through. It shows that you should respect differences and treat everyone equally. It may be hard to make friends if you have a disability or something like that.
                • kgautam
                  kgautamThursday, July 11, 2019 at 9:38 am44 stars
                  very sweet book. i read this one after many many years and it reminded me of my younger days haha . i really liked how the friends were supportive of the main character.
                  • dolbit07
                    dolbit07Friday, July 5, 2019 at 12:25 pm55 stars
                    this book is about a boy how was born different and has been home schooled till middle school. entering middle school was a different experience for auggie pullman. But he made friends with jack and summer.
                    • isabellagamerab
                      isabellagamerabThursday, July 4, 2019 at 11:58 pm33 stars
                      I love this bokkkkkkk