Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.539253

This Newbery Medal winner that has a fantastic puzzle at its heart has been called “smart and mesmerizing,” (The New York Times), “superb” (The Wall Street Journal), and “incandescent” (The Washington Post).

When Miranda starts receiving mysterious notes, she doesn’t know what to do.

The notes tell her that she must write a letter, a true story, and that she can’t share her mission with anyone—not even her best friend, Sal.

It would be easy to ignore the strange messages, except that whoever is leaving them has an uncanny ability to predict the future. If that’s the case, then Miranda has an even bigger problem—because the notes tell her that someone is going to die, and she might be too late to stop it.

“Lovely and almost impossibly clever.” —The Philadelphia Inquirer

Winner of the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award for Fiction
A New York Times Bestseller and Notable Book

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on July 14, 2009 by Wendy Lamb Books
ISBN-10: 0385737424
ISBN-13: 9780385737425
154 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • applemango
    applemangoSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 12:06 pm55 stars
    This is a book about Miranda. Suddenly her best friend Sal gets punched by a boy named Marcus. Then they aren't friends anymore. Strange notes are arriving and Miranda trys to find who is sending them. Only, the crazy guy on the corner is going to save Sal's life because somehow, time travel is possible. Only the man's second goal to save his own life fails and he is dead. However, you know that he is a hero. Deep down there because he saved Sal from getting hit by that truck. Also the reason he keeps swinging his foot is he is always practicing to save Sal.
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 3:36 pm44 stars
      This book was nicely written but it was also sorta confusing because even after I finished the book I still didn't get what happened with Miranda's best friend. But other than that it was very good and I would recommend it.
      • Jacob SkibinskyWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 10:21 am
        I Love This Book
        • zzayumi
          zzayumiTuesday, May 21, 2019 at 5:00 pm55 stars
          This book is really good! It is about a girl named Miranda. This book is a really good book, and it is kind of sad...
          • hiMonday, April 1, 2019 at 5:05 pm
            I really liked this book. It is kinda sad and complicated in some parts, but super good. It is also touching, and very deep.I would recommend this book for kids ages 10+
            • orange sauceSaturday, March 16, 2019 at 6:45 pm
              heart warming but kinda sad when the man dies. I LOVED this book!
              • 123west
                123westFriday, December 15, 2017 at 5:20 pm55 stars
                When You Reach Me is about a girl named Melanie who reads this book about time traveling, which is the main theme of this story, but the book cover does not tell you. Most of this book is filled with Melanie and her friend's adventures at school and when there is no school. Melanie had recently lost a friend, Sal because when they were walking home from school, a kid she later finds out was a kid named Marcus Sal suddenly won't be friends with her. She makes new friends and the always walks past this man that sleeps under a mailbox and says these clue words. Since Melanie and Sal were not friends she was getting strange notes from someone, clues about something. Later Marcus and another girl teach Melanie about time travel, that there are pictures or moments and we pass through them. One day at the end Marcus runs up to Sal to say sorry but Sal runs away thinking he will get punched, even though Marcus was just wanting to say sorry. But Sal runs into the street and there is a truck coming. Suddenly the crazy old man that lives under the mailbox saves Sal but dies. With all the notes and clues from him, she finds out who to give the stuff she had found to, Marcus. I thought this book was fun to read and shocking at the end when you find out why the crazy old man was there, like a mystery and sci-fi. I would recommend this book to people 9+ years old. (Re Post)
                • xamesikysa
                  xamesikysaTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
                  In this book, Miranda's best friend, Sal, completely ditched her after getting punched on the corner of Broadway Street in the Big Apple. A couple weeks later, Miranda receives anonymous messages saying he/she will come to save her friend and to write a note back. Will her friends get hurt? Who is writing the notes? Read the book to find out!
                  • tiko
                    tikoFriday, September 29, 2017 at 9:51 am
                    Miranda lives with her mom in an apartment. One day on the way back from school Sal gets punched in the face.After this Sal stops talking to Miranda and he ignores her. Miranda eventually becomes friends with Annaliese and Coliin together they start working at a sandwich shop. This was such an interesting book to read. This book kind of tells you who sent the notes if you read and try to figure it out before she figures it out.
                    • annette
                      annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:20 pm55 stars
                      This is a great novel with lots of twists and turns in the story line. This novel is completely original and not like another book I have ever read. I wanted to read it for a while, but I only got to reading it this summer. I love this mystery novel.