Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.127788
We weren't planning to mess up the fairy tales. The first two times we did it by accident. But when our magic mirror pulls us into the story of the Little Mermaid, we have no choice but to try and rewrite it. Let's just say the original story does NOT end happily!

Now we need to:
- Convince our mermaid to keep her tail
- Plan a royal wedding
- Avoid getting eaten by sharks

We've got to find a happy ending for the Little Mermaid . . . before she's fish food and we're lost at sea forever!
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on April 30, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545415691
ISBN-13: 9780545415699
43 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookfan2008
    bookfan2008Friday, May 15, 2020 at 5:30 am33 stars
    This book was good. It was about abby again and also her brother Jonah. If you didn't know they have a magic mirror in there basement! And there is this fairy in it n named Maryrose! And each time they go down to the basement and knock on that mirror 3 times Maryrose whisks them into a fairy tale! Cool right?! In this book she whisks them into... Ariell! Pretty cool! Well, its not that easy tho... They have to make sure not to mess up the story. They have to complete many tasks and challenges to leave from the story on time! ( I'm not going to tell you exactly what tasks so I don't spoil the story) If you are looking for a great fairytale magical book this is for you!
    • shinebright
      shinebrightThursday, March 19, 2020 at 2:55 pm33 stars
      I like this book a lot, but it is really under my level-
      • ccswishingstar
        ccswishingstarWednesday, July 17, 2019 at 5:53 pm33 stars
        This time, the magic mirror pulls them into the fairy tale of the Little Mermaid! But, the original story doesn't end happily, so Abby and Jonah decide to try to mess up the story to rewrite it! Now they need to 1) Convince the little mermaid to not give up her tail for legs. 2) Plan a royal wedding. 3) Avoid getting eaten by sharks. 4) Convince the sea witch to reverse the spells on the little mermaid.
        • rina123aaa
          rina123aaaSunday, July 14, 2019 at 9:36 am55 stars
          Vacation? Not really. Mission? Not really! What is this? An adventure, duh! So fun. I loved it! I think it is cool! The little mermaid mixed with some ordinary kids, I could not stop reading it!
          • natcat13
            natcat13Saturday, June 8, 2019 at 10:27 am55 stars
            Wow, Sarah Mlynowski this is an amazing book. In this book the story is the little mermaid. When Abby and Jonah ruin the story what will happen?
            • marrigold137
              marrigold137Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 5:24 pm44 stars
              I thought that this book was a good cross between Disney's "The Little Mermaid " and the original Grimm ( both literally and figurally ) version . The friendship between the two girls was heart-warming. I really liked this book and will continue to read the series.
              • maireMonday, May 20, 2019 at 3:36 pm
                I love this book as much as candy! I like what abby likes.
                • chloe luceroWednesday, November 30, 2016 at 12:42 pm
                  i love this book so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so so much
                  • butterfly13
                    butterfly13Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 7:12 am
                    i have one thing to say about this book.... 😁
                    • komal10
                      komal10Friday, November 11, 2016 at 4:38 pm
                      it is a really good book and is a fractured tale but not a fairy tale because it is a chapter book