Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.127788
We weren't planning to mess up the fairy tales. The first two times we did it by accident. But when our magic mirror pulls us into the story of the Little Mermaid, we have no choice but to try and rewrite it. Let's just say the original story does NOT end happily!

Now we need to:
- Convince our mermaid to keep her tail
- Plan a royal wedding
- Avoid getting eaten by sharks

We've got to find a happy ending for the Little Mermaid . . . before she's fish food and we're lost at sea forever!
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on April 30, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545415691
ISBN-13: 9780545415699
48 Book Reviews
  • mistycool
    mistycoolTuesday, August 18, 2020 at 7:52 pm
    in this book Abby and Jonah go in to the story of The Little Mermaid and there they meet they land on the water when she finally figures out that they're in the story of The Little Mermaid and knows what's happening she sees that that are girl in the water was carrying a man and when she saw the girl she was a mermaid the mermaid saw her too . the mermaid dropped the man to Abby and Jonah and then she left and Abby and Jonah carried the Man to the sand .and when the prince woke up he saw them and thought that they saved him they tried explaining him about the mermaid which was half fish half human .but the Prince believe it and they stayed at his castle but then the cook said that she knew one of them and she knew where they were and she can make a potion that can take them under water and let them breed there for 12 hours . that night they took a picture of the prince and his name was prince mortamir they asked her not to waste turn tail and not to waste her tongue for the legs but is .what she did when she noticed when she learned how to write from Abby about her and Prince Mortimer meeting he did not read it and meant that the lemon pie was more precious than what she wrote to him .so at The Wedding Date Lana was going to marry Prince Mortimer but she was officially a Runaway Bride Sso Abby and Jonah decide to go to the sea witch with the mermaid potion that the cook made with and they change her mind and lana does not die and they go home safely teh end
    • magicalmythical
      magicalmythicalWednesday, August 12, 2020 at 11:39 am55 stars
      I love all the stories Abby goes into with her friends and sibling. I honesty feel like this will be a great book for kids that love laughter and adventure. BUT "The Little Mermaid" was one of my favorite movies when I was young!
      • lavendergirl710
        lavendergirl710Monday, August 10, 2020 at 12:49 pm44 stars
        This book is about Abby and her brother Jonah (Abby's POV), when they go into their magic mirror, witch takes them to fairy tales, they end up in the story of the little mermaid, in the kingdom of mustard (not ketchup), the story's they go into are the original ones, not the Disney one's, in all the one's they did before, they always mess up the story, but in the original story, the Mermaid dies, so they mess it up on purpose.
        • ileen
          ileenThursday, June 11, 2020 at 10:31 am55 stars
          I like this book more than the other books because of how Abbey and her brother helped Ariel and made a twist in her story. I love the way Abbey and her brother change up the story because they help the prince see that Ariel is the right girl for him.
          • jahin muntahaWednesday, June 10, 2020 at 10:44 am
            i never read the book sink or swim but i am a whatever after super fan! i am in grade 3 but I started to love the books in grade 2 . i even have a copy of book 7. I could tell it to you but no spoilers!
            • bookfan2008
              bookfan2008Friday, May 15, 2020 at 5:30 am33 stars
              This book was good. It was about abby again and also her brother Jonah. If you didn't know they have a magic mirror in there basement! And there is this fairy in it n named Maryrose! And each time they go down to the basement and knock on that mirror 3 times Maryrose whisks them into a fairy tale! Cool right?! In this book she whisks them into... Ariell! Pretty cool! Well, its not that easy tho... They have to make sure not to mess up the story. They have to complete many tasks and challenges to leave from the story on time! ( I'm not going to tell you exactly what tasks so I don't spoil the story) If you are looking for a great fairytale magical book this is for you!
              • shinebright
                shinebrightThursday, March 19, 2020 at 2:55 pm33 stars
                I like this book a lot, but it is really under my level-
                • ccswishingstar
                  ccswishingstarWednesday, July 17, 2019 at 5:53 pm33 stars
                  This time, the magic mirror pulls them into the fairy tale of the Little Mermaid! But, the original story doesn't end happily, so Abby and Jonah decide to try to mess up the story to rewrite it! Now they need to 1) Convince the little mermaid to not give up her tail for legs. 2) Plan a royal wedding. 3) Avoid getting eaten by sharks. 4) Convince the sea witch to reverse the spells on the little mermaid.
                  • rina123aaa
                    rina123aaaSunday, July 14, 2019 at 9:36 am55 stars
                    Vacation? Not really. Mission? Not really! What is this? An adventure, duh! So fun. I loved it! I think it is cool! The little mermaid mixed with some ordinary kids, I could not stop reading it!
                    • natcat13
                      natcat13Saturday, June 8, 2019 at 10:27 am55 stars
                      Wow, Sarah Mlynowski this is an amazing book. In this book the story is the little mermaid. When Abby and Jonah ruin the story what will happen?