Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.662751

Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter's Warriors series a #1 national bestseller! Epic adventures. Fierce Warrior cats. A thrilling fantasy world. It all begins here with Warriors #1: Into the Wild.

For generations, four Clans of wild cats have shared the forest according to the laws laid down by their ancestors. But the warrior code is threatened, and the ThunderClan cats are in grave danger. The sinister ShadowClan grows stronger every day. Noble warriors are dying—and some deaths are more mysterious than others.

In the midst of this turmoil appears an ordinary housecat named Rusty . . . who may turn out to be the bravest warrior of them all.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on January 21, 2003 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060000023
ISBN-13: 9780060000028
442 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ravenpaw51
    ravenpaw51Tuesday, July 28, 2020 at 9:59 am55 stars
    If you LOVE cats then you should read this very book. It's the very first one of the whole inter book series! A friend of mine introduced me to these books and know I LOVE them!! Thank you! Rusty, a kitty-pet, goes and explores the forest all by himself and but then, Graypaw jumps out and starts tacking him! When Gray-paw's Mentor; Lionheart, steps up and they freeze. Read more to find what happens next! Wish you guys the best of luck and hope you get the chance read this book and continue on with Firepaw's adventure. DO NOT READ IF YOU DON'T WANT A SPOILER!!! Through out the books, Rusty's name will chance once he's a apprentice, warrior, and even the ThunderClan leader! Her are his names: Rusty> Fiepaw> FireHeart> Firestar
    • skywatcher2140
      skywatcher2140Wednesday, July 1, 2020 at 11:44 am55 stars
      An amazing book, packed with thrill and a heart-pounding adventure...beautifully written! Rusty is a house cat who dreams of exploring the wild. He is willing to brave the dangers of the forest, and knows he must see it for himself. One day, he meets a wild cat named Bluestar...who makes an offer that will change his life forever. When Rusty finds out about the Clans--cats who live in the forest and hunt fot themselves--he must make the decision of leaving his friends, or living the confined life of a house cat, never knowing what lies beyond. Bluestar offers to train him as a Clan cat...and Rusty agrees, changing his name to Firepaw and leaving his old life behind. But he meets new challenges everyday, and must face them--or die trying. Can Firepaw really settle down in the Clans? Read this book to find out!
      • JayfeatherSaturday, June 13, 2020 at 3:01 am
        It's amazing!😻 I've been reading for a year now. I've read 50 books. But it is NOT for sensetive children. It can be quite gorey like there's loads of death and blood. But keep reading, even after a terrible death like Sparkpelts mate died right in front of her while she was kitting. Parents might be worried about kids reading Thea's violent books.
        • greendogo
          greendogoThursday, May 14, 2020 at 2:30 pm55 stars
          This is probably my favorite book of all time. I would give this more than 5 stars if I could.
          • warriorsgirl11
            warriorsgirl11Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 stars
            This is the first Warriors book ever. Rusty has alot of curiosity, I see. and he was very brave. Going into a forest and spying on a fox! I don't like Longtail, Darkstripe, or Dustpaw. Sandpaw? well, I don't like how she taunts Firepaw, either.
            • loketoke
              loketokeThursday, April 30, 2020 at 11:37 pm33 stars
              This book was the first book continuing to a series of danger, excitement, romance and more! It was hard to understand the “cat speak” at first, but you will soon figure it out. “Twolegs” which are humans, “leaf-fall” autumn.....and this story is About a pet cat, Rusty. He ventures out of his home and meets three cats who live in different clans - ShadowClan, ThunderClan, RiverClan, and WindClan. These three cats are from ThunderClan, and Rusty wants to join them. After a brief battle with one of the cats in ThunderClan, Rusty gets a new name - Firepaw, and proves himself to be a formidable apprentice. Want to know more? Read “Into the Wild”, by Erin Hunter. Enjoy!
              • the_wolf
                the_wolfThursday, April 30, 2020 at 7:35 pm55 stars
                The Warriors Series is so good! I'm in The Broken Code Veil of Shadows now! This book is about Rusty, a kittypet. Then he meets Bluestar, Graypaw, and Lionheart. Then Rusty decided to join ThunderClan. The mysterious death of Redtail, the Clan's deputy, makes Lionheart the next deputy instead of Tigerclaw. Then Ravenpaw, Tigerclaw's apprentice, reveals to Rusty, renamed Firepaw, that Tigerclaw was the one that killed Redtail, and Redtail was the one who killed Oakheart. This is super great.
                • Rootspring and Wednesday, April 22, 2020 at 12:57 am
                  I love this book! I am a big fan of warrior cats and I am now on The Broken Code (series 6) so I will recommend Into the wild to anyone who is looking for an exiting book to read. Remember, if you love warrior cats there are more than just books! Hope you enjoy the Warrior cats series!
                  • nikisomeone
                    nikisomeoneSaturday, April 18, 2020 at 11:18 am55 stars
                    Hey guys! I've already read all books of the series (from "The prophercies begins" to "Vision of shadows"). It's the best book I read. Erin Hunter is an awesome autor, there are also series like "Bravelands" or "Survivors" which I also like. I recommend it to everyone.
                    • warriorsgirl11
                      warriorsgirl11Wednesday, March 18, 2020 at 9:45 pm55 stars
                      This is one of my favorite Warrior books. I like how Firepaw stood up against the Clan Cats' taunts and became an awsome warrior.