Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.662751

Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter's Warriors series a #1 national bestseller! Epic adventures. Fierce Warrior cats. A thrilling fantasy world. It all begins here with Warriors #1: Into the Wild.

For generations, four Clans of wild cats have shared the forest according to the laws laid down by their ancestors. But the warrior code is threatened, and the ThunderClan cats are in grave danger. The sinister ShadowClan grows stronger every day. Noble warriors are dying—and some deaths are more mysterious than others.

In the midst of this turmoil appears an ordinary housecat named Rusty . . . who may turn out to be the bravest warrior of them all.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on January 21, 2003 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060000023
ISBN-13: 9780060000028
423 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Raven paw Monday, June 24, 2019 at 2:26 pm
    To anyone who sais they have a funny names I think your name is funny I LOVE warrior cats best book ever I rather it then Harry Potter awesome book note: this is the first book get it before other warrior books
    • EbonyrainWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 12:15 pm
      I'm currently reading Broken Code(the 7th arc/series): Lost Stars. I think that the first book/series is really nice and is a great introduction to the lore and basics of the clans. The later series start to get really complicated and would be really hard to just jump into. I think that the first 2 series are great and I suggest that you read them before you lose interest. Please! By the 4th series the books aren't great, but simply knowing what happens next and reading about your favorite characters makes me heavily addicted to reading them! Don't be scared with the amount of books under the Warrior's name. Just start here and go to the next main series and so on. All the other books can be read whenever except for the newer Super Editions.
      • moonkitti
        moonkittiThursday, May 30, 2019 at 11:28 am55 stars
        I am currently on the apprentices quest and i have let my friends borrow some of my books. They have all enjoyed them. One of my friends is already done with all the books bc she. Is a very fast reader.
        • CatsThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:07 am
          I LOVE IT
          • ccswishingstar
            ccswishingstarWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 6:54 pm55 stars
            I. LOVE. THIS. SERIES. :D This is the first book of the series Warriors: The Prophecies Begin. This book series stars Firepaw, a kittypet(a cat that is taken care by humans ) that gave up is his former safe, well-fed life to become a warrior of ThunderClan.
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprThursday, May 23, 2019 at 3:28 pm55 stars
              One of my friends had recommended this book to me and I also saw a bunch of other people reading it so I decided that I would read it. Due to my love for cats this was really fun to read and cool too. But because there were too many series inside of series I didn't read all of them. This was a great book. and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.
              • bookbear12
                bookbear12Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 2:12 pm55 stars
                It is so intriguing
                • bibliophile3
                  bibliophile3Thursday, May 23, 2019 at 7:20 am44 stars
                  Before reading this book,I was biased toward cats.This book has really changed my opinion.Warriors:Into The Wild is the first book in the Warriors franchise.I liked this book a lot but wasn't as good or complex as later books in the series.The basic plot is Rusty who is a kittypet,joins a forest clan called Thunderclan. He learns to be a warrior and defend his clan while discovering a treacherous foe.It was overall a nice introduction to the Warriors franchise.I would give this book 4 stars because it just wasn't as good as other books in the franchise.
                  • bibliophile3
                    bibliophile3Monday, June 3, 2019 at 2:09 pm44 stars
                    Sorry I meant to rate it four stars
                  • clarenceunicorn
                    clarenceunicornSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 7:50 pm55 stars
                    Into the Wild is a perfect start to the Warriors series. It does take a while to get used to all of the cat names and that, but really, Warriors goes down into a deeper level, addressing racism and that with kittypets and rogues. I won’t spoil it, but you must read this! The first few chapters are slow, but it is very good. A must-read for animal lovers, and even if you don’t really like cats, I actually seemed to like cats more after reading Warriors. I really liked this book.
                    • zzayumi
                      zzayumiFriday, May 17, 2019 at 6:54 pm55 stars
                      When I started this book, in about 5 pages, I was really into this book! I love cats, and I love the book! This has a lot of lessons in it, like friendship.