Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.249680

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he’s finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasn’t exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldn’t be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on August 21, 2012 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 006174266X
ISBN-13: 9780061742668
80 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mathismyfav
    mathismyfavFriday, October 18, 2019 at 10:54 am55 stars
    Ungifted is about a boy who is an average student and is almost always in trouble. One day after skipping detention Donovan Curtis suddenly feels the urge to smack a statue's big butt with a tree branch. Part of it falls off and crashes the gym. no one was hurt, thankfully, but the superintendent catches Donovan in the act. When he accidentally writes Donovan's name on the gifted list Donovan is sent to the Acadamy for scholastic distinctions. (AMSD) Will he be able to hide from consequences? To find out read ungifted by Gordan Korman. You'll be glad you did.
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprSaturday, August 31, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
      I really enjoyed this book! I can't believe I've never read Gordon Korman's books before! When I saw other people's reviews..I was like..It can't possibly be THAT good...But i was wrong. This is THE BEST BOOK EVER AND THE AUTHOR IS THE BEST AUHOR EVER!!!! So the next time you get a chance to read one of his books...don't miss the chance!! other wise you will regret it.
      • hedgeguin2
        hedgeguin2Sunday, August 4, 2019 at 4:55 pm
        Awesome book so far!! I love the detail and thought the author puts into the words. Gordon Korman is an amazing writer, he is one of my favorite authors! I’m at the part where the teachers are discussing whether Donovan Curtis, the main character, is actually smart, and why he is in ASD, which stands for Academy of Scholastic Distinction. Can’t wait to finish the book and start the sequel, Supergifted! :D
        • lawalex
          lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 6:52 am55 stars
          All books by Gordon Korman are good, and this book is living proof. In this cool book, a regular kid ends up in a gifted program. This is going to be interesting!
          • CholoThursday, May 16, 2019 at 12:06 pm
            this book reminds me of my parents adopting me to a another family
            • hiTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 8:42 am
              its a good book \
              • thatredheadxd
                thatredheadxdFriday, September 21, 2018 at 11:57 am55 stars
                It's about a kid named Donovan Curtis who knocks over a statue and wrecks a school gym. His principle accidentally writes his name on the gifted program list and he gets permitted. At the gifted program, he fails and doesn't understand everything. But the only thing he's good at is the joystick on the class robot, and that's from playing video games. The kids at the gifted program learn from Donovan, mostly the fun things in the outside world, besides the brainiac stuff, and they grow to like him. But, Eventually, he gets busted by the principle, who's been hunting him down for weeks, only to figure out he was misplaced in the gifted program. So Donovan gets taken out... :( But they needed him for the Robot race to work the joystick, and they sneak him there and he tries to help, but it all goes outta control. Will this huge mess ever be fixed? U'll hafta read the rest... :)
                • nicegirl1933
                  nicegirl1933Sunday, August 4, 2019 at 7:10 pm55 stars
                  thanks for the info on the book helps alot:)
                • starfish112
                  starfish112Saturday, August 25, 2018 at 5:24 pm55 stars
                  it is the best book is the best book there is and so is supergifted i am still readin itr
                  • aria123
                    aria123Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 1:42 pm55 stars
                    The Gordon Korman has the most incredible books in the world. He wrote so many books and they are so incredible. I really wish I had all of his books, I could practicly read all of them in a day. Books are the most awesome thing in the world real.
                    • art3mis
                      art3misFriday, March 30, 2018 at 5:17 pm55 stars
                      As a TBN (total book nerd) it was not a surprise that I loved this book. I came across it at the library and it was very interesting. Gordon Korman writes some really great books!