Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.249680

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he’s finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasn’t exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldn’t be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on August 21, 2012 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 006174266X
ISBN-13: 9780061742668
86 Book Reviews
  • jkbear
    jkbearTuesday, November 10, 2020 at 9:09 am55 stars
    looks good
    • jb9
      jb9Wednesday, October 21, 2020 at 4:06 am55 stars
      I want to read this book because I love Gordon Kormans books
      • m32Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 11:58 am
        The book was awsome!
        • belle252
          belle252Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 11:25 am55 stars
          Donovan Curtis is an average kid, but when he knocks a huge atlas over, the superintendent is furious and accidentally writes his name on the list to go to the Academy, a school for brainiacs. After the first day, it is clear that he does not belong in the academy. A retest and a few close-to-meetings with the superintendent knock him back on track, and he starts wondering what will happen to him. Will he get summer school, community service, or worse, expelled...?
          • gkfann
            gkfannThursday, June 18, 2020 at 9:26 am55 stars
            hilarious book!lovedit! i cant say enough about gordon korman's work! read this right now, it will be worth you time! you cant go wrong with this book!
            • diamond897
              diamond897Sunday, May 24, 2020 at 4:07 pm55 stars
              This book was very good. It was about a boy who destroyed his school's gym.He gets sent to the school for gifted kids. He helps the kids build and win a robot battle. This was a very funny book to read and I recommend to everyone.
              • mathismyfav
                mathismyfavFriday, October 18, 2019 at 10:54 am55 stars
                Ungifted is about a boy who is an average student and is almost always in trouble. One day after skipping detention Donovan Curtis suddenly feels the urge to smack a statue's big butt with a tree branch. Part of it falls off and crashes the gym. no one was hurt, thankfully, but the superintendent catches Donovan in the act. When he accidentally writes Donovan's name on the gifted list Donovan is sent to the Acadamy for scholastic distinctions. (AMSD) Will he be able to hide from consequences? To find out read ungifted by Gordan Korman. You'll be glad you did.
                • inmemoryofcpr
                  inmemoryofcprSaturday, August 31, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
                  I really enjoyed this book! I can't believe I've never read Gordon Korman's books before! When I saw other people's reviews..I was like..It can't possibly be THAT good...But i was wrong. This is THE BEST BOOK EVER AND THE AUTHOR IS THE BEST AUHOR EVER!!!! So the next time you get a chance to read one of his books...don't miss the chance!! other wise you will regret it.
                  • hedgeguin2
                    hedgeguin2Sunday, August 4, 2019 at 4:55 pm
                    Awesome book so far!! I love the detail and thought the author puts into the words. Gordon Korman is an amazing writer, he is one of my favorite authors! I’m at the part where the teachers are discussing whether Donovan Curtis, the main character, is actually smart, and why he is in ASD, which stands for Academy of Scholastic Distinction. Can’t wait to finish the book and start the sequel, Supergifted! :D
                    • lawalex
                      lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 6:52 am55 stars
                      All books by Gordon Korman are good, and this book is living proof. In this cool book, a regular kid ends up in a gifted program. This is going to be interesting!