Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.639474

Annie Richards knows there are a million things to look out for—bicycle accidents, food poisoning, chicken pox, smallpox, typhoid fever, runaway zoo animals, and poison oak. That's why being careful is so important, even if it does mean giving up some of her favorite things, like bike races with her best friend, Rebecca, and hot dogs on the Fourth of July. Everyone keeps telling Annie not to worry so much, that she's just fine. But they thought her brother, Jared, was just fine too, and Jared died.

It takes a new neighbor, who looks as plain as a box of toothpicks but has some surprising secrets of her own, to make Annie realize that her plans for being careful aren't working out as well as she had hoped. And with a lot of help from those around her—and a book about a pig, too—Annie just may find a way to close her umbrella of sadness and step back into the sunshine.

With winsome humor and a dash of small-town charm, Lisa Graff's third novel is a touching look at rising above grief and the healing power of community.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061431877
ISBN-13: 9780061431876
26 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • zzayumi
    zzayumiMonday, May 20, 2019 at 1:51 pm55 stars
    This is a really good book! It was really sad that Annie's brother, Jared died. I can not imagine my brother dying. It would be really sad, even though we fight sometimes. He is part of my family!
    • irish dancer 15Thursday, April 5, 2018 at 10:33 am
      this book was great and it had a connection to lost in the sun
      • EmilySaturday, March 10, 2018 at 9:34 am
        I really liked this book because it is telling people be careful about what you eat and what you do in the streets.
        • tacosforlife
          tacosforlifeTuesday, February 14, 2017 at 9:43 am55 stars
          After her brother Jared died for a rare unknown heart disease.She has been alert of all of the diseases that might kill her.She has been missing out on all the fun and worrying to much. This young girl even said she might have Ebola!!
          • mrupp
            mruppThursday, March 24, 2016 at 9:00 am44 stars
            Pretty good, I'm still in the first chapter, and Lisa Graff really caught my attention on the main character, Annie. I'm going to keep reading and maybe add another review later about my thoughts.
            • jacquelyn0715Friday, March 11, 2016 at 9:50 am
              i like the book it is relistic fiction and goo i just finished it
              • maddyp18
                maddyp18Thursday, July 31, 2014 at 8:29 pm55 stars
                I loved this book so so so so so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is a great realistic fiction story!!!!!! It is about a girl that ever since her brother Jared died, she has been to careful about things that she shouldn't worry about at her age. But when a new neighbor mores in the neighborhood, she starts to realize that she shouldn't worry so much. I think the message for this story is ''It is good to be careful, but not to careful''. I think this story is more for girls then boys because I just don't think a boy would understand how Annie feels as well as a girl. In the story my favorite character is Annie because of how much she understands all of her friends and her family. If I could, I would ask the author ''how did you come up with this story plot'' because I wonder how she got the idea that a boy would die, and things like that. I hope you like it!!!!!!!!
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieSaturday, March 8, 2014 at 3:44 pm
                  This is a really sad book, but it is really good and interesting too.
                  • artlover02
                    artlover02Saturday, March 8, 2014 at 2:05 pm55 stars
                    This is a great book. It's about a girl that is worried about everything. When she finally tries to stop worrying about everything she is much happier and she finds out she enjoys it in the sunshine. Find out more by reading the book Umbrella Summer.
                    • donottrack
                      donottrackThursday, March 6, 2014 at 2:32 pm55 stars
                      This is about a girl that is worried about everything.Ever since her brother died.Then though she realizes that her worrying so much is just making here more miserable. So then she decides to try to close here umbrella of sadness and stay in the sunshine.