Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.736721
A funny, moving, and true story of an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face that's perfect for fans of Wonder—now available in the U.S.

When Robert Hoge was born, he had a tumor the size of a tennis ball in the middle of his face and short, twisted legs. Surgeons removed the tumor and made him a new nose from one of his toes. Amazingly, he survived—with a face that would never be the same.

Strangers stared at him. Kids called him names, and adults could be cruel, too. Everybody seemed to agree that he was “ugly.” But Robert refused to let his face define him. He played pranks, got into trouble, had adventures with his big family, and finally found a sport that was perfect for him to play. And Robert came face to face with the biggest decision of his life, he followed his heart.

This poignant memoir about overcoming bullying and thriving with disabilities shows that what makes us “ugly” also makes us who we are. It features a reflective foil cover and black-and-white illustrations throughout.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 6, 2016 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0425287750
ISBN-13: 9780425287750
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • janelledogMonday, November 19, 2018 at 8:39 am
    i have that book and its a good book.
    • Natalie HarperMonday, November 19, 2018 at 6:10 am
      Ugly is a great book! I am doing it for my book review!! (Grade 8)
      • danika_reader10
        danika_reader10Sunday, October 21, 2018 at 8:38 am55 stars
        so good did it for my book report
        • Danika grade 4Saturday, October 20, 2018 at 8:42 pm
          this book is so addicting I am doing it for my book report
          • Eliana grade 4 Thursday, October 18, 2018 at 5:54 pm
            I ❤️It
            • Eliana grade 4 Thursday, October 18, 2018 at 5:54 pm
              I love it so much for me it is #1 book
              • Yana Grade 4Tuesday, October 9, 2018 at 5:25 pm
                I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE THIS BOOK ( ͡~ ͜ʖ ͡°)
                • MaggieWednesday, May 9, 2018 at 8:38 am
                  This book is awesome
                  • galaxycat333
                    galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 2:02 pm55 stars
                    Awesome emotional happy and amazing book that tells about a kid who gets bullied and thinks that hes ugly and he goes on this amazing adventure through life lessons.
                    • galaxycat333
                      galaxycat333Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 9:58 am55 stars
                      i agree with Luna and i will definetly recomend this book for you

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mysteryhuman_hi

                      I've read the graphic novel and ...
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      Monserrat wrote:

                      The count of Monte cristo is a g...
                      The Count of Monte Cristo (Class...

                      Amnotreal wrote:

                      I just got the book and it alrea...
                      Naruto: Kakashi's Story

                      Mia wrote:

                      I just loved this book! I'm a 4t...
                      The Ranger's Apprentice Series (...

                      Our Apps and Plugins