Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.736721
A funny, moving, and true story of an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face that's perfect for fans of Wonder—now available in the U.S.

When Robert Hoge was born, he had a tumor the size of a tennis ball in the middle of his face and short, twisted legs. Surgeons removed the tumor and made him a new nose from one of his toes. Amazingly, he survived—with a face that would never be the same.

Strangers stared at him. Kids called him names, and adults could be cruel, too. Everybody seemed to agree that he was “ugly.” But Robert refused to let his face define him. He played pranks, got into trouble, had adventures with his big family, and finally found a sport that was perfect for him to play. And Robert came face to face with the biggest decision of his life, he followed his heart.

This poignant memoir about overcoming bullying and thriving with disabilities shows that what makes us “ugly” also makes us who we are. It features a reflective foil cover and black-and-white illustrations throughout.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 6, 2016 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0425287750
ISBN-13: 9780425287750
92 Book Reviews
  • satwikagejara
    satwikagejaraThursday, December 24, 2020 at 9:39 pm55 stars
    This memoir is really heartwarming and beautiful. I loved how he related his life events. He has a slight twist of humor that really surprised me given the circumstances of the book. I don't want to give away anything because each word in this book has value in its own way. I really recommend this book to everyone. It is funny but eye-opening at the same time.
    • NWednesday, August 5, 2020 at 1:30 pm
      This is a great book!
      • rina123aaa
        rina123aaaFriday, May 22, 2020 at 9:52 am55 stars
        Wow! This book is about someone who refused to get surgery and lived his life with an ugly face. He was bullied and crippled since he was born. Even his mom almost didn't want to keep him. This is a great book with important lessons in it. Read now.
        • allen Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 3:52 pm
          this book is great and I only read a couple pages so far!
          • Ava StrollFriday, November 29, 2019 at 9:14 am
            I think this book is truly amazing book if you are disabled or have some sort of disability. I am thankful that we have so many people in the world that are willing to be so strong and share they're story to other people to shows us, that we are amazing in our own special way!
            • Alyssa allenWednesday, August 21, 2019 at 6:27 pm
              This is a really good book I had to do it for a reading project and I thought it was bring in the first chapters but it became so much more it became really interesting and true
              • isabellagamerab
                isabellagamerabFriday, July 19, 2019 at 6:31 pm55 stars
                Why does the book haved to be called ugly for yes the face is ugly but cant it be a better name but anyway its a great book
                • rina123aaa
                  rina123aaaFriday, July 19, 2019 at 5:22 pm55 stars
                  Great book, it is a true story. I tells you about the hardships someone can go through. it is also exciting and cool! i love it!
                  • applebutter
                    applebutterWednesday, July 17, 2019 at 9:59 am55 stars
                    This is an amazing book, a must read. Everyone may think that this book is a knock off or a copy of the book Wonder. This book is a smudge similar but also completely different. If you get my roll. August Pullman only has a facial deformity but Robert has facial and limb deformity's. His parents did not protect him as well as Auggies parents did, he went to school right from the beginning. This book is AMAZING! and a must read.
                    • alejo
                      alejoMonday, July 15, 2019 at 3:27 pm
                      This book seems interesting to me!