Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.287274

Tally lives in a world where your 16th birthday brings aesthetic perfection: an operation which erases your flaws, transforming you from an 'Ugly' into a 'Pretty'. She is on the eve of this important event, and cannot wait for her life to change. But then she meets Shay, and her whole outlook is different.

Hardcover
Published on March 1, 2005 by Perfection Learning
ISBN-10: 075697237X
ISBN-13: 9780756972370
73 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everSunday, August 9, 2020 at 10:53 am33 stars
    I have to say, Uglies isn't a bad book, and considering it was one of the first dystopian fiction books, I commend Scott Westerfeld for how this novel was developed. However, the writing just isn't of great caliber. My reading pet peeve is slow-paced writing; and Uglies was definitely slow. It was very mellow and dreary at times, and even when I got to the climax, the writing style watered it down for me. I enjoyed Tally's mental tugs-of-war and her journeys, as well as the plot twist, but the dystopian world wasn't crazy enough for me to love it, nor was the climax exciting enough. Frankly, the slowness and characters were a huge dealbreaker for me. So I liked this iconic novel, but I won't, per se, be reading the rest of the Uglies Trilogy, though I'm sure they're filled with action and plot twists too. I just can't put up with the overall mood of the story.
    • lovetoread26
      lovetoread26Saturday, July 25, 2020 at 4:51 pm55 stars
      I never would have read this book, but a friend showed it to me! I was shocked at how amazing it was. Tally is about to turn sixteen, when her life will be perfect. She will have an operation to turn her into a beautiful person and she will party all day and all night in New Pretty Town. Everything is going as planned until she meets Shay. Shay has a different outlook, and thinks being pretty is bad. Tally starts to agree with her. No more spoilers, find out for yourself!
      • flute1drum1
        flute1drum1Saturday, February 15, 2020 at 11:07 pm55 stars
        The reason I like this book because it is about a girl who wants to be Pretty but then her operational is delayed
        • kj78911
          kj78911Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 8:47 pm55 stars
          Uglies is a book with suspense, mystery, romance, action, and friendship. It teaches you that you are beautiful no matter what people say. When you read this book you will want to read the second so bad!
          • christine_horse
            christine_horseMonday, November 11, 2019 at 7:00 am55 stars
            This book is very well-written, with shocking plot twists and a roller coaster of events. It features a young girl about to turn sixteen.... and who's life is about to change. I picked it up and couldn't put it down. I'll admit, I was a tiny bit disappointed at David's reaction at the end (don't worry, I won't spoil anything). But I loved it, nontheless!
            • aliceinwonder3
              aliceinwonder3Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 5:58 pm55 stars
              It is the best book i have read for a long time I can’t ever put it down once I pick it up. I recommend it to anyone 12+
              • kkgautamm
                kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:15 am22 stars
                decent. was a little uninteresting at times. not the best story, the characters were pretty basic and shallow. i didnt like it, but i might be willing to reread it.
                • kkgautamm
                  kkgautammTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:20 pm22 stars
                  decent. was a little uninteresting at times.
                  • kkgautamm
                    kkgautammTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:20 pm22 stars
                    decent. was a little uninteresting at times.
                    • gogeta
                      gogetaTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 9:02 am33 stars
                      i didn´t like the book but i think the second book will actualy be better