Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.562641
Fifteen-year-old Bobby thinks he knows what it's like to be invisible-he's used to being ignored by the popular kids at school (especially the girls). Even his parents hardly seem to notice whether he's home or not. Then one morning, Bobby wakes up to find that he IS invisible. For real. He can't stop wondering if he'll ever reappear-especially when his parents wreck their car and wind up in the hospital. Now Bobby is all alone. How can he survive in a world where he can't be seen? One thing's for sure: Bobby's not going to just wait around to see if his body will decide to show up again on its own. He's got to take action. Fast.
Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on March 4, 2002 by Philomel
ISBN-10: 0399236260
ISBN-13: 9780399236266
74 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Sara_bearWednesday, August 14, 2019 at 7:49 am
    I’m going into seventh grade this year and over the summer we’ve had to read a book on one of the lists they gave us and I chose things not seen and I don’t know if it’s just that I had to read it, but I can’t really seem to find myself really wanting to read more of it. I do think that it will end up getting better. if you have any advice for me leave it in the replies.
    • brooklynnnnThursday, May 23, 2019 at 6:51 am
      Things not seen is a great book. It's very exciting, you always have a question at the end of the chapter. Bobby turns invisible and can't really do anything. He meets a girl named Alicia and she is blind. They go on many adventures together. I don't want to give the rest of the book away.
      • emilyyy
        emilyyyWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 6:58 am
        Things not seen is all over the place. You dont know what will happen next, it leaves you with a question at the end of each chapter. Bobby is a 15 year old boy, who turns invisible. He meets a girl named Alicia who is blind, but she doesn't know that he is invisible. When he turns invisible he doesn't know what to do. His parents got in a accident and he had to stay all alone by himself. He didn't know what to do because he was home alone and no one was there with him. Besides that, Thing not Seen is a great book. 10/10 stars.
        • sgpchau
          sgpchauWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 6:58 am55 stars
          This was the best book I read so far this year... It starts out with a guy named Bobby, 15 years old if you're wondering. He is taking a shower when he gets out to wipe the mirror he can't find himself. He runs downstairs and told he's, mom. He also met some blind girl named Alicia. She doesn't know that he is invisible until in the middle of the book. I recommend this book to others.
          • Sci-FiCrazy1209Wednesday, May 22, 2019 at 6:52 am
            Great book. It displays ways scientists would think inside a young adult book. It was lots of fun to read and enjoy.
            • ajg16
              ajg16Friday, May 3, 2019 at 4:56 pm55 stars
              Bobby wakes up one school day and starts his routine but when he looks in the mirror.... And he isn't there.. no seriously he isn't there and he isn't a vampire he's invisible!! His parents don't believe him at first (cause he always messes around) , but when they do believe him they both agree Bobby can not leave the house until they figure out what has happen. But Bobby grows incredibly bored and decides explore the town with his invisibility but then he bumps into a girl and freaks thinking he has blown the secret! But it turns out the girl (Alicia) is blind and doesn't even realize he isn't there. They start becoming good friends and Bobby tells her he is invisible and Alicia talks about how she became blind 2 years earlier. His dad & Alicias dad are rushing to find out what happens and the states child service is looking for him because no body as seen him in 3 weeks because he has the flu (NOT) along the way he and Alicia are trying there own ways to figure out what exactly happen. Want to find out what happens to Bobby? Grab a BlAnKeT and find a quiet place and dive into this amazing book! Recommended for ages 10-100 Thanks for reading -Ajg16's Reviews
              • callie_b
                callie_bTuesday, April 23, 2019 at 6:35 pm55 starsFeatured
                This book is so realistic I actually believe I might become invisible one day myself! Bobby wakes up one day, normal as ever, until he looks into the mirror. He's...INVISIBLE?! His parents can't believe their eyes either. Until they can figure things out, Bobby has to stay under the radar. In an act of rebellion against his parents' wishes for him to stay at home, keep his invisibility a secret and basically act like he doesn't exist, Bobby goes outside and observes his town from his new invisible perspective. Bobby bumps into a pretty girl at the library and thinks that his life is over, because, well, she'll realize she is talking to an invisible boy!! To his relief, he realizes that the girl, named Alicia, is blind. She has no idea that he's invisible. But with everything crashing down in his life, he figures he needs somebody he can trust, and it turns out that person is Alicia. They begin to open up to each other, Bobby explaining about his invisibility, and Alicia sharing how she became blind 2 years earlier. Of course, though, the trouble just keeps on coming. Representatives from his state's child care services visit his home to make sure he isn't missing, because he has been out of school for over 3 weeks! with "the flu!" There's no way to show that Bobby is alive and well without exposing his secret, so Bobby's family soon finds themselves in a web of lies with seemingly no escape, with even a threat of jail hanging heavy over Bobby's parents' heads! Will Bobby ever find a way to become visible again? And will he ever face his feelings about Alicia? You're in for a wild ride with this incredible sci-fi book by Andrew Clements! One thing I really loved and enjoyed about this book was the fact that the problems and struggles in the book were really realistic. I felt the same emotions that Bobby did as he reacted to new situations, and the way the writing reflected his school and home life were very true for a lot of kids like me, although I'm not invisible :D. And the solution to the problem actually made sense to me! Andrew Clements has always been one of my favorite authors, and this novel did not disappoint! This book was overall an amazing read, I give it 5/5 stars and I recommend it for ages 10+!
                • bookstory13
                  bookstory13Wednesday, May 8, 2019 at 2:46 pm
                  WOAH! Thanks for this amazing review!! This sounds like so much fun!!
                  • ajg16
                    ajg16Wednesday, May 8, 2019 at 2:39 pm55 stars
                    @callie_b I'm so glad you did a review on this book, I might never have found & fallen in love with it!
                  • rosesarered
                    rosesareredThursday, April 18, 2019 at 11:09 am55 stars
                    A 15 -year-old name Bobby gets out of the shower and soon he knows he's invisible, he tells his parents and also promise to not tell anyone else. He bumps into a girl in the library named Alicia and he figures out that shes blind. Soon Alicia figures out that Bobby is invisible and does her parents. Bobby's school is scared he's "missing" because he hasn't been to school so the "Children's Heath Care" come to check their house. Bobby's mom lies about Bobby going to Florida and if Mrs. Pagget doesn't see Bobby in 1 week they will be charged or get arrested. Bobby has a plan that involves Alicia and his electric blanket. Bobby also finds another girl that's been "missing" because of the blanket.
                    • goldbergs_024
                      goldbergs_024Thursday, April 18, 2019 at 11:08 am55 stars
                      I loved this book! It is a science fiction book about a boy (Bobby) turning invisible and he meets a blind girl named Alicia. Their family's work together to find out why he invisible. It is a good book and I recommend that you read it.
                      • random personThursday, April 18, 2019 at 11:07 am
                        this book to me was boring, and it didn't have enough action because all that was happening was them running around solving random problems.