There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom (Collins Readers)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 1 - 5Q3.436671
A boy who fights with his school mates, and makes it difficult for anyone to like him, learns how to be accepted. This hilarious yet moving story bears all the classic hallmarks of a Sachar novel -- pace, humour, modernity and sensitivity. "Give me a dollar or I'll spit on you. " That's Bradley Chalkers for you. He's the oldest in his class, he tells enormous lies, he picks fights with girls, and teachers say he has "serious behaviour problems. " No-one likes him -- except Carla, the new school counsellor. She thinks Bradley is sensitive and generous, and she even enjoys his far-fetched stories. Carla knows that Bradley could change, if only he weren't afraid to try...A story of isolation, bravery and gradual acceptance told with great humour by Louis Sachar, the author of the brilliant Holes.
Paperback
Published on January 1, 2016 by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN-10: 1408869101
ISBN-13: 9781408869109
46 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bsc
    bscFriday, October 9, 2020 at 12:22 pm55 stars
    This book was really good! Bradley isn't liked by any of his peers. He has some behavior and emotional issues. He threatens this peers as well. But the only one who doesn't mind him is the new counselor, Carla. If fact, she thinks that he's great. With Carla's help will Bradley make a friend or two? I really liked this book!
    • furtflyh
      furtflyhTuesday, October 6, 2020 at 10:17 am55 stars
      This was a really good book. It's about a kid named Bradley who was held back twice in 4th grade and has serious behavior and emotional problems. He wants everybody to hate him, he is failing all of his classes and looses everybody's trust. One day, a new kid named Jeff Fishkin moves in and becomes his friend, but even he quits being his friend and he goes back to being lonely. Eventually, the school hired a new counselor who helps Bradley see the good side in everybody, and even himself. Her name was Carla Davis and she changed his life forever. I really liked it because it was really well written and I really liked the characters and the story line For my book review, I picked There’s a boy in the girls’ bathroom. The story is about a kid at a school named Bradley who has some behavior problems. He wants everybody to hate him. He gets bad grades on purpose,doesn’t do his homework, picks on girls and does many other mean thing to people. One day, a boy named Jeff moves from Washington D.C., and eventually becomes Bradley’s only friend at school. One day, the school hires a counselor named Carla. And goes to see her everyday whenever he can. And after going to see her more and more often, Bradley becomes better and better. And starts doing his homework. Meanwhile, Jeff seems to become popular at his school, and a girl wants to invite him to her birthday party. But he will be the only boy there and his only friend they know is Bradley. Which other boy will they invite? I chose this book because I recently finished this book, and I think it is a great book. I recommend this book to people who are looking for a good fiction book to read. Because it is very interesting This is a funny book you should read to your student as story time if you are a teacher pleases put 50 good
      • furtflyh
        furtflyhTuesday, October 6, 2020 at 10:14 am55 starsFeatured
        This book was a really good book. It taught me a lot that friends can change you. Jeff and Carla changed Bradley of not being alone or to even be rude to others. The problem in the book is that No one likes Bradley and people call him a monster or he has behavioral problems. The solution is, is that Jeff and Carla become his friends and help him make more friends. I think in the book, the theme is friendship. This book shows how important friendship really is. Friend can help you during hard times and be with you. It shows in the book because Jeff and Carla helped him through his problems of having no friends. Some of his traits are being a big troublemaker. Loving to tell lies to all teachers, students, adn parent. All kids are afraid of him, and he is the oldest and meanest kid in the whole entire school. I loved this book a lot. It was full of emotions and Bradley having lots of mood swings This is a kid's book but I really love it. I couldn't stop crying when I read the ending. I liked seeing Bradley changing himself by Carla's words and attitude. This book taught me a lot about empathy and self-esteem. To put yourself in someone's shoes. To care about someone's wound in the heart. To love before being loved. They are important but sometimes difficult. That's is why I think this book is not just for kids, but also an adult this is a book about bradley, he doesn't get good grades, and he is always bad behaviour, there came a new kid, who wants to be bradley's friend, and the school counselor is also helping him, but when the counselor went away he was mad, but her got better, and was friends with the new kid again, and there were gold stars next to bradley's name, finally Great book ! Funny , fantastic and talks about bullying and friendship . When Bradley Chalkers ( a boy In 4 th grade second time around ) finds a new boy ( Jeff Fishkin) to be his friend until Jeff thinks he is cool for ' punching Bradley in the eye ' then Bradley becomes friendless again I think this book is really funny and I would really recomend for children ok i love this book 5 stars Oh man I loves this book it's funny and teaches you about bullying and friendship recommend this to all it is a great book h man I loves this book it's funny and teaches you about bullying and friendship recommend this to all
        • furtflyh
          furtflyhTuesday, October 6, 2020 at 10:04 am55 stars
          A boy who fights with his school mates, and makes it difficult for anyone to like him, learns how to be accepted. This hilarious yet moving story bears all the classic hallmarks of a Sachar novel -- pace, humour, modernity and sensitivity. "Give me a dollar or I'll spit on you. " That's Bradley Chalkers for you. He's the oldest in his class, he tells enormous lies, he picks fights with girls, and teachers say he has "serious behaviour problems. " No-one likes him -- except Carla, the new school counsellor. She thinks Bradley is sensitive and generous, and she even enjoys his far-fetched stories. Carla knows that Bradley could change, if only he weren't afraid to try...A story of isolation, bravery and gradual acceptance told with great humour by Louis Sachar, the author of the brilliant Holes. i cannot go in the Girls’ Bathroom a all we 💙 Girls’ so much!!!
          • DUCK MANWednesday, September 30, 2020 at 5:48 am
            i love this book because is incredible
            • BlessedchildTuesday, September 29, 2020 at 8:29 pm
              This was one of my favorite books as a kid. I probably read it 50 to 100 times in 5th grade. Now I'm reading it to my 4th grader and he loves it 2
              • jellybean14
                jellybean14Monday, March 23, 2020 at 10:35 am55 stars
                I love this book. It's funny but kind of sad
                • hiTuesday, March 10, 2020 at 4:00 pm
                  i liked the book
                  • collision
                    collisionSaturday, August 17, 2019 at 1:47 pm
                    its been really good
                    • GirlinpinkSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 8:42 am
                      This book was a really good book. It taught me a lot that friends can change you. Jeff and Carla changed Bradley of not being alone or to even be rude to others. The problem in the book is that No one likes Bradley and people call him a monster or he has behavioral problems. The solution is, is that Jeff and Carla become his friends and help him make more friends. I think in the book, the theme is friendship. This book shows how important friendship really is. Friend can help you during hard times and be with you. It shows in the book because Jeff and Carla helped him through his problems of having no friends. Some of his traits are being a big troublemaker. Loving to tell lies to all teachers, students, adn parent. All kids are afraid of him, and he is the oldest and meanest kid in the whole entire school. I loved this book a lot. It was full of emotions and Bradley having lots of mood swings.