Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6T5.250657

A perfect murder
A faceless witness
A lone courtroom champion knows the whole truth . . . and he’s only thirteen years old
Meet Theodore Boone


In the small city of Strattenburg, there are many lawyers, and though he’s only thirteen years old, Theo Boone thinks he’s one of them. Theo knows every judge, policeman, court clerk—and a lot about the law. He dreams of being a great trial lawyer, of a life in the courtroom.

But Theo finds himself in court much sooner than expected. Because he knows so much—maybe too much—he is suddenly dragged into the middle of a sensational murder trial. A cold-blooded killer is about to go free, and only Theo knows the truth.

The stakes are high, but Theo won’t stop until justice is served.

Brimming with the intrigue and suspense that made John Grisham a #1 international bestseller and the undisputed master of the legal thriller, Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer will keep readers guessing and pages turning.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on May 25, 2010 by Dutton Children's Books
ISBN-10: 0525423842
ISBN-13: 9780525423843
45 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • olliebob
    olliebobFriday, May 3, 2019 at 9:38 am55 starsFeatured
    I LOVE THIS BOOK! I just read it a second time for a book club that I started and loved it again!!! Okay so Theo Boone is 13 and his parents are both lawyers. He's always been comfortable in a courthouse and is friends with many of the lawyers and judges there. Somehow he becomes wrapped up in the biggest case to happen in his town in many years. A murder, an illegal immigrant, and a stalker lawyer all come into play in this delightful mystery. The story doesn't dance around the facts. John Grisham deals with these topics in such a graceful manner as to make it completely appropriate without being childish. I would suggest age 10+ for this book, and definitely check out the other books in the series!
    • rishi_venky
      rishi_venkyTuesday, December 11, 2018 at 7:27 am55 starsFeatured
      Although the book progresses mostly on a lighter note, “Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer” focuses the spotlight on many taboo subjects for young adult novels. With central topics like feminism, racism, illegal immigration, political outbreaks, drug abuse, and child abuse, John Grisham manages to effectively prod at touchy subjects with so much subtlety within each subplot, that even with lots of murder, smoking, and court cases scattered throughout the plot, through the eyes of thirteen-year-old Theodore Boone, “Kid Lawyer” is surprisingly appropriate. And with all of these dark themes, it comes as no surprise that there is indeed a lot to learn in this book. Each subplot takes the reader into a new and unexplored road, and although a suspenseful cliffhanger is presented towards the end of the book, the author still manages to quietly tie all of these themes up. This results in the reader feeling like they’ve actually read a complete book instead of a book with several different subplots, although that is precisely how it feels while reading it. John Grisham’s “Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer” is many different things. Sometimes it’s a fight for justice, sometimes it’s a heart-wrenching story of family situation infused with drug and child abuse, sometimes it’s a guidebook on the court’s rules, and sometimes it’s about a murder-witnessing illegal immigrant’s unwillingness to provide the town with justice for fear of getting caught in the middle.
      • PrincessTMonday, November 26, 2018 at 3:19 am
        These series of book are amazing. I have developed an addiction for this book.
        • fastflash
          fastflashFriday, December 2, 2016 at 7:21 am55 stars
          awesome book to read.
          • sushi321
            sushi321Sunday, April 3, 2016 at 7:55 am55 stars
            I love this book! It was about a kid who knows a lot about law and helps his friend with a murder trial.
            • angelh20
              angelh20Friday, January 1, 2016 at 6:12 am55 stars
              This is a very interesting and exciting book. It is a story about a 13-year-old kid who helped solved a murder case. He is about my age but has the ability to give his classmates and teachers advice about their legal issues, which to me is very cool. From this story, I learned many legal terms and the judging system in America. I also learned that even though we think a person is guilty,we still have to say that he is innocent before the judge. I sometimes feel the same kind of hesitate that the main character feels when he doesn't want to let the murderer to just walk away but also need to keep the promise of not letting people know who the witness is. Overall, the author did a great job.
              • jamesdaniel11
                jamesdaniel11Tuesday, November 17, 2015 at 4:14 pm55 stars
                It is one of the best books ever!
                • anth
                  anthMonday, October 5, 2015 at 1:46 am
                  Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer is about an eighth grader named Theodore Boone whose parents are both lawyers. A man named Mr Duffy is accused of killing his wife, as she had a million dollar life insurance. Theodore receives information that could change the outcome of the trial dramatically. I personally liked this book as it is a page turner and I could not stop reading after reading a couple pages. My favorite character is Theodore, as he is smart and I can relate to him. I recommend this book to readers from 6th to 8th grade. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars as it is a pretty good book.
                  • casgirl
                    casgirlSaturday, September 19, 2015 at 9:54 pm55 stars
                    I like the way he wrights , it's really different , but cool at the same time . I like Theodore Boone .
                    • SmileyThursday, July 9, 2015 at 6:04 am
                      I loved this book! I would recommend this to anyone that wants to be a lawyer and likes suspense, like I do.