This lively junior novelization of the film The Tale of Despereaux tells the story of several unlikely heroes: Despereaux, a brave mouse banished to the dungeon for speaking with a human; Roscuro, a good-hearted rat who loves light and soup, but is exiled to darkness; Pea, a Princess in a gloomy castle who is prisoner to her father's grief; and Mig, a servant girl who longs to be a Princess, but is forced to serve the jailer. An eight-page full-color insert of stills from the movie is included.

Kate DiCamillo's literary classic about Despereaux Tilling has enchanted children and adults around the globe. In this tale of bravery, forgiveness and redemption, one small creature teaches a kingdom that it takes only a little light to show the truth: What you look like doesn't equal what you are. Published in 23 languages, with more than 2 million copies in print, a New York Times #1 bestseller and winner of the Newbery Medal, The Tale of Despereaux is now animated adventure from Universal Pictures.

THE TALE OF DESPEREAUX is a trademark and copyright of Universal Studios. Licensed by Universal Studios Licensing LLLP. All Rights Reserved.
Paperback, 219 pages
Published on October 14, 2008 by Candlewick Press
ISBN-10: 076364076X
ISBN-13: 9780763640767
12 Book Reviews
  • wiccanbat666
    wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:09 pm55 stars
    I really liked this book, I re-read it multiple times in elementary school and re-read it again a few months ago. This book is great.
    • thechosen1
      thechosen1Friday, June 22, 2012 at 8:28 pm55 stars
      i think the morel is that: people might care about what u wear or how u look but for u to know that and believe it, u r very foolish. people say those stuff cuz they r jealous. u shouldn't care boout all of those stuff and just be u and don't let anyone come between u and ur dreams or ur fears live ur dreams and face ur fears
      • todokroc
        todokrocSunday, April 15, 2012 at 12:17 pm33 stars
        this is a very ggod movie even though I never read the book my fav. part was when light came in the place and everyone ran away!!!!! It's so funny and soooooo cool and has action!! at first it looked waaaaaaayyyyyy stupid then when i saw the movie it was very good!! But I didn't like the blind mouse that much because his eyes were scary!! And when that mouse went to the dungon that was super creepy kind of..
        • cheez315
          cheez315Saturday, April 7, 2012 at 9:26 pm
          Its a gr8 book....who thought a small, tenny weeny mouse could be as brave to fae princess pea.... courage and 'brazeness"
          • hey
            heyThursday, April 5, 2012 at 8:44 am55 stars
            this is a really good book about a mouse who had too big of ears and was sent away because he had found a princess who he thought was very beautiful and spoke to her. Even though that's a rule against mice. the princess was very elighted by Desperaux, and knighted her as her well, knight. but i've said too much. you must read the book to find out more.
            • beccanpup
              beccanpupFriday, March 23, 2012 at 2:22 pm55 stars
              This book is amazing. it has always been one of my favorites and it is the book that inspired me to read more. i was about eight when i first read it and to this day i still love it!!!
              • bonbon123
                bonbon123Thursday, March 15, 2012 at 6:20 pm
                i read this book with my class this book is very descriptive and has a good moral if you can take it out of the book . every one should read it a find out what the red thread is all about
                • lovemuggles
                  lovemugglesThursday, March 1, 2012 at 2:53 pm33 stars
                  This book was well...cute. It wasn't exactly the best book of the year or a must read but I think that it is a cute book for children
                  • coolclaire
                    coolclaireFriday, February 3, 2012 at 6:27 pm55 stars
                    I loved this book!!!! The mouse has very unusual HUMONGOUS ears, and he is also very brave 1 He is also not into cheese and stuff.
                    • horseluver
                      horseluverWednesday, January 11, 2012 at 11:28 am55 stars
                      this little brave mouse is faced with death, but he meets a rat that helps him. this book shows that even the smallest of us can show the most courage!!! anyone should read this book