Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Paperback
Published on April 30, 2014 by HarperCollins
211 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • readingkendal
    readingkendalSunday, May 20, 2018 at 6:01 pm55 stars
    Every four years two kids are taken out of there bed away from there families forever. One good one evil. Sophie and her good looks and face creams is sure to be the one for good, and Agatha ( the witches' daughter) for evil. But when Agatha ends up in good and Sophie in evil they're sure this was a mix up. They try to undo the mix up but it will it work? As Sophie and Agatha try to go home they face challenges. Will they ever get home? Or will they be stuck there forever? Read The School for Good and Evil to find out.
    • readingkendal
      readingkendalSunday, May 20, 2018 at 4:38 am55 stars
      Every four years two kids are taken out of there bed away from there families forever. One good one evil. Sophie and her good looks and face creams is sure to be the one for good, and Agatha ( the witches' daughter) for evil. But when Agatha ends up in good and Sophie in evil they're sure this was a mix up. They try to undo the mix up but it will it work? As Sophie and Agatha try to go home they face challenges. Will they ever get home? Or will they be stuck there forever? Read The School for Good and Evil to find out.
      • bailey2005
        bailey2005Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 9:31 am55 stars
        This book really surprised me with the plot twist! (SPOILER ALERT) I was so shocked when the two main girls switched from good to evil, and evil to good! But it makes sense, in a way, but even still! The characters are funny, and the description is great!
        • geli30283
          geli30283Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 2:49 pm55 stars
          This book is absolutely one of the best books I have ever read. 2 thumbs up!
          • ipotter1
            ipotter1Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 10:52 am44 stars
            This book is amazing!!!!! The last part is a little sad and creepy. But the plot and suprises are soo cool. I can not wait to read all of the reast.
            • lillyratgirl
              lillyratgirlWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:16 am55 stars
              love this series.
              • dokidokiTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 3:25 pm
                THIS IS THE BEST BOOK IN THE HISTORY OF THE UNIVERSE. A must read for everyone filled with laughs and mystery this twisted book is totally worth your while.
                • callie_b
                  callie_bSaturday, May 12, 2018 at 12:34 pm55 starsFeatured
                  A princess and a witch....friends? Sophie is a beautiful blonde, obsessed over her looks and doing good deeds. Agatha is the opposite. She is a witch's daughter, and most of the village stays away from her and thinks she's evil, which Agatha demonstrates quite often. Sophie first becomes friends with Agatha for a good deed, but soon Sophie and Agatha become real best friends. One night, Agatha and Sophie get kidnapped from their village of Gavaldon and brought to the School of Good and Evil, where fairy-tale heroes and villains are made. Students are sorted into Evers (Good) or Nevers (Evil). Sophie has been waiting for this for her entire life, and Agatha just wants to find a way home. But then Agatha is placed into the Good school and Sophie is placed into the Evil school. Is it a mix up? Sophie and Agatha try to switch places, but it never works. Who is really Good and who is really Evil? Through classes, boys, and a faltering friendship, what will they find out about themselves and each other? Will Sophie and Agatha ever get home and find their Happily Ever After? THIS BOOK IS INCREDIBLE! Soman Chainani is amazing and I love his writing. I loved the fact that my opinion kept switching back and forth on who to root for, and who was good or evil, with all the plot twists. It was so good! Literally, right after finishing this first book in the epic series I immediately checked out the next 3 books in the series and I am eagerly awaiting the 5th book! The School for Good and Evil is a fun, engaging read that I really enjoyed, and I think you will too! I give it 5/5 stars, and I recommend it for ages 8+.
                  • readwriter
                    readwriterSaturday, May 5, 2018 at 3:35 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Sophie, the most beautiful girl in Gavaldon, has waited her whole life to be kidnapped. With her pink dresses, very extensive grooming, and devotion to helping others look their best, she's positive she'll be the top student in the School for Good. Meanwhile, Agatha, who loves black, graveyards, and being alone, is told she'd be perfect for the School for Evil. So when Sophie is thrown into Evil and Agatha into Good, Sophie is determined to get into Good and Agatha is determined to take Sophie back home. But what if Sophie really is Evil and Agatha is Good? Who is the School Master really? And, most of all, who decides who's good or evil? This is a spectacular book full of twists and turns you'll never see coming and just when you think you've figured out what's going to happen, the story goes in a direction you never would've guessed!
                    • mybooksandi
                      mybooksandiTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 2:43 pm44 stars
                      “Sophie had waited all her life to be kidnapped.” I like this book! It seemed like a Disney-type story but with lots, I mean LOTS of action. And with the drawings? This should be Disney-fied. It’s the perfect middle-grade fantasy. There was action, adventure and love. Basically, this book is about these two girls, Sophie and Agatha. They live in a town where, every twelve years, two children get kidnapped by the “School Master” and go to the School For Good and Evil. This book was great! It was light and fluffy, just the type of book you want to read during final exam week. *Sigh* CHARACTERS- Sophie and Agatha were the two main characters. I really liked Sophie’s character development throughout the novel. And Agatha too! Making mistakes then learning from them is key for Agatha in this book. SETTING The overall setting for this novel is great! I really liked the ‘fairy-tale’ theme going on. To have how characters in fairy tales developed is very interesting to me… Overall, I liked this book. It was action-y and fairy-tale-y that I instantly fell in love with this one! Four stars from me! I received an early release copy of the paperback version of this book from DogoBooks, this has not influenced my opinion.