Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.2105365

The New York Times bestselling The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she'll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie's dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are?

Paperback
Published on April 30, 2014 by HarperCollins
263 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lightninggirl
    lightninggirlTuesday, January 29, 2019 at 9:59 am55 stars
    I read this book in fifth grade. I finished the last book in re series last year after ingot it for Christmas. This is none of the best books ever! the first copy i got of the book was gifted to me from my school. I'm elementary school, there was a thing where we all got to choose one book to keep from schoolastic, that was the book I chose. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to people above grade five.
    • raindrop07
      raindrop07Sunday, January 20, 2019 at 8:47 am55 stars
      Everyone says a witch and a princess could never be friends... Or could they? In a small town called Gaveldin on the edge of the forest there lives two friends Sofie and Agatha. Sophie is beautiful and loves glamour and clothes, while Agatha likes to be alone in her house in a graveyard. Even with their differences, these two girls some-how become friends. Sophie has always longed to go to the famous School for Good and Evil and learn how to be in a fairytale. Every year the unseen schoolmaster comes and kidnaps children, one good and one evil to take to his schools. When Sophie and Agatha get taken by the schoolmaster they are sure that Agatha will be in Evil and Sophie will be in Good. But mistakes happen, and they are switched and dropped into the wrong schools. Sophie admittedly tries to prove that she is good, while Agatha tries to find a way to get them home. As Agatha battles to fit in, in her school full of princesses, beauty and boys, Sophie begs the teachers to let her switch schools. But when both girls true identity starts to shows in them, is the mistake of the switched schools actually a mistake? Can Agatha and Sophie find where they belong in their fairytale?
      • ravenclaw35
        ravenclaw35Wednesday, January 16, 2019 at 6:49 am55 stars
        This is an amazing book! Sophie is the practical image of perfect princess. And Agatha is a witch, no questions asked. But readers are mistaken. At first it might appear the best friends were taken to the wrong school because of their quarrell while being carried by large skeletal birds. Agatha was brought to the crisp clean castle with girls in large colorfu gowns and boys with shining swords. Agatha was not pleased. . Sophie was mortified. She was brought to a room with girls that scared her and then took classes that she somehow thrived in. Both girls franticly tried to go to the school of their choice but both fell into the arms of the dashing Tedros, son of King Arthur. Agatha had won his heart making Sophie go wild. She turned into witch nearly destroying the schools. Can Agatha and her prince save the day, or will her "Happily Ever After" never come true?
        • cryztalpanda
          cryztalpandaSaturday, January 12, 2019 at 7:34 pm55 stars
          the trailers are awesome and the book its self is amazing
          • damdam
            damdamMonday, January 7, 2019 at 8:14 pm55 stars
            I luv this book!!! It's my ultimate favorite. The characters and the whole story is SO good :) I recommend tis book to everyone
            • miniongirlFriday, December 28, 2018 at 6:37 pm
              I really want to read this
              • #SCHOOLFORGOODFriday, December 14, 2018 at 6:11 pm
                This book is so good. I picked it up and could NOT put it down!
                • raindrop07
                  raindrop07Wednesday, November 28, 2018 at 8:23 am55 stars
                  I have just started to read this book and I am already pulled into it!
                  • money $$$$$$$Monday, November 5, 2018 at 10:04 am
                    I love this book
                    • lumos
                      lumosSunday, August 19, 2018 at 11:41 am55 stars
                      Sophie and Agatha live in a world where there is a school for Good and Evil. For example, while princesses like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty go to the School for Good - evil witches like Queen E.V.I.L go to the School for Evil. Sophie has her hopes set for the Schoo, of Good - I mean, she’s pretty good, while her friend Agatha favored the School of Evil. However... they both enter the School for Evil. This book is too good to explain with words - it’s such a cool fantasy fairy tale, and besides, the cover? Loving it!
                             
                       

                      Our Apps and Plugins