Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.956521
The first book in a thrilling fantasy trilogy starring one of the animal kingdom's most hunted heroes. Foxcraft is full of excitement and heart, and a touch of magic.

Isla and her brother are two young foxes living just outside the lands of the furless -- humans. The life of a fox is filled with dangers, but Isla has begun to learn mysterious skills meant to help her survive.

Then the unthinkable happens. Returning to her den, Isla finds it set ablaze and surrounded by strange foxes, and her family is nowhere in sight. Forced to flee, she escapes into the cold, gray world of the furless.

Now Isla must navigate this bewildering and deadly terrain, all while being hunted by a ruthless enemy. In order to survive, she will need to master the ancient arts of her kind -- magical gifts of cunning known only to foxes. She must unravel the secrets of foxcraft.

 

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on September 29, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545690811
ISBN-13: 9780545690812
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • squirrelflight
    squirrelflightWednesday, August 26, 2020 at 11:05 am44 stars
    “Failure is not an option.” Isla is a young fox who lives a dangerous life. She must always be vigilant for other animals, enemy foxes—and most importantly, the furless humans who prowl right outside her family’s den. Survival in a world ravaged by the furless is hard, but soon, she will learn some ancient skills used by her kind for many generations, that can help her stay alive. But one day, Isla finds her den set on fire and crowded with strange foxes—vicious ones, whose job might be to hunt her down. Her brother is nowhere to be seen. Alone and exhausted, she must flee her past...and do the unthinkable; she must go into the dark, unwelcoming land of the furless. Can she survive? Read this book to find out!
    • bookworms4ever
      bookworms4everMonday, August 10, 2020 at 12:10 pm55 stars
      I love it so much! Excited to buy 2nd one! Spoiler: Why did Isla have to leave Sriffin? 😭
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:19 pm55 stars
        Isla lives just outside the lands of the furless. The life of a fox is dangerous, and Isla is learning skills to help her survive. However, one day Isla returns to her den, and her family is no where to be seen. Instead, she finds her den surrounded by strange foxes. She is forced to flee into the world of the furless. In order to survive, she will have to learn the secrets of foxcraft. This book was interesting, and I recommend it to people who also enjoy the Warrior Cats series. I rate it 5/5.
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolMonday, June 1, 2020 at 2:48 pm55 stars
          Isla lives just outside the lands of the furless. The life of a fox is dangerous, and Isla is learning skills to help her survive. However, one day Isla returns to her den, and her family is no where to be seen. Instead, she finds her den surrounded by strange foxes. She is forced to flee into the world of the furless. In order to survive, she will have to learn the secrets of foxcraft. This book was interesting, and I recommend it to people who also enjoy the Warrior Cats series. I rate it 5/5.
          • Meadow15Saturday, May 26, 2018 at 8:52 pm
            This review is pretty late, but oh well. I found Foxcraft a decent read. I felt that it got confusing and slow at times, especially between large, dramatic events where the only thing to fill in the gaps is detailed descriptions of surroundings, which get tiring, distracting, and downright boring to read. When it wasn't slow, it was too quickly-paced, with one dramatic event following another with little rest in between, which took away the element of surprise and eventually began to bore me. It could almost be called a drama-conga-line, just one thing after another. The magical elements could be interesting and believable at times, but as the story developed and the plot thickened, they began to use magic at every turn to solve pretty much every problem without any real consequences other than momentary fatigue, which seems to abandon them whenever they need to go fast. It would be more interesting to see them come up with unique ways of solving her problems, rather than "Oh, I'll just use some fox magic!" It would also add to the story if some of the foxes and other characters that she meets find her later. While I get that she's in a large city and seeing the animals again would be unlikely, at least seeing one character again would make the story more interesting rather than several come-and-go characters. Most characters that she meets are described in great detail and given some personality - then never seen again. The fox-vocab also tended to confuse me sometimes, especially near the beginning of the story, where it was hard to figure out what things were and I had to really think. The "Wildway" was a bit tough to figure out at first, as well as "manglers". Other than that, Foxcraft is a great read for readers ages 8-10 - a little out of my age range, but oh well. However, if you can't stand immense detail and slow plot progression, I wouldn't recommend this book to you.
            • FoxQueenThursday, May 17, 2018 at 10:52 am
              i lOOOOOOOOVVVVVEEEE this book!!!!!!!! its the best book ever.
              • pieasaurusrex21
                pieasaurusrex21Thursday, July 27, 2017 at 4:15 pm55 stars
                Foxcraft: The Taken is full of twists and thrills, sure to keep the reader engaged and hungry for what's going to happen next.
                • aldsfj npqb394yMonday, March 20, 2017 at 4:42 pm
                  its a really cool book! it reminds me of warriors. Both series are absolutely awesome
                  • neatpeople
                    neatpeopleWednesday, March 15, 2017 at 2:36 pm55 stars
                    This book is so cool and awesome so good!!!! I also liked book 2 The Elders!!!
                    • magic06
                      magic06Monday, January 30, 2017 at 5:35 pm55 stars
                      So Awesome! I loved it!