Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T3.843967
A young girl learns she’s half mermaid and plunges into a scheme to reunite with her father in this entrancing, satisfying tale that beckons readers far below the waves.

For as long as she can remember, twelve-year-old Emily Windsnap has lived on a boat. And, oddly enough, for just as long, her mother has seemed anxious to keep Emily away from the water. But when Mom finally agrees to let her take swimming lessons, Emily makes a startling discovery — about her own identity, the mysterious father she’s never met, and the thrilling possibilities and perils shimmering deep below the water’s surface. With a sure sense of suspense and richly imaginative details, first-time author Liz Kessler lures us into a glorious undersea world where mermaids study shipwrecks at school and Neptune rules with an iron trident — an enchanting fantasy about family secrets, loyal friendship, and the convention-defying power of love.
Paperback
Published on August 6, 2015 by ORION CHILDREN'S
ISBN-10: 1444015095
ISBN-13: 9781444015096
101 Book Reviews
  • bigfnaffan
    bigfnaffanThursday, January 28, 2021 at 8:39 am44 stars
    It is a really good book and I would recommend this book for ages 10+ it has a lot of chalenges you might say.
    • arianaeverdeen
      arianaeverdeenWednesday, February 3, 2021 at 4:43 pm33 stars
      Not true, I would recommend this book for kids ages 7-10. I loved this book when I was younger, so I decided to review it today. It was still pretty entertaining, but I finished it within half an hour, and it didn't leave much of an impact on me. So if you're in elementary, this is a great choice for you!
    • Plz_Follow_MeThursday, December 10, 2020 at 1:46 pm
      I totally recommend you this book! Its a awesome book about a girl who becomes a mermaid There are books 1-7. Full pf adventure and mystery! :) Please read it!
      • howls
        howlsFriday, June 12, 2020 at 7:09 am55 stars
        The is a great book it's a girl who is part human but the dust is mermaid I read it like 6times
        • raindrop07
          raindrop07Friday, May 15, 2020 at 12:23 pm55 stars
          Ever since the beginning, Emily has lived on a boat with her mom. But oddly, her mom has always tried to keep Emily away from the water...until Emily persuades her to let her take swimming lessons. That's when Emily finds that she is part mermaid. Her life is turned upside down when she is welcomed into the under-the-sea world of mermaids and the truth about her past begins to unfurl in front of her eyes. Emily is determined to find out the real events of the past and then learn how to be a mermaid and a human. All at the same time. This is an amazing book about mystery, family and bravery and I encourage all lovers of mermaids, friendship and the power of magic to read it!
          • sportysinger
            sportysingerTuesday, March 3, 2020 at 11:15 am
            I think this book was ok. I don't have anything against Liz Kessler but I don't think this was one of her best books. I really think some of the choices that she should have made as to the author, that she did not make, I only read the first one and I am going to give the other ones a try but I am not all too crazy about the first one and I doubt I will like the rest of them.
            • Cap AKFriday, October 11, 2019 at 6:27 am
              Great book!!! I got the full series on a sick week, and pretty much did nothing but read!
              • shayshaygirl25
                shayshaygirl25Monday, August 12, 2019 at 7:08 am55 stars
                I read this book and it taught me that everyone is special.
                • shantzj
                  shantzjWednesday, December 11, 2019 at 5:11 pm
                  That is a good lesson to learn.
                • 406kitten
                  406kittenFriday, July 26, 2019 at 10:08 am55 stars
                  This book is amazing! It has really great characters, and it wants to make you laugh and cry. I loved it so much I put on hold the 2 3 and 4! I really recommend it for people who love mermaids.
                  • reader2009
                    reader2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 8:38 pm55 stars
                    I love this book. It has a great storyline with great characters and amazing detail. This book makes me want to be a mermaid! I can't wait to read the other books in the series.
                    • VenusTuesday, July 23, 2019 at 5:21 pm
                      Tt😍Emily Windsnap is very interesting to read about