Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.793316

From A to Z, the Penguin Drop Caps series collects 26 unique hardcovers—featuring cover art by Jessica Hische

It all begins with a letter. Fall in love with Penguin Drop Caps, a new series of twenty-six collectible and hardcover editions, each with a type cover showcasing a gorgeously illustrated letter of the alphabet. In a design collaboration between Jessica Hische and Penguin Art Director Paul Buckley, the series features unique cover art by Hische, a superstar in the world of type design and illustration, whose work has appeared everywhere from Tiffany & Co. to Wes Anderson's recent film Moonrise Kingdom to Penguin's own bestsellers Committed and Rules of Civility. With exclusive designs that have never before appeared on Hische's hugely popular Daily Drop Cap blog, the Penguin Drop Caps series launches with six perennial favorites to give as elegant gifts, or to showcase on your own shelves.

K is for Kidd. Set in South Carolina during the tumultuous summer of 1964, The Secret Life of Bees also ushered young Lily Owens, a girl transformed by the power and divinity of the female spirit, into the canon of modern-day heroines. Lily and her fierce-hearted black “stand-in mother” escape the racism of their hometown and find refuge with an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters, whose world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna is mesmerizing.

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on May 7, 2013 by Penguin Books
ISBN-10: 0143124323
ISBN-13: 9780143124320
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dancera116
    dancera116Wednesday, February 11, 2015 at 7:56 pm
    I think this is an amazing book, but it is a little sad. I think that is what makes it so addicting.
    • brownie_forever
      brownie_foreverWednesday, February 11, 2015 at 5:06 pm55 stars
      This is a great book but also a very sad book I couldn't stop reading the book!I read it in 2 days! It has a very interesting plot and also very melancholy parts I definitely recommend this book.
      • lizzie5205
        lizzie5205Wednesday, February 11, 2015 at 5:06 pm
        "Place a beehive in my grave and let the honey soak through. When I'm dead and gone that's what I want from you." Singing songs like that is what Lily and her caregiver, Rosaleen, do when they run away from Lily's mean, uncaring father. Because this is set in the 1960's Rosaleen who is black gets put in jail. I think it's really exciting when Lily breaks her out. "I watched as the policeman put on his hat and walked down the corridor and out the door. When Rosaleen and I stepped from her room, I looked left, then right." This part seems really suspenseful and makes you want to keep reading to see what happens next. If you want to read a great book about beekeeping sisters, black Madonna and other funny adventures, I really recommend you read this book.
        • brownie_forever
          brownie_foreverThursday, September 4, 2014 at 3:04 pm55 stars
          This is a great book but also a very sad book I couldn't stop reading the book!I read it in 2 days! It has a very interesting plot and also very melancholy parts I definitely recommend this book.
          • lizzie5205
            lizzie5205Tuesday, October 15, 2013 at 5:55 pm
            "Place a beehive in my grave and let the honey soak through. When I'm dead and gone that's what I want from you." Singing songs like that is what Lily and her caregiver, Rosaleen, do when they run away from Lily's mean, uncaring father. Because this is set in the 1960's Rosaleen who is black gets put in jail. I think it's really exciting when Lily breaks her out. "I watched as the policeman put on his hat and walked down the corridor and out the door. When Rosaleen and I stepped from her room, I looked left, then right." This part seems really suspenseful and makes you want to keep reading to see what happens next. If you want to read a great book about beekeeping sisters, black Madonna and other funny adventures, I really recommend you read this book.
            • starjumper
              starjumperThursday, October 18, 2012 at 9:06 pm55 stars
              I think this would be a great book for anyone who is interested in the Civil Rights Movement and for anyone who won't be to disappointed if their book gets some tear stains on it.
              • gum98
                gum98Tuesday, August 21, 2012 at 9:25 am
                I had to read this book for summer reading. I thought that at first the book was a little boring but I feel in love with it by the end. I recommend this for ages 12 and up.
                • monkeylady
                  monkeyladyFriday, June 29, 2012 at 4:50 pm55 stars
                  This is such a great book! It is on my summer reading list and at first i was skeptical but i am totally loving it now. It is set in the 60's, and it is about a girl who runs away from home with her nanny. they go to a pink house, where the people living there are bee keepers. this book deels with love, race, religion, and sadness. this book is in the adult section, so i do not recommend it to younger audience.