Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.6135898
A New York Times Bestseller!

This heart-pounding mystery adventure, by the author of the New York Times bestselling series The Mysterious Benedict Society, is laced with magic and humor

A magical watch
A string of secrets
A race against time

When Reuben discovers an extraordinary antique watch, he soon learns it has a secret power and his life takes an intriguing turn. At first he is thrilled with his new treasure, but as one secret leads to another, Reuben finds himself torn between his innately honest nature and the lure to be a hero.

Now he is on a dangerous adventure--full of curious characters, treacherous traps, and hairsbreadth escapes--as he races to solve the mystery before it is too late. Even with fearless Penny, mighty Jack, and the wise Mrs. Genevieve on his side, can Reuben outwit and outmaneuver the sly villain called The Smoke and his devious defenders the Directions and save the city from a terrible fate?

In this ingeniously crafted novel, acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Trenton Lee Stewart invites readers to join the adventure, decipher the clues, and ask themselves the question: Is knowing a secret a gift or a curse?

Hardcover, 512 pages
Published on September 27, 2016 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316389552
ISBN-13: 9780316389556
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jb9
    jb9Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 5:33 am55 stars
    💜👍 this is like the best book series ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please read this s series it is the like best best best!!
    • banana34
      banana34Monday, January 23, 2017 at 8:57 am
      this is a VERY good book! You should read it!
      • mrs_ihrig
        mrs_ihrigMonday, October 24, 2016 at 12:49 pm
        I would like to add this book to my classroom library, so that ALL of my students can enjoy reading it! :)
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesThursday, October 13, 2016 at 10:38 am55 stars
          i dont need to win this book because i bought it the day it came out!!!
          • yellow43528
            yellow43528Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 5:00 am
            This books looks really good. I would like to read it.
            • cameronThursday, October 6, 2016 at 7:46 am
              it was awsome im a 4th grader
              • demosthenes
                demosthenesTuesday, October 4, 2016 at 4:12 pm55 stars
                okay ... i just got this book SOO i'm happy...
                • bananabird
                  bananabirdSunday, October 2, 2016 at 10:07 am
                  I want to read this book because i read the online blurb and it sounded good. And then I love the author Trenton Lee Stewart.
                  • demosthenes
                    demosthenesFriday, September 30, 2016 at 11:04 am55 stars
                    OKAY! literally i can't wait for this book! i've read a lot of trenton lee stewart and this JUST came out and i can't wait to get it!!!!!
                    • sisikitty
                      sisikittyTuesday, September 27, 2016 at 2:17 pm
                      that book looks so interesting and everybody is typing such good reviews and I kind of really want a spoiler . I know that you cant tell but I am talking really fast. O my gosh I just said o my gurd I am falling apart here people