Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.274098
When a marauder destroys the underground sanctuary that Eva Nine was raised in by the robot Muthr, the twelve-year-year-old girl is forced to flee aboveground. Eva Nine is searching for anyone else like her, for she knows that other humans exist, because of an item she treasures—a scrap of cardboard on which is depicted a young girl, an adult, and a robot, with the strange word, “WondLa.” Tony DiTerlizzi honors traditional children’s literature in this totally original space age adventure: one that is as complex as an alien planet, but as simple as a child’s wish for a place to belong.

Breathtaking two-color illustrations throughout reveal another dimension of Tony DiTerlizzi’s vision, and, for those readers with a webcam, the book also features Augmented Reality in several places, revealing additional information about Eva Nine’s world.
Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on September 21, 2010 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416983104
ISBN-13: 9781416983101
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • glitterclaws
    glitterclawsThursday, March 12, 2020 at 1:49 pm55 stars
    The search for wondLA is a great book it really shows the reader how the characters are feeling I loved this book. It brings you on a adventure as you follow Eva nine as she makes friends and enemies on a attention grabbing adventure.
    • avanumbereight
      avanumbereightWednesday, March 11, 2020 at 7:06 pm55 starsFeatured
      Besteel, a creature that destroyed Eva Nine's sanctuary, shows up at certain times to hurt Eva and her friends. Eva Nine is forced to leave Muthur and she saved two creatures, Otto and Rovendor Kitt. She faces obstacles and many journeys trying to find a human like her. Eva has never seen a human, only in shows and movies. She finds a cardboard paper that reads "Wond" and "La". I made a connection to this book, because Eva Nine is eager to find a human species like her. This reminds me of trying to find someone like me to fit in with and be friends with. I rated this book a five star, because I loved following Eva Nine on her journey to find someone like her. I also loved to see Eva make friends along the way. I would recommend this book to my sister, because I feel she would be the only person that I know to give the book a shot at reading.
      • glitterclaws
        glitterclawsThursday, October 31, 2019 at 12:53 pm55 stars
        I love this book full of suspense and adventure, about Eva nine and her friend roverder kit, please tell me if that is spelled wrong.
        • singing_sloth
          singing_slothWednesday, May 8, 2019 at 12:10 pm55 stars
          BEST SCI-FI Book ever. I HATE Sci-Fi, but loved this book. Can't wait to read the other 2!
          • cast123
            cast123Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at 3:25 am55 starsFeatured
            Absolutely amazing; Wondla is about a girl named Eva Nine who is being raised by a robot named muthr in an underground home. An incident happens where Eva is force out of her home. Leaving the safety of her home into a world that is completely unknown to her she must carryon to discover the meaning to her Wondla. This book has such amazing details and the world is fantastic. The are also beautiful illustrations in the book that help with the story!
            • eyp
              eypWednesday, September 21, 2016 at 3:44 pm44 stars
              I liked this book it has a lot of adventure
              • catylizard
                catylizardSunday, May 10, 2015 at 10:17 am
                this was the best book ever it is the saddest cuz of muthr i cried my eyes out in front of my class
                • candylove
                  candyloveMonday, March 23, 2015 at 8:11 am44 starsFeatured
                  Looking for that perfect science fiction novel that you never want to put down? The Search for WondLa is the perfect book for you. About a girl named Eva Nine and her robot, Muthr who has raised her for as long as Eva knows. Eva longs to see more humans. One day, a creature invades their sanctuary and Eva and Muthr are forced to evacuate. They trample through the strangest of creatures while Eva hopes to find more humans, and Muthr hopes they can get back home. A story of love between a girl and a robot, and a story of adventure between Eva and the world is told by Tony DiTerlizzi with suspense and a secret feeling that all readers get when they read: The Search for WondLa.
                  • ajwerth307
                    ajwerth307Monday, June 3, 2013 at 6:24 pm55 stars
                    This was a great book it was magical and mythical it was a lovely book I would definitely read again.
                    • cogargirl247
                      cogargirl247Monday, April 15, 2013 at 2:25 pm55 stars
                      it was a good book.the huntsman looks like peeta