Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.446515

Robie is an experienced traveler. She's taken the flight from Honolulu to the Midway Atoll, a group of Pacific islands where her parents live, many times. When she has to get to Midway in a hurry after a visit with her aunt in Hawaii, she gets on the next cargo flight at the last minute. She knows the pilot, but on this flight, there's a new co-pilot named Max. All systems are go until a storm hits during the flight. The only passenger, Robie doesn't panic until the engine suddenly cuts out and Max shouts at her to put on a life jacket. They are over miles of Pacific Ocean. She sees Max struggle with a raft.

And then . . . she's in the water. Fighting for her life. Max pulls her onto the raft, and that's when the real terror begins. They have no water. Their only food is a bag of Skittles. There are sharks. There is an island. But there's no sign of help on the way.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on August 21, 2012 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 0312650108
ISBN-13: 9780312650100
18 Book Reviews
  • meSunday, November 5, 2017 at 2:07 pm
    great choice! I read this book before, and it is pretty good.
    • hummingbird1
      hummingbird1Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 1:27 pm55 stars
      Robie has been on the plane from Honolulu to Midway a whole bunch of times. So when takes the Cargo plane to Midway from Honolulu, she doesn't worry or panic. She knows she will be safe, just like all the other times she's taken the flight. But in the middle of the flight back to Midway, all of that changes. A bad storm occurs, and one of the plane's engines fails. There is too much weight on the plane for one engine, and the plane can't stay in control. A life jacket is thrown onto Robie, and she is thrown out of the plane into the ocean where there is a raft waiting for her. Out of the three people on the plane, two survive: Robie and the co-piloit Max. WIth Max asleep half the time, Robie has to figure out how to fend for themselves in the middle of the ocean with no water or food except for a bag of Skittles. Can Robie find a way for them to survive until rescue comes or until it's too late? The Raft is an amazing book. You will be hooked from the beginning to the end, and it has a lot of unexpected twists. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 11+.
      • duncanthedog516
        duncanthedog516Thursday, July 20, 2017 at 10:00 am55 stars
        The Raft is an amazing book with a lot of twists and a HUGE twist at the end. This book is about a girl whose plane crashes in the middle of the ocean. I wish I could tell you more, but I can't do that without spoiling anything.
        • tripathyaditi12
          tripathyaditi12Sunday, June 4, 2017 at 7:15 pm44 stars
          Robie takes a normal flight, expecting to go to Midway Atoll. However problems arrive, and the plane crashes. Robie has no idea what to do, and she and her friend barely have any supplies to survive.
          • ajg16
            ajg16Monday, January 9, 2017 at 6:59 pm55 stars
            This is a great book its about this girl who lives on an island called the midway atoll and she goes to visit her aunt on Honolulu and she leaves early on the plane but no one now but the pilot and new co-pilot Max all is good until a bad storm hits they lose an engine next thing she No's the plane's going down max gets her to the raft now there stuck at sea with no water and a bag of skittles if you want to no what happens next then read the book. ☺☺☺⚓🚣
            • kMonday, November 9, 2015 at 9:02 am
              I read it Its amazing
              • savannah12
                savannah12Friday, September 11, 2015 at 8:59 am
                oh i think this book sounds so good and kinda creepy
                • artpotato
                  artpotatoFriday, September 11, 2015 at 8:58 am
                  I wanted to read this book because at first, I thought it was weird. But then, I just for fun, I read the back. It got me really hooked on to the story and so I want to read it.
                  • aidanlynde
                    aidanlyndeTuesday, June 30, 2015 at 8:40 am
                    I really liked this book because i thought the fact that the person who the main character thought was with her was actually an illusion in her head. I thought the way that she found that out was also really intriguing.
                    • adevolder
                      adevolderThursday, May 7, 2015 at 8:39 am55 stars
                      I LOVE THIS BOOK!