Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6Z+4.862376
Read the cult-favorite coming of age story that takes a sometimes heartbreaking, often hysterical, and always honest look at high school in all its glory. Now a major motion picture starring Logan Lerman and Emma Watson, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a funny, touching, and haunting modern classic.

The critically acclaimed debut novel from Stephen Chbosky, Perks follows observant “wallflower” Charlie as he charts a course through the strange world between adolescence and adulthood. First dates, family drama, and new friends. Sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Devastating loss, young love, and life on the fringes. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie must learn to navigate those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

A #1 New York Times best seller for more than a year, an American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults (2000) and Best Book for Reluctant Readers (2000), and with millions of copies in print, this novel for teen readers (or “wallflowers” of more-advanced age) will make you laugh, cry, and perhaps feel nostalgic for those moments when you, too, tiptoed onto the dance floor of life.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on August 14, 2012 by MTV Books
ISBN-10: 1451696205
ISBN-13: 9781451696202
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nicegirl123
    nicegirl123Friday, July 10, 2020 at 7:23 pm55 stars
    This book must be read by everyone!! I loved this book so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • domogirl123
      domogirl123Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 3:43 pm22 stars
      It was just not my type of book. I think that others will really like it though
      • mortalnstrument
        mortalnstrumentSunday, October 30, 2016 at 1:23 pm55 stars
        I loved it. I love how Stephen Chbosky wrote this novel as if he was actually Charlie and was living a teenage life again.
        • kiking_owl
          kiking_owlThursday, October 6, 2016 at 9:06 am55 stars
          amazing and very touching book. i suggest this to everyone
          • pastelprincess
            pastelprincessMonday, October 6, 2014 at 6:04 pm55 stars
            my favorite art of the book was the poem in it tilted "chops" . Highly HIGHLY recommended/////
            • austinismine4l
              austinismine4lTuesday, August 19, 2014 at 4:51 pm55 stars
              this is the story of charlie, the girl hes in love with and his friends. it captures how he feels about highschool and life. this book will save your life.
              • musicstar731
                musicstar731Wednesday, March 19, 2014 at 11:01 am55 stars
                I think that this book is truly a glimpse into the life of a struggling teen. The Perks of Being A Wallflower is a heartfelt, beautiful story that I believe everyone should read.
                • belieber4life
                  belieber4lifeTuesday, February 4, 2014 at 2:47 pm
                  i love it !!!! my new favorite book. the movie isnt that bad.
                  • safa Thursday, January 23, 2014 at 6:22 pm
                    this book lets us catch a glimpse at teenage life if you aren't a teenager. this book is filled with journal entries but it actually feels like a story not entries.
                    • edmodo-saxcxml4sr
                      edmodo-saxcxml4srTuesday, January 14, 2014 at 10:05 am
                      Awesome book !