Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.971675
The People of Sparks picks up where The City of Ember leaves off. Lina and Doon have emerged from the underground city to the exciting new world above, and it isn’t long before they are followed by the other inhabitants of Ember. The Emberites soon come across a town where they are welcomed, fed, and given places to sleep. But the town’s resources are limited and it isn’t long before resentment begins to grow between the two groups. When anonymous acts of vandalism push them toward violence, it’s up to Lina and Doon to discover who’s behind the vandalism and why, before it’s too late.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 25, 2004 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375828249
ISBN-13: 9780375828249
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • syjemone-158023957542
    syjemone-158023957542Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 8:30 pm55 stars
    This book is exactly what it needed to be following up a great book like "The City of Ember". It has the drama you need for a good fiction book, and most people can definitely relate to this book. This book shows relatable scenes about how people are different and how they can fight about their differences. The author nailed the new and old characters, and the book has a satisfying ending. The book was great. You should read it.
    • wuhidyny-158023957608
      wuhidyny-158023957608Friday, January 31, 2020 at 8:48 am55 stars
      This book starts off after the two main characters in The City of Ember escaped Ember and got to the surface. I really liked this book because it had new and original characters that were really easy to like/dislike. This book also has drama and from what the back of the book spoke about, "the war". This book is full of drama, action, and adventure and I really liked it. I would definitely recommend this for someone that likes those types of things, or if you read the first book.
      • 1000booksby35
        1000booksby35Saturday, February 16, 2019 at 8:44 am55 stars
        A lot of work and imagination was put into this book and that is why I love it
        • RfghgbMonday, December 17, 2018 at 9:46 am
          It’s soooo awesome I. Reading it right now!
          • panda12349147
            panda12349147Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 3:49 pm55 stars
            I read the first book and it was fabulous and I want to know what's going to happen the city of ember people.
            • jhinkle6
              jhinkle6Thursday, April 28, 2016 at 7:22 am44 stars
              This book was good I liked Doon and I hated Tick at first I thought Tick would become the government or the leader.
              • mibarra
                mibarraThursday, April 28, 2016 at 7:14 am55 stars
                The genre is scifi. The main charectars are Lina, Doon,Tick, and Torren. There is a series I liked the first book better.
                • amartinez4
                  amartinez4Thursday, April 28, 2016 at 7:13 am33 stars
                  This book was good but I think that the first one is better. I am looking forward to reading the third book. There are some new characters to this series. The ending was just so sudden.
                  • Patriots_fanWednesday, February 4, 2015 at 1:37 pm
                    Book was horrible the first one was better just not a good series
                    • brielle-smiles
                      brielle-smilesThursday, December 11, 2014 at 8:06 pm
                      This is an AMAZING sequel. I liked it better than the first book.