Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.971675
The People of Sparks picks up where The City of Ember leaves off. Lina and Doon have emerged from the underground city to the exciting new world above, and it isn’t long before they are followed by the other inhabitants of Ember. The Emberites soon come across a town where they are welcomed, fed, and given places to sleep. But the town’s resources are limited and it isn’t long before resentment begins to grow between the two groups. When anonymous acts of vandalism push them toward violence, it’s up to Lina and Doon to discover who’s behind the vandalism and why, before it’s too late.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on May 25, 2004 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375828249
ISBN-13: 9780375828249
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 1000booksby35
    1000booksby35Saturday, February 16, 2019 at 8:44 am55 stars
    A lot of work and imagination was put into this book and that is why I love it
    • RfghgbMonday, December 17, 2018 at 9:46 am
      It’s soooo awesome I. Reading it right now!
      • panda12349147
        panda12349147Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 3:49 pm55 stars
        I read the first book and it was fabulous and I want to know what's going to happen the city of ember people.
        • jhinkle6
          jhinkle6Thursday, April 28, 2016 at 7:22 am44 stars
          This book was good I liked Doon and I hated Tick at first I thought Tick would become the government or the leader.
          • mibarra
            mibarraThursday, April 28, 2016 at 7:14 am55 stars
            The genre is scifi. The main charectars are Lina, Doon,Tick, and Torren. There is a series I liked the first book better.
            • amartinez4
              amartinez4Thursday, April 28, 2016 at 7:13 am33 stars
              This book was good but I think that the first one is better. I am looking forward to reading the third book. There are some new characters to this series. The ending was just so sudden.
              • Patriots_fanWednesday, February 4, 2015 at 1:37 pm
                Book was horrible the first one was better just not a good series
                • brielle-smiles
                  brielle-smilesThursday, December 11, 2014 at 8:06 pm
                  This is an AMAZING sequel. I liked it better than the first book.
                  • smilecrazy
                    smilecrazyTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 10:34 am44 stars
                    I SUGGEST YOU READ IT!!
                    • smilecrazy
                      smilecrazyTuesday, October 21, 2014 at 10:33 am44 stars
                      Im half way through this book and i REALLY like it!!!! I MISS THE OLD DOON!