Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 3 - 12Z4.748523
Ponyboy is 14 years old, tough and confused, yet sensitive beneath his bold front. Since his parents' deaths, his loyalties have been to his brothers and his gang, the rough boys from the wrong side of the tracks. When his best friend kills a member of a rival gang, a nightmare of violence begins and quickly envelops Ponyboy in a turbulent chain of events.
Hardcover, 132 pages
Published on January 15, 1996 by Nelson Thornes Ltd
ISBN-10: 0174323611
ISBN-13: 9780174323617
106 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • armcginn
    armcginnSaturday, July 11, 2020 at 9:03 am55 stars
    From Teen author S.E. Hinton comes a compelling tale of a fierce rivalry between the Socs- the privileged, the jet-set, the west side rich kids, and the wilder, lower-class Greasers. When 14-year-old greaser Ponyboy and his best friend Johnny get jumped by the Socs one night, things go terribly wrong. His life in a whirlwind, Pony struggles to find his way in the world with his parents long gone he must seek the aid of his brothers, Soda and Darry, and the gang, friends as close as brothers- he knows where his loyalties lie, but he knows he can't live this way forever- what will he do?
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderMonday, May 18, 2020 at 7:25 am22 stars
      This book was okay because it contained some content that shouldn't be there for kids to read. It talked about smokers that were kids, death, and other violence. Ponyboy's parents died, but he still has his brothers and the other greasers. They are like a gang, but when Something happens in Pony's household, he runs away with Johnny. What happens next will blow your mind, but also make you very sad. As I said, this book was okay, but I still recommend this book for ages 16 and up.
      • chocolaterolls
        chocolaterollsSunday, January 12, 2020 at 6:11 am44 stars
        This book is almost like a retelling of West Side Story, with slighly younger characters. It may be a little violent, with murders and gang fights, but it is an overall very wonderful book.
        • ava_colors
          ava_colorsMonday, December 2, 2019 at 6:48 am55 stars
          This book was amazing and I loved it so much. it was all about the group of boys (the greasers) and their life and how it was so tough for them and the way that they were treated in the world with disrespect. I loved this book so much and I would more than happily read it again.
          • addyl97
            addyl97Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 8:43 pm
            This is book is truly a work of art. It displays a group of boys (greasers) who are despised just by the way they dress , look , and act. Which is something many young kids may relate too in the fact that this is still going on in the world today. There is also another group on the other side of town call the soc's and they are the ones who judge the greasers just because they don't live the fancy life or have nice cars. They judged them for something that was so ridiculous , but the greasers changed for the good of themselves and not for the good of others. There is another lesson to be learned from this book it is the lesson of friendship. The greasers stuck together through everything and anything. There were always there for each other no matter what and they always forgave each other if somebody did something wrong. Another, thing is that they stuck up for each other. This book is a must for people who are interested in books about friendship, rivalry , and more.
            • clarenceunicorn
              clarenceunicornFriday, July 26, 2019 at 2:23 am55 stars
              I am homeschooled and I had to read this for a book club. I don't really like reading classics as they are written in that old style, but I really enjoyed this.
              • YayeetWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 7:26 pm
                Oh boy as I have a deep respect for the author who wrote this book, writing it at the young age of just 16, you can tell so by the writing style and diction I still believe that you should just skip the book and watch the movie because the best thing you are going to get out of the story line is Rob lowe👌
                • raidersgirl14
                  raidersgirl14Wednesday, January 2, 2019 at 10:13 am55 stars
                  I also had to read this book in school! :)
                  • raidersgirl14
                    raidersgirl14Wednesday, January 2, 2019 at 10:11 am55 stars
                    I think this book is one of the best reads on planet earth and is so correct about how things used to be back in those years
                    • crazyunicorn333
                      crazyunicorn333Monday, November 12, 2018 at 5:52 pm55 starsFeatured
                      I had to read this book as a class assignment, and I have to say I have nevver been more interested in a clss asigned book. I love the 50s plot, and I have to say I disagree with my other reviewers. The fact that this book mentions real life issues makes it more realatable for the readers. Reviewker Kolan.. mentions that they are smoking at a young age, the plot of the book was in a time long ago were those kind of things are normal. I find it interestion to see how many things are different then to now.
                      • bookstory14
                        bookstory14Friday, November 16, 2018 at 5:08 pm55 stars
                        I had to read it in class too! It was awesome! The sad part for me was when (spoiler) Johnny died. Everyone was like NOU!!!! Your review was perfect! I love it! Good job!