Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 3 - 12Z4.748523
Ponyboy is 14 years old, tough and confused, yet sensitive beneath his bold front. Since his parents' deaths, his loyalties have been to his brothers and his gang, the rough boys from the wrong side of the tracks. When his best friend kills a member of a rival gang, a nightmare of violence begins and quickly envelops Ponyboy in a turbulent chain of events.
Hardcover, 132 pages
Published on January 15, 1996 by Nelson Thornes Ltd
ISBN-10: 0174323611
ISBN-13: 9780174323617
99 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • YayeetWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 7:26 pm
    Oh boy as I have a deep respect for the author who wrote this book, writing it at the young age of just 16, you can tell so by the writing style and diction I still believe that you should just skip the book and watch the movie because the best thing you are going to get out of the story line is Rob loweπŸ‘Œ
    • raidersgirl14
      raidersgirl14Wednesday, January 2, 2019 at 10:13 am55 stars
      I also had to read this book in school! :)
      • raidersgirl14
        raidersgirl14Wednesday, January 2, 2019 at 10:11 am55 stars
        I think this book is one of the best reads on planet earth and is so correct about how things used to be back in those years
        • crazyunicorn333
          crazyunicorn333Monday, November 12, 2018 at 5:52 pm55 starsFeatured
          I had to read this book as a class assignment, and I have to say I have nevver been more interested in a clss asigned book. I love the 50s plot, and I have to say I disagree with my other reviewers. The fact that this book mentions real life issues makes it more realatable for the readers. Reviewker Kolan.. mentions that they are smoking at a young age, the plot of the book was in a time long ago were those kind of things are normal. I find it interestion to see how many things are different then to now.
          • bookstory13
            bookstory13Friday, November 16, 2018 at 5:08 pm55 stars
            I had to read it in class too! It was awesome! The sad part for me was when (spoiler) Johnny died. Everyone was like NOU!!!! Your review was perfect! I love it! Good job!
          • james10Friday, May 25, 2018 at 7:37 am
            i love the plot and story
            • KolanWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 5:30 am
              The Outsiders is a horrible book with a pointless plot line, no character development, and inappropriate for middle schoolers because there was a suicide, boring settings, unrelatable characters, unintelligible dialogue, smoking at 12, cussing, extreme violence, idiotic names, very depressing because almost everyone dies: Dally, Johnny, Ponyboy’s parents, and Bob, old-fashioned, encouragement of violence, smoking, criminal activities, weapons, cussing, racist comments, drinking alcohol, and encouragement of dropping out (see page 23). I give this book one star out of 5.
              • bluebird1044
                bluebird1044Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 3:37 pm55 stars
                We read this as a class, and will see the movie soon. This book had a few important people that were close friends of ponyboy. Pony boy's parents died 3 months before the story took place. Pony lives with his two brothers Darry and Sodapop. They are in a gang called the greasers, and their enemy are the soc's. I definitely recommend this book. I would'nt have read this if it wasn't for my english teacher,.
                • Sarah Friday, May 5, 2017 at 6:37 pm
                  This book was really, really, really boring. How come it's 48,523 words long but none of those words were filled with much descriptions. I mean there were so many unexplained things. We didn't really get to see how the brothers felt about there parents death except little snippets that really didn't bring anything to the story. And some of these characters were just cliche tropes. Dally:the bad by, Darry: strong and serious type, Sodapop: The wild child, and (in my opinion the dullest) Ponyboy: the "good ol' all around nice guy". Must I go on? I know that his book was written a while ago so some of the writing might not be of the same standard, but what about Shakespeare, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ovid, and Hesoid. They wrote amazing stories (except maybe Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet, kind of dull), and they were written WAY before this book. Main Point: There's good writing and, there's bad writing. NO IN BETWEEN.
                  • MarcusπŸ‘ŽπŸ’ͺπŸ˜­πŸ˜ŒπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ˜¬πŸ‘πŸ˜†β˜ΉοΈSunday, February 19, 2017 at 8:59 pm
                    Really cool
                    • MarcusπŸ‘ŽπŸ’ͺπŸ˜­πŸ˜ŒπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ˜¬πŸ‘πŸ˜†β˜ΉοΈSunday, February 19, 2017 at 8:55 pm
                      The outsiders is a very good book.Fullod adventure