Ponyboy is 14 years old, tough and confused, yet sensitive beneath his bold front. Since his parents' deaths, his loyalties have been to his brothers and his gang, the rough boys from the wrong side of the tracks. When his best friend kills a member of a rival gang, a nightmare of violence begins and quickly envelops Ponyboy in a turbulent chain of events.
Hardcover, 132 pages
Published on January 15, 1996 by Nelson Thornes Ltd
ISBN-10: 0174323611
ISBN-13: 9780174323617
93 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • KolanWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 5:30 am
    The Outsiders is a horrible book with a pointless plot line, no character development, and inappropriate for middle schoolers because there was a suicide, boring settings, unrelatable characters, unintelligible dialogue, smoking at 12, cussing, extreme violence, idiotic names, very depressing because almost everyone dies: Dally, Johnny, Ponyboy’s parents, and Bob, old-fashioned, encouragement of violence, smoking, criminal activities, weapons, cussing, racist comments, drinking alcohol, and encouragement of dropping out (see page 23). I give this book one star out of 5.
    • bluebird1044
      bluebird1044Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 3:37 pm55 stars
      We read this as a class, and will see the movie soon. This book had a few important people that were close friends of ponyboy. Pony boy's parents died 3 months before the story took place. Pony lives with his two brothers Darry and Sodapop. They are in a gang called the greasers, and their enemy are the soc's. I definitely recommend this book. I would'nt have read this if it wasn't for my english teacher,.
      • Sarah Friday, May 5, 2017 at 6:37 pm
        This book was really, really, really boring. How come it's 48,523 words long but none of those words were filled with much descriptions. I mean there were so many unexplained things. We didn't really get to see how the brothers felt about there parents death except little snippets that really didn't bring anything to the story. And some of these characters were just cliche tropes. Dally:the bad by, Darry: strong and serious type, Sodapop: The wild child, and (in my opinion the dullest) Ponyboy: the "good ol' all around nice guy". Must I go on? I know that his book was written a while ago so some of the writing might not be of the same standard, but what about Shakespeare, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ovid, and Hesoid. They wrote amazing stories (except maybe Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet, kind of dull), and they were written WAY before this book. Main Point: There's good writing and, there's bad writing. NO IN BETWEEN.
        • MarcusπŸ‘ŽπŸ’ͺπŸ˜­πŸ˜ŒπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ˜¬πŸ‘πŸ˜†β˜ΉοΈSunday, February 19, 2017 at 8:59 pm
          Really cool
          • MarcusπŸ‘ŽπŸ’ͺπŸ˜­πŸ˜ŒπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ˜¬πŸ‘πŸ˜†β˜ΉοΈSunday, February 19, 2017 at 8:55 pm
            The outsiders is a very good book.Fullod adventure
            • littleweasley
              littleweasleyMonday, February 13, 2017 at 9:59 am55 stars
              The Outsiders is a very good book.Full of adventure.
              • mmcnabb
                mmcnabbFriday, February 10, 2017 at 11:30 am
                The Outsiders is truly an incredible book. I couldn't put it down. It painted such a vivid picture of life in the 1950's-1960's. S.E. Hinton does a spectacular job in emphasizing each character's feelings about growing up, and the problems they face at home. The setting is also described well, and as the reader, I feel as if I was hanging out with Ponyboy and his friends. I would recommend The Outsiders to anyone.
                • melaniesierra
                  melaniesierraFriday, February 10, 2017 at 11:13 am
                  The Outsiders was a really amazing book, although it was sad because the boys didn't have any parents, overall this was a really interesting and nice book.
                  • chloedomico
                    chloedomicoFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:09 am
                    It was a very good book, very well written and fun to read in class. Though some parts were sad, it was very good and i would read it again.
                    • EwingFriday, February 10, 2017 at 10:09 am
                      This is the best book I have ever read. I love the unexpected story line. It had a good end that I never expected. I love this book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      livlovesdogs

                      People are not gonna like me but...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      livlovesdogs

                      It was really good especially si...
                      Illuminate: A Gilded Wings Novel...