Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 3 - 12Z4.748523
Ponyboy is 14 years old, tough and confused, yet sensitive beneath his bold front. Since his parents' deaths, his loyalties have been to his brothers and his gang, the rough boys from the wrong side of the tracks. When his best friend kills a member of a rival gang, a nightmare of violence begins and quickly envelops Ponyboy in a turbulent chain of events.
Hardcover, 132 pages
Published on January 15, 1996 by Nelson Thornes Ltd
ISBN-10: 0174323611
ISBN-13: 9780174323617
113 Book Reviews
  • alphawolf13
    alphawolf13Tuesday, March 23, 2021 at 1:02 pm44 stars
    REALLY good, although I just started it, (Currently on chapter 3) It is about a kid named Ponyboy ( Yes, that is his real name) who is a "Graeser". So, basically, the Greasers hate the "Socs" (Socials), because the socs randomly like to jump them. Anyway, Enjoy Reading it! ;)
    • mr_pog
      mr_pogFriday, March 19, 2021 at 11:07 am55 stars
      Great book! I was obligated to read it in school, and that may have lowered my interest in it, but nevertheless, I stuck to it. S.E. Hinton truly impressed me with this work of a novel. She was a young teenager when she wrote this and it clearly changed the way that realistic fiction is written. One thing that I really enjoy about this book is the way it relates to its target audience. It portrays the conflict through the perspective of a young teenager in a gang. The Outsiders is a great book that represents the concepts of love, loyalty, and bravery. If you get the chance to read this novel, please do. It is one you won't regret.
      • pierce53
        pierce53Monday, February 8, 2021 at 8:57 am55 stars
        Nice book
        • ilovetacoslol
          ilovetacoslolTuesday, December 1, 2020 at 9:55 am55 stars
          This book is about a young teenage boy named ponyboy Curtis, he lives with his brothers Darry which he thinks might just hate him, and Sodapop ;a movie star looking greaser. One night ponyboy and his friend Johnny get jumped by a Soc named Bob and his gang. Couldn't get worse right? Well it just did. Turns out Johnny killed Bob. Ponyboy and Johnny run away. Have they started there life of crime?? Will they be able to uncover what happened and tell the truth? Will ponyboy ever get to see his brothers again ( even if one hates him?) Well find out in this book The Outsiders number 1 best selling book made by S.E Hinton! I recommend this book to 6th grade and up. Its a thrilling novel with lots of action, some good times, some bad times, and the very bad times.....
          • bookqueenpaige
            bookqueenpaigeWednesday, March 24, 2021 at 7:33 am55 stars
            great review but only 1 thing darry doesn't hate him he's just hard on him so he doesn't get in trouble
          • mrzebragamerony
            mrzebragameronyFriday, October 23, 2020 at 8:34 am55 stars
            It was filled with adventure and action I want to recommend this book for 6th to 7th grade.
            • armcginn
              armcginnSaturday, July 11, 2020 at 9:03 am55 stars
              From Teen author S.E. Hinton comes a compelling tale of a fierce rivalry between the Socs- the privileged, the jet-set, the west side rich kids, and the wilder, lower-class Greasers. When 14-year-old greaser Ponyboy and his best friend Johnny get jumped by the Socs one night, things go terribly wrong. His life in a whirlwind, Pony struggles to find his way in the world with his parents long gone he must seek the aid of his brothers, Soda and Darry, and the gang, friends as close as brothers- he knows where his loyalties lie, but he knows he can't live this way forever- what will he do?
              • blossomreader
                blossomreaderMonday, May 18, 2020 at 7:25 am22 stars
                This book was okay because it contained some content that shouldn't be there for kids to read. It talked about smokers that were kids, death, and other violence. Ponyboy's parents died, but he still has his brothers and the other greasers. They are like a gang, but when Something happens in Pony's household, he runs away with Johnny. What happens next will blow your mind, but also make you very sad. As I said, this book was okay, but I still recommend this book for ages 16 and up.
                • bookqueenpaige
                  bookqueenpaigeWednesday, March 24, 2021 at 7:34 am55 stars
                  I'm 11 and I read it 3 times...
                • chocolaterolls
                  chocolaterollsSunday, January 12, 2020 at 6:11 am44 stars
                  This book is almost like a retelling of West Side Story, with slighly younger characters. It may be a little violent, with murders and gang fights, but it is an overall very wonderful book.
                  • ava_colors
                    ava_colorsMonday, December 2, 2019 at 6:48 am55 stars
                    This book was amazing and I loved it so much. it was all about the group of boys (the greasers) and their life and how it was so tough for them and the way that they were treated in the world with disrespect. I loved this book so much and I would more than happily read it again.
                    • addyl97
                      addyl97Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 8:43 pm
                      This is book is truly a work of art. It displays a group of boys (greasers) who are despised just by the way they dress , look , and act. Which is something many young kids may relate too in the fact that this is still going on in the world today. There is also another group on the other side of town call the soc's and they are the ones who judge the greasers just because they don't live the fancy life or have nice cars. They judged them for something that was so ridiculous , but the greasers changed for the good of themselves and not for the good of others. There is another lesson to be learned from this book it is the lesson of friendship. The greasers stuck together through everything and anything. There were always there for each other no matter what and they always forgave each other if somebody did something wrong. Another, thing is that they stuck up for each other. This book is a must for people who are interested in books about friendship, rivalry , and more.