Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 3 - 12Z4.748523
Ponyboy is 14 years old, tough and confused, yet sensitive beneath his bold front. Since his parents' deaths, his loyalties have been to his brothers and his gang, the rough boys from the wrong side of the tracks. When his best friend kills a member of a rival gang, a nightmare of violence begins and quickly envelops Ponyboy in a turbulent chain of events.
Hardcover, 132 pages
Published on January 15, 1996 by Nelson Thornes Ltd
ISBN-10: 0174323611
ISBN-13: 9780174323617
104 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chocolaterolls
    chocolaterollsSunday, January 12, 2020 at 6:11 am44 stars
    This book is almost like a retelling of West Side Story, with slighly younger characters. It may be a little violent, with murders and gang fights, but it is an overall very wonderful book.
    • ava_colors
      ava_colorsMonday, December 2, 2019 at 6:48 am55 stars
      This book was amazing and I loved it so much. it was all about the group of boys (the greasers) and their life and how it was so tough for them and the way that they were treated in the world with disrespect. I loved this book so much and I would more than happily read it again.
      • addyl97
        addyl97Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at 8:43 pm
        This is book is truly a work of art. It displays a group of boys (greasers) who are despised just by the way they dress , look , and act. Which is something many young kids may relate too in the fact that this is still going on in the world today. There is also another group on the other side of town call the soc's and they are the ones who judge the greasers just because they don't live the fancy life or have nice cars. They judged them for something that was so ridiculous , but the greasers changed for the good of themselves and not for the good of others. There is another lesson to be learned from this book it is the lesson of friendship. The greasers stuck together through everything and anything. There were always there for each other no matter what and they always forgave each other if somebody did something wrong. Another, thing is that they stuck up for each other. This book is a must for people who are interested in books about friendship, rivalry , and more.
        • clarenceunicorn
          clarenceunicornFriday, July 26, 2019 at 2:23 am55 stars
          I am homeschooled and I had to read this for a book club. I don't really like reading classics as they are written in that old style, but I really enjoyed this.
          • YayeetWednesday, July 3, 2019 at 7:26 pm
            Oh boy as I have a deep respect for the author who wrote this book, writing it at the young age of just 16, you can tell so by the writing style and diction I still believe that you should just skip the book and watch the movie because the best thing you are going to get out of the story line is Rob lowe👌
            • raidersgirl14
              raidersgirl14Wednesday, January 2, 2019 at 10:13 am55 stars
              I also had to read this book in school! :)
              • raidersgirl14
                raidersgirl14Wednesday, January 2, 2019 at 10:11 am55 stars
                I think this book is one of the best reads on planet earth and is so correct about how things used to be back in those years
                • crazyunicorn333
                  crazyunicorn333Monday, November 12, 2018 at 5:52 pm55 starsFeatured
                  I had to read this book as a class assignment, and I have to say I have nevver been more interested in a clss asigned book. I love the 50s plot, and I have to say I disagree with my other reviewers. The fact that this book mentions real life issues makes it more realatable for the readers. Reviewker Kolan.. mentions that they are smoking at a young age, the plot of the book was in a time long ago were those kind of things are normal. I find it interestion to see how many things are different then to now.
                  • bookstory13
                    bookstory13Friday, November 16, 2018 at 5:08 pm55 stars
                    I had to read it in class too! It was awesome! The sad part for me was when (spoiler) Johnny died. Everyone was like NOU!!!! Your review was perfect! I love it! Good job!
                  • james10Friday, May 25, 2018 at 7:37 am
                    i love the plot and story
                    • KolanWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 5:30 am
                      The Outsiders is a horrible book with a pointless plot line, no character development, and inappropriate for middle schoolers because there was a suicide, boring settings, unrelatable characters, unintelligible dialogue, smoking at 12, cussing, extreme violence, idiotic names, very depressing because almost everyone dies: Dally, Johnny, Ponyboy’s parents, and Bob, old-fashioned, encouragement of violence, smoking, criminal activities, weapons, cussing, racist comments, drinking alcohol, and encouragement of dropping out (see page 23). I give this book one star out of 5.
                      • goals
                        goalsTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 5:47 pm55 stars
                        Hi Kolan, I respect your opinion. However, many of your claims are not supported by the text. As far as character development goes, most characters see a large amount of development. Dally, for example, goes from being a tough guy to caring deeply about Johnny. Ponyboy goes from a kid who follows the crowd to someone who thinks for himself and learns that fighting is not the answer. He learns that people are people, and it is not just about Soc's and greasers. He goes from thinking Darry dislikes him, to fully appreciating all Darry has given up for him. The settings were based off of the Author's hometown, so they are not created to be exciting, instead, they were created to be realistic. The characters are highly relatable because while we may not be in similar circumstances, they all feel human emotions that we can relate to. The unintelligible dialogue is called dialect, and it is a way for the author to create characters who sound more realistic. Most people do not use proper grammar when speaking to friends each day. The drugs and cussing is to show how rough these kids have it, and how rough they are around the edges. It brings the idea that people are not what they seem to the forefront of this novel. Lastly, The Outsiders does not encourage dropping out. Instead, it shows the importance of staying in school because Darry gave up his chance at college to make sure Ponyboy does not drop out, and his other friends and family encourage him to stay in school.