Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Paperback, 1376 pages
Published on October 12, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316097926
ISBN-13: 9780316097925
132 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • adventure0329
    adventure0329Saturday, November 30, 2019 at 7:07 pm55 starsFeatured
    This was a really good book, I would recommend it to all people who enjoy mysteries, and just want to read a good book. It all begins with a newspaper add to children about tests for special privileges. Only four pass the test, enough to give kind Mr. Benedict, (the person who put the add in the newspaper) the perfect amount to make a team of significantly talented children to go to the fearful institute to find some very odd, and scary things. Reynie, who can solve puzzles very fast, Sticky, who remembers everything he reads, Kate who's physical knowledge helps more than you can imagine, and finally Constance. Stubborn Constance who brings hilarity into the book, and contributes even more in the end than you may think. What do you, think the outcome of this story maybe?
    • inmemoryofcpr
      inmemoryofcprFriday, October 25, 2019 at 5:17 pm44 stars
      Meet the Benedict Society, with adventurous Kate, clever Reynie, stubborn Constance, and the genius Sticky, as they embark on a journey to prevent the evil Mr. Curtain from hatching his plans. Will they be too late and will they all survive? Read this exciting book to find out! I loved this series and I just found out that a new book was added!!! This was a childhood book and I recommend it to all. For ages 9+ 99999999999999999999/5 stars
      • owl5day
        owl5dayWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 7:17 am55 stars
        It is so good i can not wait to read book 2 it is so thrilling i love it is is in my top 10 favorite books .
        • lawalex
          lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 10:37 am55 stars
          This book is a great read, and filled to the brim with puzzles. This book is immpossible to put down. With lovable characters and an evil master mind to defeat, this is sure to be an adventure!
          • ochaco_uraraka
            ochaco_urarakaTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 12:27 am55 stars
            This book was really great. Clever characters, Tricks and Turns, and Secrecy and Stealth, this book was a true beauty! Filled with Puzzles and Riddles, a group of children get together when they pass a mysterious test. They meet terrible and kind characters along the way, and one of those fellows that landed in the good side was Mr. Benedict, the benefactor of that event. He asked them to do something none of them had ever done in their lives: Becoming Agents. Some were less enthusiastic as others, but they soon realize they could not imagine a world where they were not together. Can they put their minds together and find out what Mr. Curtain is up to? It is up to these four young kids to stop something terrible from happening, and they named themselves after the beloved man who brought them together in the first place: The Mysterious Benedict Society.
            • joohyuun
              joohyuunWednesday, April 17, 2019 at 6:11 pm55 stars
              I decided to read this book because a lot of my friends encouraged me to try out the book. Since so many friends made me read it, I decided to check it out thinking it would be a normal book that I read every day. However, when reached the end of the page of the book, I realized that I was wrong and It was the most terrific book I ever read. I think people should try the book because it's a really good book for people who love adventurous and mysterious books.
              • hiSaturday, February 9, 2019 at 6:04 pm
                awesome
                • hiSaturday, February 9, 2019 at 6:04 pm
                  This book was the best book ever.
                  • gilboi
                    gilboiFriday, February 8, 2019 at 10:59 am55 stars
                    It is THE most amazing spy series out there!
                    • rrrrrrSaturday, January 26, 2019 at 4:36 pm
                      this book is awesome