Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Paperback, 1376 pages
Published on October 12, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316097926
ISBN-13: 9780316097925
137 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • effie302
    effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 7:17 am
    I haven't read it yet
    • celia_berry13
      celia_berry13Friday, May 15, 2020 at 8:01 am55 stars
      So. Many. Plot. Twists!!! Things are never what they seem in this brilliantly written book! The characters are all so diverse and so well written.
      • roxanne3
        roxanne3Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 11:09 am44 stars
        I just started reading this series for the second time, but I don't really remember what happens. So far, the 4 children that passed Mr. Benedict's test have become friends and been sent off to the school that the evil guy runs. It turns out that the evil guy is twins with Mr. Benedict, but neither of them knew they had a twin.
        • iamsailorm-chan
          iamsailorm-chanMonday, May 11, 2020 at 4:53 am55 stars
          I would recommend this book to anyone who is reading this because it is very fun and mysterious. Although it is a big book, (about 400 pages long) it makes you want to read more and more! So there were children who went to take a special privilege test and only four of them passed. They went to an institute and met a very weird but kind guy named Mr. Benedict who told them to go to another institute where they would learn things. But instead of learning things, it was kind of like hipmatizing (I do not know if I spelled that right) them! So they were trying to escape that institute but it was kind-of like the institute was pulling them back. I do not want to say anymore because that would spoil the book. I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!
          • unipup_dogonews
            unipup_dogonewsWednesday, February 5, 2020 at 3:37 pm55 stars
            A thrilling mystery series. Lots of fun twists to make you feel spooked and mysterious. A series that you do not want it to end. Exciting and fun, lots of riddles for the main characters to solve. It is DEFINITELY mysterious. SUPER FUN!! GET THE SERIES!!
            • adventure0329
              adventure0329Saturday, November 30, 2019 at 7:07 pm55 starsFeatured
              This was a really good book, I would recommend it to all people who enjoy mysteries, and just want to read a good book. It all begins with a newspaper add to children about tests for special privileges. Only four pass the test, enough to give kind Mr. Benedict, (the person who put the add in the newspaper) the perfect amount to make a team of significantly talented children to go to the fearful institute to find some very odd, and scary things. Reynie, who can solve puzzles very fast, Sticky, who remembers everything he reads, Kate who's physical knowledge helps more than you can imagine, and finally Constance. Stubborn Constance who brings hilarity into the book, and contributes even more in the end than you may think. What do you, think the outcome of this story maybe?
              • inmemoryofcpr
                inmemoryofcprFriday, October 25, 2019 at 5:17 pm44 stars
                Meet the Benedict Society, with adventurous Kate, clever Reynie, stubborn Constance, and the genius Sticky, as they embark on a journey to prevent the evil Mr. Curtain from hatching his plans. Will they be too late and will they all survive? Read this exciting book to find out! I loved this series and I just found out that a new book was added!!! This was a childhood book and I recommend it to all. For ages 9+ 99999999999999999999/5 stars
                • owl5day
                  owl5dayWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 7:17 am55 stars
                  It is so good i can not wait to read book 2 it is so thrilling i love it is is in my top 10 favorite books .
                  • lawalex
                    lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 10:37 am55 stars
                    This book is a great read, and filled to the brim with puzzles. This book is immpossible to put down. With lovable characters and an evil master mind to defeat, this is sure to be an adventure!
                    • ochaco_uraraka
                      ochaco_urarakaTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 12:27 am55 stars
                      This book was really great. Clever characters, Tricks and Turns, and Secrecy and Stealth, this book was a true beauty! Filled with Puzzles and Riddles, a group of children get together when they pass a mysterious test. They meet terrible and kind characters along the way, and one of those fellows that landed in the good side was Mr. Benedict, the benefactor of that event. He asked them to do something none of them had ever done in their lives: Becoming Agents. Some were less enthusiastic as others, but they soon realize they could not imagine a world where they were not together. Can they put their minds together and find out what Mr. Curtain is up to? It is up to these four young kids to stop something terrible from happening, and they named themselves after the beloved man who brought them together in the first place: The Mysterious Benedict Society.